We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room, good service, bad WIFI, not clean sheet”
Review of Hotel Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ermitage
Ranked #1,406 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    62
    15
    13
See reviews for
11
79
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
287 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Positive: cheap
Negative: bad ubication, staff don't speak english, no elevator, room very very small, bathroom very very small.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Basically, the stay was acceptable. The reception worked very well and was helpfull and friendly, which I rate high. We stayed on 2nd floor which was ok despite that I was carrying heavy luggage. However, when arriving in a rental car parking and unloading the luggage was a mess. There ought to be a 10 min. drop-space in front of the hotel. The room is very small and for two persons with luggage it is hard to get around. My main critiscism is the lack of space in the bathroom. We are not "over-size" persons, but it is impossible to dress/undress (partly or fully) when the bathroom door is closed. So my recommandation to another person would be followed by a warning of this "Micky Mouse" bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Pros:
Excellent value
Comfy bed
Nice hot shower
Clean
Free wi-fi

Cons:
A little bit out of the way (but not too bad and metro nearby)
Lack of air con (particularly in summer)
No lift (we were on floor 5 of 6, would not advise for elderly guests)
No frills (hair dryer, iron, tea/coffee etc) but you get what you pay for

If you need a cheap place to stay to use as a base to explore Paris, then I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyman_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Great little hotel. Perfect for my needs.
Close to metro. Clean. Quiet.
Met all my needs.
Would definitely stay there again.
Ooh la la! C'est superb! Etc etc etc. Ooh la la! C'est superb! Etc etc etc. Ooh la la! C'est superb! Etc etc etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Myself and my Boyfriend stayed here Oct 2011, and it was a wonderful experience. It was out of the citycentre, and in an area that we would never normally have visited - and that was possibly the best part of this hotel. It meant that we saw a non-touristy part of Paris, and it was lovely.

The rooms were small, but very manageable and (most importantly) the bed was comfy!! The room had a lovely window and it opened completely, which is nice, as hotels in the UK tend to have locks to stop the windows opening more then an inch!

The rooms were cleaned every day and new towels were put out. The en-suite was small, i.e. you can sit on the toilet, reach the shower and brush your teeth all at the same time!! But it had hot water and was very clean. We arrived a couple of hours early and were allowed into the room there and then. At the end of the trip, our Eurostar train wasnt until the evening, and the guy on reception was more than happy to watch our luggage until we returned later that day.

All in all, I would reccommend this hotel, if you just want a nice, comfy place to stay and use as a base for your Paris exploring, then this is perfect! It is very reasonably priced, and lets you see an area of Paris that is not tourist mad! When we go back to Paris, I am sure that we will use this hotel again.

Also, the bakery just down the road has the most delicious food ever!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed here for one night while visiting family who live just down the road from the hotel. All I needed was a clean room and bed to sleep in, I got no more and no less. My room was on the second floor, advertised as a double but the bed would be very tight if there were two people sleeping in it.

Good points: The room was recently decorated, perfectly clean, quiet, all the lights worked, nothing was broken. Hot water came immediately and was very hot. The bed was OK. The area is off the beaten track, very typically Parisian and will appeal to people who like real local flavour rather than local flavour made for tourists. The nearest metro station (Jourdain) is about five minutes' walk. There is no breakfast but who would want a 1-star hotel breakfast anyway, when there are bakeries and cafes close at hand?

Bad points: Some minor gripes - the bathroom was ridiculously small, impossible to wash, shave or shower without banging into things. The plug in the sink wouldn't close and the shower head wouldn't stay put, but I have seen this in four-star hotels as well so cannot really complain. The walls between rooms are very thin, luckily I had very quiet neighbours - I heard them coming in, banging into things in the bathroom then nothing else.

Two major gripes. Firstly, it was unbearably hot in the room and impossible to turn down the heating. Consequently, I slept with the window wide open despite it being freezing outside. No doubt many others do the same, which makes no sense in terms of energy wastage and heating bills for the hotel. Luckily my room was out the back and so noise from the street was not an issue. And secondly, as in so many small Paris hotels, what happens if there is a fire? The only way out is apparently the main staircase which is steep, spiral and narrow.

All in all, if your purpose is what mine was - a cheap bed for a night or two specifically in this part of Paris and nothing more, then this hotel fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank neuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Des Vosges
Hotel Des Vosges
#1,251 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,022 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,537 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Beaunier
Hotel Beaunier
#1,375 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,236 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
#1,205 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ermitage

Property: Hotel Ermitage
Address: 42 B rue de l Ermitage | Quartier de Ménilmontant - 20ème arrondissement, 75020 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,406 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing