We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Gladines

Chez Gladines
Ranked #796 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Delicious food!
Super big portions.
Though always too crowded - you need to wait for half an hour to get in.
Very nice servants.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ev_Melekhovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    266
    71
    32
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend and it was a great recommendation. A little bit alternative restaurant, with marvelous food. You cannot make a mistake in choosing different meals. Definitely something you should try, especially if food taste is more important to you than the ambient.

Be ready to wait for a table with 20 other people, as it seems that there is always busy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
640 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Always great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have eaten here on each Parisian visit over several years, and the food is always spectacular, though the tables are spaced a bit tightly. You can't go wrong ordering any of the dishes, but our favorites include the salad complet (with ham, cheese and crispy fried potatoes), the rich and comforting cassoulet, and the rich and delicious escalope de veau Montagnarde. Though our first choice would be their original location just off the Place d'Italie, we will try their other locations when we are next in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My new favourite restaurant. Food was delicious and very reasonably priced.
A very lively atmosphere which is obviously very popular due to the queue waiting to get in every night we walked past. Get there early as they do not accept reservations. They do not accept debit or credit cards but it's only a short jog to Italie2 for cash!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colt-Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“In my opinion one of the best places in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

A friend showed me this place and I haven't been able to find a better restaurant since, and I lived in Paris for two years. This joint has a rare authenticity about it and you're guaranteed a good night here. You can easily imagine Hemingway having boozy debates with his fellow intellectuals, and it is not for the faint hearted as you will be crammed on to a table with fellow eaters, share their bread and water and marvel at the acrobatic waiters jostling through the swarms of people waiting to be seated. The food is rustic, delicious and copious, and the rioja is remarkably cheap. Don't expect to linger over coffee, there are 20 people waiting for your table and those looking for haute cuisine should also abstain: the food is cooked, tossed onto a plate and plonked in front of you before yo can say canapé but by Jove it's good. A word of advice, get there early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katemakesfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gladines also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Gladines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing