We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Paris - Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Paris - Vendome
Ranked #410 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Inuvik, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Westin Paris was a great combination of French lavishness and American style. The room was a little small but was comfortable and what I expect from the Westin. The breakfast buffet was nothing special and very overpriced. You are better off walking around to find a cafe.

You couldn't ask for a better location in Paris. A five minute walk from the Louvre and the Seine. You are also a short walk from all the best shopping destinations. If you are bold, take a 15 euro cab ride somewhere and find your way back to the hotel. That was the funnest part of Paris. You get out of the tourist area and are able to eat at the local cafes and markets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBradley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    1,195
    489
    238
    162
See reviews for
675
1,466
159
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

So.... I arrived at 3 and my room was not ready (I had business meeting at 4). I left it for 30 mins and my room was still not ready, so accepted the worst room in the hotel - i needed a shower and to change for my meeting.. Some hotels don't look after women travelling on their own especially if they are British .. Nasty room - swinging a cat was not an option. Breakfast was good, service was good

Room Tip: Wait for a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is our second time staying at this hotel. The location of this hotel is excellent. Right on the Rue de Rivoli , near the Tuileries and Concorde Metro Stations, and within walking distance to Place Vendôme, Palais Garnier and the Louvre.. Being so close to two metro stations, makes everything pretty convenient. You would rarely have to make more than one connection to see all the sights in Paris.

We booked with SPG points and paid extra for an Eiffel Tower view upgraded room. After we arrived, we checked in only to find that we were not getting the Eiffel Tower view room that we expected. I was very disappointed. We were given an upgraded room and when we got to the room, we found that all the additional square footage was in a useless hallway. At that point, why pay extra?? So, I called downstairs and they found a room that was in the same classification, but had a better use of space so we switched to that room. The room we got had 2 queen beds instead of one king bed, but having an extra bed always works out well because we use it for your luggage, so that was fine. The room was over Rue de Castiglione, but you could see the Tuileries Gardens & a little of the Louvre from the window.

The room was a fair size, actually about 50% bigger than the standard room we got last time we visited. The rooms were clean, but rather plain. I expected something a little more ornate. The bathroom was small but functional . It was marble & tile with a shower/bathtub combo, toilet, and single sink and little counter space.

The room had wifi and as SPG Gold Members we were given free internet during our stay. That is always a great perk.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but the center courtyard is absolutely beautiful.

Overall, we do really like this hotel and I'm sure we'll stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in Paris Sept. 14th - 19th and stayed at this hotel. My husband is a lifetime Platinum member and we used points for the whole stay. We were upgraded to an Executive suite and my husband was hoping for more but they said they were booked full. We had a choice of a free continental breakfast or extra points - we decided to go with the breakfast but two days later we had not used it so we asked if we could instead take the extra points and they let us do that no problem. We had free internet but the wifi was awful and half the time we could not connect.

First off - the staff is wonderful at the front desk AND the concierge as well. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous too! The hotel is wonderfully situated and we walked to most everything we wanted to see. We did not use the restaurant but had drinks in the lounge/bar area several times and it is a beautiful room and the service and drinks were excellent although of course pricey.

They sent up a small bottle of wine and some candy in honor of our 30th wedding anniversary which was a nice touch.

The room was very pretty but there were some issues - it was VERY dark - even after putting on all the lights this room was dark. There just wasn't enough natural light coming through I guess. The blow dryer was awful - it reminded me of the blow dryers on cruises as you have to keep your finger on the button or it would turn off and did not have enough power. If you have longer then average hair - bring your own. For some reason the tub was elevated so a bit hard to get in and out of. The bathroom was small, but did have a separate toilet area with a door which we loved. Every morning we would hear the trash truck come...it was just the luck of where our room was situated.

The good things about the room - as mentioned the room was very pretty and decorated in the French style. It had a walk in closet which was fantastic! The mattress - although very firm was of good quality and we slept well on it. The linens were very nice as well. The maids were wonderful and we tipped a few euros everyday. I know there have been complaints about the walls being thin - we did not experience this issue and never heard a peep from our neighbors.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the employees of the hotel as well. We would definitely go back to this hotel if we get the chance to go to Paris again.

One last note - don't expect to get a taxi quickly on a Saturday night. We had a dinner cruise and were dressed up so didn't want to walk - taxis are very scarce on Sat. nights and we did not plan on this - the hotel was finally able to get one for us and we made our cruise but beware and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikitamycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Well located and amazing staff and room. Really LOVED it. This was a couple's trip and we used the concierge service quite a bit because we wanted to do many things but were short on time. They were very helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izabelahawken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delmar ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

in the heart of paris very walkable to many museums and tourist attractions.
subway very close many resturants and cafes nearby. across the street from the toulerie garedns the rooms were okay but the location is the biggest advantage

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

First le me say that I am a loyal SPG member as is my girlfriend who is a Platinum member. We just finished our stay at the Westin Vendome and it was disappointing to say the least. As usual, you would expect the service to be a bit off, it is Paris after all. But on our arrival we approach the hotel (which is in a fantastic location) and with our bags of luggage the doormen could not be bothered to ask us if we need help or bother to open the doors for us, they were too busy smoking. We make our way into the lobby, where we are brought over to the SPG gold/platinum desks for checkin. We sit and are told that there are no upgrades available. That is fine and we totally understand as Paris is a busy city. We go to our rooms and unfortunately, it was not good. It was stuffy, smelled like cigarettes, and was very tight on space. We specifically booked a room with a view also, but were given a courtyard room. Basically looking at a wall. We called down to the platinum desk to see what they could do. We were told that because we booked with points there were no rooms available. But, if we wanted to pay for the room with cash, they could work something out for us. We were then essentially scolded for the fact that we use points saying that we cheated the system and there were more important paying customers in those rooms. This to me was beyond unacceptable, especially given that the reason we have points is from staying at so many SPG hotels to begin with. A lot of them and usually Luxury collection or St. Regis.

So we dismissed it and decided to tough it out. The rest of the stay was pretty bad, the rooms were either really stuffy and humid, or you could turn on the AC and they become extremely dry and cold. Dry as in your skin will start peeling after a few days. The doors to the hallway are extremely thin, so we were woken up every night from people laughing or talking at 1, 2, 3 am... The drapes do not block the light so no way you will sleep in either.

Our overall experience would have been made a lot better if the service could have been on par with what you would expect when paying these sort of prices. We also tried to have our boarding passes printed for us and an hour and a half later with trying to show the front desk (3 of them) how to print from an email it was a lost cause.

I am actually writing this review from the St. Regis in Florence now, where our experience has been nothing short of Amazing. Glad to be out of the Paris Westin and into a hotel that is vacation worthy. Needless to say, when we do return to Paris, we will not be returning to the Westin.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonathanmcnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien K, Directeur général at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Jonathanmcnulty,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read your disappointment with our overall level of service and I am very concerned about your comment on the SPG treatment you received when asking for a room move.

I sincerely would like to apologize for the lack of service you feel you received. Please be assured that this is certainly not indicative of our usual high standards of operations and I have personally passed your comments to all department heads and associates involved in order to rectify the issues that you have raised.

I very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have. Our goal here at The Westin Paris-Vendôme is that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, and in your case we failed.

I remain at your entire disposal if you wish to discuss your experience with me and I would appreciate if you have time to provide us your contact details at the following email address reservation.01729@westin.com so that I can personally get in touch with you.

With my Best Regards,

Julien Kiefer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#342 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#472 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Property: The Westin Paris - Vendome
Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Paris
#242 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#369 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Business Hotel in Paris
#472 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing