We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel for short trip with friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Villa Modigliani
Ranked #817 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 11, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank jessica123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Modigliani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 446 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Pascual B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just returned from a conference that was held in this hotel. The location is great, but there are many hotels in the area, the Lenox, for example, that would be a better choice. The three main problems were the bizarre wifi connection which I couldn't get connected to on my computer, so had to use lobby computer which was also abysmal; the lack of heat in some rooms; and the erratic elevators. One elevator was out of service the entire time we were there and the other one had a mind of its own, going by the floor you were waiting on without stopping. We ended up climbing to our 5th floor room several times.

That said, the breakfast was good, plenty of good coffee and chocolate crossants, terrible scrambled eggs, but pancakes, fruit, yogurt were good.

The morning reception woman was the only really pleasant reception staff. The night staff seemed sort of useless, unable to answer questions, not amenable to keeping the lounge bar open.

Would not recommend this hotel when there are so many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room that has a functioning heater in the winter
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We weren't able to have TripAdvisor pick our hotel in Paris -- it was designated by the conference we were attending. This is the second time that this conference has used this hotel, and I think in the intervening seven years, it's gone downhill, now more oriented to inexpensive family lodging rather than business people or serious tourists.

The hotel isn't awful, it's just lackluster. Smallish rooms with no upholstered chair to read in, no in-room coffee pot, no rack to sit a suitcase on (or room to put one). Free internet, but enormous nuisance value to connect: they require you to use an 8-random-character userID and password that have to be re-entered every time you log on, and you need to get a new set of them every two days. Separate UserID and password if you want to use your smart phone.

One of the two torturously slow elevators broke down on the day we arrived (trapping two of our fellow conferees for half an hour). They reported that pushing the "call for help" button reached some general service that could not tell which hotel the call was coming from. Six days later, the elevator was still out of order.

Breakfasts fine, but half the time the salt and pepper shakers were either missing or empty, and they were slow to replenish empty buffet trays.

In general, the problem with Villa Modigliani is not the facility, it's the level of service and the service attitude. Mostly the attitude is "C'est impossible!" no matter what you ask for.

The location is pretty good, among a lot of restaurants and near three Metro lines. There's a Saturday morning fruit/veg/meat/fish/flowers fare a block away whose offerings are stunningly beautiful. Oh, to have Paris produce back home! But in general, I'd give Villa Modigliani a pass.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent a lot of time looking for an hotel in Paris, close to a metro station, not very expensive, not too far from attractions. Eventually I found this hotel and booked. Getting in there was easy from the closer metro station. The hotel was very nice and clean, we decided to avoid breakfast there and it was a good choice, there is plenty of places in the surroundings with very good breakfast offers. The pub in front of hotel was also a nice discovery to take the last beer before going to bed. If you are looking for a base to visit Paris, this is the right place. If you are looking for an hotel to spend your day, you need to look for other places.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FernandoSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had a good stay here at the beginning of the summer. We stayed for three nights in one of the triple rooms (bunk beds + one double bed), and we were reasonably comfortable. There was enough room for all of us to sit around in the room containing the double bed (bunk bed is in the hallway area) and a decent amount of storage for our backpacks. The bathroom was also decent sized, and the rooms have large windows looking out to the courtyard that give you a nice breeze during the day. The courtyard is a nice component of the hotel - rooms facing it will stay quiet at night so you can leave your windows open. They have sets of table and chairs in the courtyard and don't mind if you bring a bottle of wine or lunch to enjoy out there. Rooms were very clean, and the price was reasonable for 3 people even at the beginning of peak tourist season when we booked only two weeks out.

Hotel is in a nice neighborhood. Only a few blocks from the Luxembourg Gardens and the Raspail metro station. However, this neighborhood definitely gets quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The hotel is located off the main Blvd. Montparnass, close to three different Metro stations, to great restaurants, many coffee shops and a large shopping center. A large front yard locates the hotel far from the street and a small patio in the back is nice for relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mookie09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#247 of 1,804 in Paris
1,830 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Delambre
Hotel Delambre
#631 of 1,804 in Paris
238 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#492 of 1,804 in Paris
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#544 of 1,804 in Paris
460 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#598 of 1,804 in Paris
342 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#372 of 1,804 in Paris
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Modigliani

Address: 13 rue Delambre, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #817 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $105 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Modigliani Hotel Paris
Modigliani Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing