We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Modigliani
Ranked #843 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Family comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The family room description found in the hotel's site is very accurate. It is a spacious and can comfortably accommodate three adults and an up to 11 y.o. child. The employees were discrete but ready to help when needed. The location is great, very close to many options of public transportation which will take you anywhere in Pairs and a few steps from a vibrant neighborhood plenty of crêperies, brasseries, restaurants, supermarkets and bakeries. Private parking is easy to find, although this money could be better spent in something else in Paris. A thin but efficient door splits the bedroom in two and guarantees some privacy for a couple with kids. I would be tempted to give a fifth green ball to this friendly hotel should it offer a small refrigerator in the rooms. To check nearby: Le Bar à Huîtres, unique for seafood, and the Jusselin Crêperie (the house's sider is a delicious surprise to accompany the crêpes).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impressionniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPE_VACANCES_BLEUES, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Villa Modigliani, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your kind post on the Villa Modigliani.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We have taken note about your remark on the small refrigerator in the rooms, and will do our very best to ensure top quality. Again, thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    241
    89
    21
    7
See reviews for
99
129
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Louis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Travelling from Gare Montparnasse, I found my way easily to the hotel. I received a warm welcome from the reception staff and was taken to my room which impressed me with the cosiness and smart arrangement of the facilities in the room. i could sleep well without any disturbance. This is my first visit to this hotel and I would recommend it to any traveller looking for a very accessible place from Gare Montparnasse and a cosy place to rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 360Vishnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location was great for the Montpanasse Railway Station and for quick getaway the next morning for Charles de Gaulle Airport with taxi fare around 60 Euros. We only stayed one night and left too early for breakfast the next morning (6.30) so can't comment on food. We did lunch and dinner the day before and there were many restaurants and cafes within a short walking distance. Shopping also close by. We did find the rooms very small and were disappointed that it advertised wifi access but there wasn't any.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JkayBusselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
510 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We’ve now been to Paris 6 times in the past 18 years. We’ve twice stayed in a very nice little 4 star hotel up at Montmartre, a mediocre 3 star near the Eiffel Tower, and a mediocre 3 star near the Sorbonne. We were last in Paris 5 years ago in summer 2008 when we stayed at the 3 star Villa Modigliani. We were so pleased with our “find” in 2008 that we had no hesitation in booking again for our return to Paris in summer 2013. If you book this hotel don’t expect real plush or spacious accommodation (you don’t often get spacious in Paris). Based on our two experiences, you should get clean, tidy, but small air conditioned bedrooms, with a useful mini fridge and complimentary room safe, a nice cool airy reception, and a hotel bar if you want it. We live in a very quiet cul-de-sac out of town and are not used to the noises of city traffic and city life but that’s just what you often experience in hotels, especially on city breaks. And Paris is a busy-busy, vibrant capital city. In our view, where Villa Modigliani scores hands down over other hotels is its location. You don’t get any Paris views at the Modigliani. It’s built on a triangle of land behind the (larger) buildings that front onto Rue Delambre, Rue Huyghens & Square Delambre and you access the hotel through an archway off Delambre. It’s an easy transfer from Paris Charles de Gaulle airport and Gare du Nord station – take the RER-B train to Denfert Rochereau, then it’s two stops on the #4 Metro to Vavin and the hotel entrance is just 75 metres along Delambre. All the bedrooms either face a courtyard at the front of the hotel or the garden courtyard at the back. And it’s so quiet. You can even sleep with the window ajar and not really hear any traffic at all! Bliss. For the price you pay here, we’ll take that over good Paris views any day.

The hotel website says it has standard double rooms measuring 20m2 and larger family rooms of 23m2. You’ll probably have read that they achieve this by having bunk beds in the entrance vestibule opposite the bathroom, which is separate from the toilet. All rooms have doors between the bedroom and the entrance/bathroom vestibule. In 2008 we were lucky enough to have a family room for the two of us. This time we discovered that not all standard rooms are the same size. We were allocated 404 and it became obvious that rooms #04 & #05 are about 3 foot narrower than normal standard rooms. Our bedroom only measured about 9 foot wide by 8 foot across the bed. It was pretty small, but the quietness at night was still wonderful, so we won’t complain too much. But if you book this hotel, try and avoid rooms 04 & 05 on all floors. If it’s allowed, we’ll upload a floor plan photo so you can see what we mean.

Because the depth of most bedroom areas is only about 8 foot, you’ll probably find you’re restricted to a 4’ 6” bed, which is probably the most disappointing thing about the hotel. That said, the mattress was great: firm and supportive, but without being hard. Modigliani doesn’t use duvets. You get, sheet, blanket and bedcover, so you can remove layers if you want less on top of you at night. As it was so hot in August we quite liked this for a change – especially as we only use a 3 tog at home, but most hotels nowadays seem to try and boil you up with 13 or 15 tog duvets. There are no extra pillows in the room so, like us, you’ll have to ask if you want more. English speakers, don’t bother thinking about turning the TV on. The lighting in the bathroom was better than in lots of places, the shower over the bath was excellent, but the old fashioned tube style hairdryer was pretty poor. You don’t get nice big bath sheets, only get the small type of bath towels, but we think ours were changed every day, which was unexpected.

Most agents book Villa Modigliani room only. Breakfast costs 15€, which is taken in the dining room in the basement. At first sight, that seemed a lot, but when we discovered we could pay 4€ in a café for just a cup of tea, we were happy to pay it. . Based on our own earlier experiences of 3/4 star Paris hotels and those of friends, we think the breakfast buffet choice you get at Villa Modigliani is substantially better than many other hotels of a similar and even higher rating. It’s true that the only two hot choice items, scrambled eggs and streaky bacon, may not actually be hot when you go for them, but if you time it right. Similarly, if you get to the little croissants when they are still hot, we reckon they’ll beat any you’ll ever get in the Tesco “finest” range. And the little Danish pastries were THE best we have ever had in any hotel of any class! Don’t know if this happens every August but the hotel wasn’t serving lunch or dinner and the bar closed at 8pm. But unless people are on a package with food we reckon most people would go out to eat and drink. We reckon there must be at least 200 brasseries, bistros, restaurants and creperies within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.

Reception staff were invariably friendly and said hello as to came and went, but breakfast staff weren't exactly chatty. Don’t expect all staff to be fluent English speakers and some don't speak any – so you’ll probably have to try some pigeon French at some time, as we did when our door lock ceased working.

Within its class, we are very happy to give Villa Modigliani 5/5. Don’t stay here if you want a city view, posh surroundings and all the usual hotel frills, but do consider this hotel if you want somewhere that’s quiet.

Room Tip: Try to avoid smaller rooms with numbers ending 04 & 05
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our 3 night stay in Paris.
Lets make it simple

Great service
Lovely building
Super Location
Breakfast was good, not outstanding, but good (dodgy looking scrambled egg though)
Good sized bedroom, comfortable and lovely view of the courtyard fountain
Right next to a metro station, great for getting around
Lots of lovely cafes, bars and restaurants near by

We loved it!

My only complaints are:
the bath looked a bit grubby (although my boyfriend says it was fine and I was just being picky)
Air con was a bit rattily when on full, but it was cool enough using the lower settings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooBrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in Sept, 2012. This hotel has one of the most important qualities - rooms facing inner courtyard therefore you can get good night sleep there. Location is perfect, near metro, small shops, bakeries. Safe place to stay for women traveling allone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

well, it has a great location good rates and a peacful environment but the worst "french" air conditioning system:: its sounds and looks like one but its useless really useless, so if you stay there, choose a cool month.the bar is dreadfully empty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noorcharana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#228 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#394 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
The Five Hotel
#485 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#272 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Delambre
Hotel Delambre
#640 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#620 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Modigliani

Property: Hotel Villa Modigliani
Address: 13 rue Delambre, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Modigliani Hotel Paris
Modigliani Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing