We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it reminds me of a dorm room, but hey - it's affordable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Place des Alpes
Ranked #1,120 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Alameda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it reminds me of a dorm room, but hey - it's affordable!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We had to find a place to stay for 6 nights and so I had to stay within my budget and find something that would work for us. This place had a good location and friendly staff. The room we stayed in barely fit our luggage and so before we left everyday I had to make sure to stand it on it's side just so we could walk around the bed. It was very much like a dorm room. The towels are kind of small and thin so you might want to bring your own, also there's no mini-fridge so forget about that chilled glass of white wine before bed ;) but don't fret - there are tons of great cafes and restaurants just outside the door so you can get your drinking on before you get back to the room. Also, it's quiet in the neighborhood at night and they ask that you keep it down after 10pm.
It's really close to the metro station, and within one stop you'll find yourself in the Chinatown area which has even more great places to eat! My whole thing was being able to get a cheaper hotel in a good location - so long as there weren't any bedbugs... and I think I got what I wanted so I'd recommend it to others with the same requirements :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    119
    46
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
113
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

This was a comfortable and relaxed stay; not because the rooms are luxurious- they are not; I should think they are very similar to those of any other hotel of this grade- the hotel just felt right, the ambience helped perhaps by there being French guests, as well as foreigners. The staff were friendly and helpful, happy to converse in English, the breakfast comparatively good value.
The location is excellent: there was an easy transfer from Orly (Olybus to Denfert, then short taxi or metro ride)- and within about five minutes walk is an internet shop, a multiscreen cinema, shopping mall, metro and a selection of restaurants. And it was a pleasant walk into the centre, especially along Rue Mouffetard.
I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiangMaiexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

The location is in what I would call "true Paris." This is a neighbourhood where normal Parisians live, work and eat. We did not feel like tourists, but part of a small community which is what we wanted to experience. Wonderful Asian restaurants near by and very quiet and safe. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and the water pressure/hot water was great.

The only thing we didn't like was having to give the key back when you leave the hotel. There were several occasions when we forgot something in our room and felt bad having to ask for our key back to run upstairs for one minute. It was just an inconvenience, nothing that would prevent us from staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisoBento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchique, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great hotel, very well located near 3 metro lines.
The room was very clean and cosy, The bathroom and shower where small, but that wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilson_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great location 1 block from Metro. Clean and in good repair. Staff is friendly and helpful. Most spoke english. The room was as to be expected for a budget European hotel, on the small side, tiny bathroom. Hotel is 100% non smoking. We were upgrade to a triple and it had a real single bed, not just a cot. We'll be back with granddaughters.
The area was safe and clean. Plenty of little shops, cafes and bakeries nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyíregyháza
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Location is O.K. , very close to the metro station. Room was clean, but not too warm in November. Toilet and bathroom was tiny. If you sat down onto the toilet, your head was in the room:-)) I haven't seen so little place before. Staff was kindly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

The rooms are a good size (for Paris) and quiet. Staff are professional and friendly. I really liked the locality - there was a sense of 'everyday life in Paris' in this area. I'll certainly be staying at this hotel on future visits.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenOz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Neptune Italie
Neptune Italie
#1,372 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Timhotel Paris Place D'Italie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Ecrivains
#998 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Gobelins
Hotel Coypel
Hotel Coypel
#894 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Place des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place des Alpes

Property: Hotel de la Place des Alpes
Address: 2 Place des Alpes | 13 Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,120 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Place des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Place des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing