We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Paris - Vendome
Ranked #483 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a nice stay here for 4 nights in July. We are SPG Gold members and were immediately whisked to the SPG desk where we rec'd wonderful service. Our rooms weren't ready so we were given free drinks in the bar, which was a nice gesture. We had requested connecting rooms which we rec'd. In fact it was much nicer than my expectations. One room was a corner room which was absolutely gorgeous. It had 3 floor to ceiling windows which opened onto a balcony which extended the whole length of the room. The other room was more of a standard size with another beautiful window with a balcony. Both rooms were very comfortable. The bathrooms were well appointed and clean. There was some street noise but it didn't bother us too much. We had a few requests during our stay which were promptly met. The ice is brought by room service and we never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes. I ordered a cup of coffee every morning which cost 4 euro but I thought was pretty good and worth the 4 euro cost (Of course I would do pretty much anything for coffee in the morning) The staff was very friendly. As SPG Gold members we rec'd free internet which they had charged to our room so I did have to go down and get that taken care of, but the charge was taken off cheerfully with no problem. Overall we had a nice stay and as others have said a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkpemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,730 of 3,694 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Like the Eagles song, this is the hotel from which you can't check out. Incredibly slow and laborious when you get served, you wait a long time at this understaffed check out. To add insult to injury, a number of staff hovered around the reception, not looking very busy, but steadfastly ignoring the frustrated customers. Unlike the Hotel California, it was also quite tough checking in. For a hotel of this standard, offering such poor reception service is simply not acceptable.

This was my fourth or fifth stay - and the story is the same. Overpriced but quite nicely decorated rooms, great view of the Eiffel Tower if you get the right one; slow service in the bar; super location. But it is the awful check out experience which prompts me to review again: please do something

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D j R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My mother and I just returned from a week-long stay at this hotel in early celebration of her 80th birthday. Our room was exactly as requested (and very quiet) and the location of the hotel enabled us to walk to many of the attractions that we wanted to see. We had the bonus of arriving on the day the Tour de France ended and were able to enjoy the excitement by simply walking out the door and turning onto Rue de Rivoli.
We added the breakfast buffet as part of our room package and it certainly met our expectations. The staff was both friendly and helpful. While the Westin is expensive in comparison to other hotels in the area, it was well worth the extra money for my mother to enjoy her birthday trip. Would love to stay there again when visiting Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found the Westin a 5 star hotel. The rooms are slightly small but everything else was just great but, there is always a but. We stayed there for 4 days and had no problems then we travelled in the north of France before returning to the Westin once again. This time there was a wedding being held downstairs with a VERY loud band. We, like many others had an early departure the next day so we asked reception when will the noise stop? By midnight was the answer, after some protest they offered a bottle of wine, which was rejected. Rang reception again at 1215 am and was told there is nothing they can do and it will continue till 01:30. The band went quiet at 01:40am. There were several complaints and the management did not care about their guests only making money from a mob of noisy drunks. I will never stay there again. The Scribe is a much better hotel.

Room Tip: Forget it. Most of the rooms face the central court and that where the noise comes from. I would pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Since arriving at this hotel, it has been a nightmare. this hotel is very expensive. Go to the Intercontinental Forum. I lost count as to the nu bet of irate guests complaining that the air conditioning is not working. YeP, ours was broken, they replaced the fuse and now it works. Now, the air conditioning works, but I can blow harder out of my mouth and get better results. They gave me a fan for my room....lol. paris is very HOT right now so u would at least expect to use in room air-conditioning.

Bathroom is terrible. The bathroom door, molding and sink cabinet have so much paint on them, that it looks like a 100 year old house where everything is painted over and over again.

Westin should dump this property because it is not up to their standards.

I must say the staff is mostly nice. One girl at the front desk needs a real attitude adjustment, but other than that, good staff. Just go stay at the Forum IC or other luxury hotels close to the Louve.

We just came here from the Excelsior in Rome, and there is no comparison. The beds stink here. No heavenly beds.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else to get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GLOBAL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien K, Directeur général at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear GLOBAL69,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered with the air conditioning and the bathroom during your stay. Please allow me to follow up on this important issue. To do so, I would like to talk to you personally, so if you would be so kind to write an e-mail to the following address reservation.01729@westin.com and tell me how I can contact you; it will be my pleasure to return your message with a personal call or e-mail.

With my Best Regards,

Julien Kiefer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in two adjoining rooms. As mentioned location was good but all else quite frankly was a disappointment. We did not have a breakfast plan and so were charged 5 euros for a 4 oz cup of terrible drip lukewarm coffee in am . Breakfast for 4 was over 100$ us. Really??? Waiters in reasturant were rude and undeserving of any sort of gratuity that arrives on bill automatically . The feeling is that they could care less.
Rooms dark and small. Toiletries pedestrian at best. Concierge was hit or miss to be honest.
What a different experience in London at the milestone hotel. There is a reason it is trip advisors number one pick there.
Thankfully we only lost miles we used for this experience. I cannot imagine who would spend the kind of money they ask for in this two star hotel in any large US city.
Overall, big disappointment . Expected much more

Room Tip: Choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien K, Directeur général at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Jeff G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Westin Paris-Vendôme.

I am deeply sorry to read that you were disappointed by our level of service and I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered at breakfast and with our concierge. I have taken note as well of your comment on the rooms design.

I would like to let you know that I would appreciate to personally get in touch with you to further discuss your experience. Please provide us your contact details at the following email address: reservation.01729@westin.com

Sincerely,

Julien Kiefer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here in April 2012 and was not happy about the hotel, service and the rooms.
BUT the bar and the food was GREAT.
I stayed elsewhere this time but went back to the bar here 3 times. The service was excellent by the guys in the bar and the food was over the top. The BEST onion soup in the city!
I will go back again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres L, Front of House Manager at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Cchriscap,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

I regret to read that you did not enjoy your experience when you stayed at the hotel, and I'm sorry not to have more information about what was wrong.
In the other hand I'm happy to know that you enjoy our bar and our onion soup, they will be happy to read this comments.

Please do not hesitate to ask for me during your next visit to the bar, I will be glad to learn what happened during your stay and find ways to recover your confidence.

Be well,

Andres Lopez-Dafonte
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#86 of 1,803 in Paris
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#46 of 1,803 in Paris
1,092 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#19 of 1,803 in Paris
642 reviews
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Paris
#299 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#368 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Business Hotel in Paris
#471 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $289 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing