We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paris in December” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Paris - Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Paris - Vendome
Ranked #410 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paris in December”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We took the chunnel from London to Paris. The Westin Vendome is a perfect location. It is within 1/4 mile of Louvre and L'Ongerie museums (which is a must)
the Tulleries Garden is right across the street.
The service at the Westin Vendome was good. The extra bed was not set up as expected but they did come up finally and set it up for us. A beautiful hotel and great location.

Room Tip: overlooking the courtyard is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bahanowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    1,195
    489
    238
    162
See reviews for
675
1,466
159
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

we had a room with eiffel tower view, room was quite small but has got very high ceiling. clean, at least we got some comfortable rest at the first few days in Paris. The wall is very thin, we can even hear the conversation next door sometimes.

Hotel is very near to the subway and the louve, 10 minutes walk to champalysee and other shopping street. you can find many Cafes around hotel for breakfast as well.

Overall it's still a nice hotel to stay in Paris. Comfortable bed and easy to get around in paris.
Service was generally ok (you are in France).

Room Tip: 2nd floor has high ceiling, it's nice to have a room with eiffel view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderGey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My family and I stayed here this past summer, July to be exact. To be fair, it was our last stop of a 5 city, 3 week trip. But it was our 3 Starwood property... By far the WORST..... I was told the location was amazing... it was fair. Although close to the Louve and a nice walk to the Eiffel Tower (long with kids) it wasn't the part of Paris I had hoped to stay. If you are looking for a part of Paris where you can walk to little shops and vendors and pick up bread and cheese etc. this is NOT it. There are only restaurants and cafes all of which are very expensive. Along with a lot of shops you see at home.
The hotel itself is ok upon check in. Once taken to our (2) "Eiffel Tower View" rooms were mortified at the size. You could barely walk around not to mention you could NOT see the Eiffel tower! In order to see it you had to stand in the corner of the room a put your head against the wall and look out the window at an angle... Not what I had requested! We complained and the moved us to 2 adjoining "Deluxe" rooms. Still very small but a little more room to move.
I had noticed after our 1st night we did not have a top sheet on the bed. I complained and they said they would take care of it but never did. I had to call each night. I was thoroughly disgusted. One person said they put one on only at the request of the guest and someone else said that housekeeping is supposed to put one on every night. I couldn't get a straight answer...
I was tried of making our own bed at 11p.
The breakfast buffet was included with our room. It was very mediocre.
We were there for 4 nights in total. The rooms obviously had not been redone in a VERY long time. The paint was chipping everywhere. Paint Bubbled in the bathroom and there was mold in the shower.
All Starwood properties, I am told, are individually owned. The owner of this property has some work to do....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Westin Paris was a great combination of French lavishness and American style. The room was a little small but was comfortable and what I expect from the Westin. The breakfast buffet was nothing special and very overpriced. You are better off walking around to find a cafe.

You couldn't ask for a better location in Paris. A five minute walk from the Louvre and the Seine. You are also a short walk from all the best shopping destinations. If you are bold, take a 15 euro cab ride somewhere and find your way back to the hotel. That was the funnest part of Paris. You get out of the tourist area and are able to eat at the local cafes and markets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBradley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

So.... I arrived at 3 and my room was not ready (I had business meeting at 4). I left it for 30 mins and my room was still not ready, so accepted the worst room in the hotel - i needed a shower and to change for my meeting.. Some hotels don't look after women travelling on their own especially if they are British .. Nasty room - swinging a cat was not an option. Breakfast was good, service was good

Room Tip: Wait for a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is our second time staying at this hotel. The location of this hotel is excellent. Right on the Rue de Rivoli , near the Tuileries and Concorde Metro Stations, and within walking distance to Place Vendôme, Palais Garnier and the Louvre.. Being so close to two metro stations, makes everything pretty convenient. You would rarely have to make more than one connection to see all the sights in Paris.

We booked with SPG points and paid extra for an Eiffel Tower view upgraded room. After we arrived, we checked in only to find that we were not getting the Eiffel Tower view room that we expected. I was very disappointed. We were given an upgraded room and when we got to the room, we found that all the additional square footage was in a useless hallway. At that point, why pay extra?? So, I called downstairs and they found a room that was in the same classification, but had a better use of space so we switched to that room. The room we got had 2 queen beds instead of one king bed, but having an extra bed always works out well because we use it for your luggage, so that was fine. The room was over Rue de Castiglione, but you could see the Tuileries Gardens & a little of the Louvre from the window.

The room was a fair size, actually about 50% bigger than the standard room we got last time we visited. The rooms were clean, but rather plain. I expected something a little more ornate. The bathroom was small but functional . It was marble & tile with a shower/bathtub combo, toilet, and single sink and little counter space.

The room had wifi and as SPG Gold Members we were given free internet during our stay. That is always a great perk.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but the center courtyard is absolutely beautiful.

Overall, we do really like this hotel and I'm sure we'll stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in Paris Sept. 14th - 19th and stayed at this hotel. My husband is a lifetime Platinum member and we used points for the whole stay. We were upgraded to an Executive suite and my husband was hoping for more but they said they were booked full. We had a choice of a free continental breakfast or extra points - we decided to go with the breakfast but two days later we had not used it so we asked if we could instead take the extra points and they let us do that no problem. We had free internet but the wifi was awful and half the time we could not connect.

First off - the staff is wonderful at the front desk AND the concierge as well. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous too! The hotel is wonderfully situated and we walked to most everything we wanted to see. We did not use the restaurant but had drinks in the lounge/bar area several times and it is a beautiful room and the service and drinks were excellent although of course pricey.

They sent up a small bottle of wine and some candy in honor of our 30th wedding anniversary which was a nice touch.

The room was very pretty but there were some issues - it was VERY dark - even after putting on all the lights this room was dark. There just wasn't enough natural light coming through I guess. The blow dryer was awful - it reminded me of the blow dryers on cruises as you have to keep your finger on the button or it would turn off and did not have enough power. If you have longer then average hair - bring your own. For some reason the tub was elevated so a bit hard to get in and out of. The bathroom was small, but did have a separate toilet area with a door which we loved. Every morning we would hear the trash truck come...it was just the luck of where our room was situated.

The good things about the room - as mentioned the room was very pretty and decorated in the French style. It had a walk in closet which was fantastic! The mattress - although very firm was of good quality and we slept well on it. The linens were very nice as well. The maids were wonderful and we tipped a few euros everyday. I know there have been complaints about the walls being thin - we did not experience this issue and never heard a peep from our neighbors.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the employees of the hotel as well. We would definitely go back to this hotel if we get the chance to go to Paris again.

One last note - don't expect to get a taxi quickly on a Saturday night. We had a dinner cruise and were dressed up so didn't want to walk - taxis are very scarce on Sat. nights and we did not plan on this - the hotel was finally able to get one for us and we made our cruise but beware and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikitamycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#342 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#472 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Property: The Westin Paris - Vendome
Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Paris
#242 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#369 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Business Hotel in Paris
#472 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing