We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap Hotel Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #1,464 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Hotel Stella can be a reasonable compromise: great location and low price in exchange for dirt, lack of wifi, and miscellaneous annoyances. We were there twice for a few days, two different rooms. Location is the prime attraction: a few blocks from the corner of St. Michel and St. Germain, Latin Quarter, Jardins de Luxembourg, Rue Mouffetard, the Pantheon, Notre Dame, etc. Great smells emanate from the restaurant beneath. Cool views out the front. Inside it's funky and authentic, with wood beam ceilings. The hosts are nice and businesslike, not always instantly available, but we didn't have any serious delays. They speak enough English to get by, and will speak French if you want. All that -- even the annoyingly yappy little dog -- is great for creating an authentic feeling. Now for the negatives: 1) What annoyed me most was the lack of wifi. We travel ultralight. and part of that program is to be unencumbered by books and maps, using the smartphone at the start and end of the day for research and loading in maps. I found it an incredibly aggravating waste of time to be cut off entirely at night and then have to endure Starbucks (nearest & best signal we could find) in the morning. How much do you pay for every waking hour in Paris? I figure something like $20-40. (No kidding. Do the math.) So in this sense, I figure the lack of wifi cost me at least $50 a day, but I admit the location saved us a similar amount. I spoke to them about it and they were adamant: if they had wifi, students would get the password and hang out in the stairway. End of story. You and I know there are technical fixes for this, but it didn't seem worth trying to convey this to them. Maybe you can do it. The place fills up pretty well as it is. 2) My gal was most aggravated by the lack of cleanliness -- not bad on the bachelor-pad scale (hey, I'm a guy!), but she was distinctly not amused. We didn't end up with crabs or anything, and we've definitely stayed in dirtier places. 3) Minor annoyance: One room faced the street -- great In the day but when the bars let out on Saturday night it was noisy for a few hours (nothing truly alarming, just hormones + alcohol), quieting down around three a.m. Sunday night no problem. The other room faced the back: quiet, but lousy view. If there's a next time, I'd take the view and tolerate the noise. I will probably try a different cheap hotel next time I'm in Paris.

Room Tip: rooms on the street have better view but are noisy when the bars let out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
20
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days in mid September 2011. I cant say it was a clean place. blanket and beds were not in a good situation. But it was good for price since it is a one star hotel. It was fairly quiet place. Madam Anne, the owner, was a respectful, kind and friendly lady. Moreover the location is great, and you have access to many nice places in Paris. I will absolutely choose to stay there again if i go to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ariansman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for one week and it was a pleasure for us . It's just about, if you'd like to get a real feel of Paris in an authentic family hotel, classic parisian building, this is for you : Oh, my goodness , the beams in oak ! The rooms are large, with large windows . It's clean, cosy and so romantic !
The location is excellent - Very nice neighbourhood - Metro - Cinemas - Restaurants
For us, this was the perfect hotel.
Will definitely stay here , again, for our next trip to Paris.
Lovely hotel - Top location

Room Tip: Choose room 16 - the best (large suite - sunny - with authentic beams in oak)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were prepared for the lack of amenities - no problem - but not for the filth. The room and the en suite were dusty and there were cobwebs on ceilings and walls, even in the wardrobe. Nobody had swept under the beds for years! Eventually, you get to thinking about how dirty the pillows and mattresses must be . . . ! We had to ask for towels - they were stiff and threadbare. There was a leak between loo and cistern and the floor kept flooding. They came to fix it but just pushed the joint back in - fine until the next flush when it popped out again and flooded the floor.

On the plus side, we had a room at the back and it was quiet. We should have been there for 4 nights but moved after 2. What a shame. Half an hour of cleaning every day would make all the difference as the owner is helpful - she also evicts any noisy guests - apparently. The price is good if you can put up with the dirt. We couldn't and never will.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Neverhood
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Hotel Stella is small, but very nice place to stay. There´s no lift, TV, WIFI, or something similar to these "modern" days. That´s why I chose this one - you feel like you travel back in time...
My room (14) was spacious enough for one person, there is a bed (actually two beds), old-fashioned table with chair and one big wardrobe. Bathroom is okay. There are no breakfast, you can go to any of many restaurants nearby.
Great thing of this hotel is location - metro Odeon few minutes one way and the RER station Louxembourg (with direct trains to Charles de Gaule airport) on the other way. Just about 20 minutes slow walking and you are facing the Notre Dame cathedral.
The other great thing is price - 60 EUR for night in the heart of Paris is great. So I could only recommend this hotel to everyone - except those, who need new technologies...;-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PepeCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We knew what we were getting with a one star hotel in Paris but it was clean, warm and comfortable. We liked the eccentric collection of furniture. Rue M. le Prince is a great street, especially if you like bookshops and the Polidor restaurant below the hotel was adorable. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safarikent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Hotel Stella is a good choice if you are not in your room much and out exploring the city, which you should be doing anyway in Paris! These rooms have only the basics and no extras but big windows and lots of character and history. My stay was very quiet, but the room next to me was empty at first--when it did have a couple of women staying in it it did become noisy as the walls are very thin, but I didn't mind because it was only for two more nights and wasn't too annoying. The neighborhood has everything in walking distance, shops, sites, etc. Anne the owner is very friendly and accomodating and will book your room by email without a deposit even.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Stella Etoile
Hotel Stella Etoile
#634 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Villa des Princes
Villa des Princes
#1,155 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,169 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#466 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Nesle
Hotel de Nesle
#1,092 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: 41 rue Monsieur le Prince, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,464 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are very large and have high ceilings supported by the original exposed beams . The decor is minimal and simple but the fournitures are antique. All rooms have bathroom (shower - toilet) ,there is no TV but it's not essential. The prices are very attractive for a location in the latin quarter . It's the hotel of your old Paris Dreams (let' go) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing