We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, sweet, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mazarin
Ranked #852 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
San Francisco, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Small, sweet, well located”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

No lobby to speak of, hardly noticeable from the street, but Villa Mazarin is lovely, very comfortable, well located (literally steps from the Hotel De Ville subway exit), and the staff attentive and responsive. The room, while small, was decorated nicely (could use a few painting touch-ups), with nice views of the street (which, with the windows open, could be noisy). The bathroom was small, but the shower a nice size (NOT one of those dreadful European hotel showers you have to fold yourself into), and good amenities. On the edge of the Marais, the hotel is surrounded by cafes and restaurants (there's even a department store across the street and 2 pharmacies within easy reach). As others have noted, the staff is very pleasant and helpful (not afraid to warn you away from bad cafes in the neighborhood, etc.). I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freebird2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    198
    48
    22
    13
See reviews for
48
306
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable small hotel in this district,this is the place for you. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities and towels etc were very good,however the lighting level was poor. The staff are very helpful especially Elodie on reception in the evenings,her friendly advice was first class and always given with enthusiasm and a lovely smile. The breakfast was typically french and didn't suit us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AilbheDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After many trips to Paris for work, and many hotels, for the first time I went to Villa Mazarin, for New Year's eve.
First of all, booking on their website was fast and easy, and I had a very good offer. Then I was welcomed by a very professional and kind staff, always smiling and making everything at ease. The location, in the Marais, is perfect both for a cultural trip and for pleasure and amusements.
I don' t know if I was lucky, but my standard room was very big, especially for Paris, with four big windows facing the beautiful streets of Marais, and very comfortable, with classic furniture, maybe a bit old, but a perfect and recently renewed bathroom. Not a small pleasure, all the available soaps, shampoo and creams were from Clarins, a very nice detail.
Another important thing, the room was very quiet, always, no noise from the busy street, no noise in the morning from the cleaning staff.
Last, but not least, when I left I forgot two precious rings in the room. By the time I got to the airport and realized the loss, I had already received a mail from the hotel, in which they asked for the right address for my jewels to be sent. I received them in Italy after two days. A very professional and efficient work.
I do recommend this hotel warmly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaurizioPicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

You could easily walk by the entrance but the rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated, and the bed is most comfortable. There was a salon for breakfast and small meals, a coutryard, and a large elevator. What sets it apart was the staff who were the most helpful we have encountered in Paris. It is in the Marais area of Paris which offers a wide assortment of shops and bistros.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe double which had plenty of light and most very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faulkes7781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent location, rooms as beautiful and clean as photos suggest. Tiny hotel lobby, but spacious and elegantly decorated rooms and bathrooms ( very jazzy taps in sink!). Spent a girlie weekend here and had the best time. Especially impressed by receptionists, all of whom were as friendly and helpful as possible. We were able to leave our luggage with them on the last day and head out for a last walk. We didn't try breakfast at the hotel as there were plenty of cafes just outside. We were a few minutes walk away from hotel de ville and a further few minutes away from Notre dame. Bliss. Works extremely well if you're looking to spend the day out, and come back to a clean elegant friendly space.

Room Tip: If possible ask for rooms on higher floors as some of our party were woken by early morning deliveri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovecitybreaksSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed four nights in this very sweet small hotel in the Marais neighborhood of Paris. This was my third trip to Paris, and my first time staying in the Marias. This is a very small hotel. My room was on the fifth floor and had an odd two-story arrangement, with a small entry area, minibar and small bar table on the first floor and bedroom and bathroom on the second. The bedroom was lovely and well appointed with a small sitting area. My only real criticism was that the room was painted a dark aubergine, and with only a small window for light the room felt exceptionally dark. I was traveling alone for business so the hotel was fine. I did not take breakfast and thus can't comment on its extra facilities. Without question the best part of this hotel is its fabulous location, right across from the BHV department store and in a charming neighborhood of shops and restaurants, close to a metro stop and in central area. I'd stay again for business but those seeking higher level service or amenities that would come with a larger hotel might look elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank duomogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel Mazarin at first appearances seemed small and awkward but our stay there was very pleasant. The staff were absolutely wonderful, all fluent in English and very helpful with respect to travelling advice around the city. We stayed in a large room (by any standards not just for Paris) which was very comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. The bathroom was large with a bath and shower, a great shaving mirror and under floor heating which was a welcome extra in October. Villa Mazarin on Rue des Archive is centrally situated and if you like clubbing, eating out and shopping you can't ask for a better spot. Des Archive is a busy street but wasn't too noisy and very conveniently there is an ATM, pharmacy and convenience store literally across the street. There is also the most decadent chocolate shop right next door which is great for gifts and dangerous for the waistline! It is a 7 minute walk to the river to catch the Batobus which takes you to all the riverside tourist destinations including links for the open air bus tours. The Metro station at Les Halles is also right around the corner and if you come in on the Eurostar from London and arrive at Gar du Nord station like we did then getting to the hotel is a breeze. A really great spot. We would come back here.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. The size alone is worth it. Nothing worse than staying in a matchbox.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hendricks-Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
#634 of 1,801 in Paris
295 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#375 of 1,801 in Paris
707 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,030 of 1,801 in Paris
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,007 of 1,801 in Paris
133 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#682 of 1,801 in Paris
294 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,253 of 1,801 in Paris
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mazarin

Property: Hotel Villa Mazarin
Address: 6 rue des Archives | Marais district, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in Paris
#305 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#414 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Mazarin 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En plein coeur de Paris, dans le quartier du MARAIS, la Villa Mazarin vous accueille.En quelques pas, vous atteignez Notre-Dame, le Centre Georges Pompidou, l’'Ile Saint-Louis, l’'Hôtel de Ville, la Place des Vosges, le Musée Picasso et les ruelles historiques du Marais, haut lieu de la mode, de la gastronomie et de la vie nocturne.Pour rallier le Louvre, le Musée d’'Orsay, le Quartier Latin, il vous suffira d’une courte promenade le long des berges mythiques de la Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mazarin Hotel Paris
Hotel Mazarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing