We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amiot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amiot Hotel
Ranked #1,599 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice for a budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

With a family of five it was not easy to find a budget hotel, but after spendig here four nights we were really satisfied with our choice.
Location is perfect as many others writing as well, only some steps coming out from the metro station (good thing if it is raining). Family rooms are on the top (6th) floor, which means one floor on foot, since the elevator goes up till the 5th (was no problem for us). Free wifi worked properly even up there. The view was really beautiful, could see the Sacre Cour lightened all night as well as the upper half of the Eiffel Tower. The room was perfectly preparred and cleaned every day. Even with a fifth bed in the room it was big enough for spending there some hours in the mornings and in the evenings.
We didn't ask the breakfast, it was easy to find food in the nearby. Right next to the hotel is a sandwich bar with big fresh baguettes in the mornings. For reaching a supermarket we only had to cross the street.
Staff was kind and helpful.
In colder October days there was no heating in the room, so it was a bit cold inside.
These are based on a family trip, so have no experiences with double-rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    157
    231
    84
    70
See reviews for
166
186
52
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location of the hotel is good, we arrived on the Eurostar and it was about 10 minutes walk, dragging our suitcases along the streets and down a flight of stairs. Ok for family with 2 teenage kids but may be challenging if travelling with infants and huge luggage a if taking the Eurostar.

Room for four is very spartan, just 4 single beds and one wooden cupboard. There's a small tv but free wifi does not reach the top level so I'm typing this in the lounge on the ground floor.

The staff are very friendly though, and make you feel welcomed.

Overall, good for short stay and if you're on a budget and don't expect any frills.

We came to Paris from London where we stayed at holiday inn at kings cross. If I rate holiday inn as a 5 on a scale of 1-10, this will be a 3.5

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Right opposite the Gare de L'est and 10 mins walk from Gare du Nord, this hotel is a little gem.
It looks dated inside in the reception area and could benefit from a make over but the room we had was modern with laminate floor and a very nice bath room.
The only criticism was that the online price we paid through hotels.com was higher that the walk in off the street and pay the rate price.
Book this if you want a great location for the metro in Paris.

Room Tip: A room at the front can be noisy but worth it for the balcony style view of the atmoshphere of Paris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Located right by Gare du L'Est and a stone's throw from Gare du Nord, this hotel is well situated as a jump off spot for travel into or out of Paris. A walk to the Seine and the sights is not bad either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank officematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an economy hotel and the lobby and immediate surroundings show it. Shabby. It has a decrepit and small old-style elevator, with loud clunky folding metal doors. The other drawback of the property is the absence of airconditioning. If one is not used to keeping large windows open the whole night, as is the case in Europe, ventilation is a concern. On anyone's first night, the appearance of the lobbies upstairs where the rooms are located jolts any guest; he'd wonder if he's in some warehouse office. It has old asbestos ceilings, narrow corridors and battered wooden doors. The door locks are functioning, although they had seen better days.

On the other hand, the hotel has a number of good points, because of which, I recommend it to travellers who want to be conveniently located very near the train station and the metro as well as bus stops. A variety of restaurants is available just outside the hotel. With regard to their rooms, bed linen and woolen blankets, these are clean and comfortable. Room size is adequate, with enough cabinet spaces. The fixtures in the bathroom are clean. One of the 2 rooms we occupied has a good view of Gare de L Est and the neighboring shops and restaurants. In the far distance the two spires of Sacre Coeur could be seen even at night. Wifi is free. LCD TV with several channel selecdtions is available, and so is a safe.

Breakfast selection is quite substantial, with cereals, fruit, a generous basket of baguettes and croissants with butter and jam, orange juice, choice of coffee, chocolate or tea. Dominique and the rest of the reception counter staff are helpful and cheerful. Dominique efficiently checked in our family upon our late evening arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nav795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

In order to visit Disneyland Marne la Valee, I had to choose between a hotel on-site or a Paris hotel. I decided that it will be more advantageous and cheaper to book a Paris hotel and go to Disneyland instead of sleeping in Disneyland and go back to see wonderful Paris. I had four days and the target was to take my grandson, 5 yrs old, to Disneyland. About the Amiot hotel breakfast, you will realize why the French people are so thin! A good (and single) croissant, milk and corn flakes, some jam or honey and cofee, not the best sort of it. That's all you get. If you would like ham & eggs, salami, cheese, sausages or fish-forget it! To find them - together with some good French wine or cold beer, you have to cross the street to the nearest supermarket. A lot of affordable restaurants are at your choice, including hamburger, Turkish, sea food-you name it.
Disneyland is a must for each kid. Be sure that your kid is tall enough, at least 1,40 meters, otherwise he/she will not be admitted to most of attractions, and you will have a frustrated kid. The Disney people do not joke with this thing. They have a wooden meter and if your kid is just one finger smaller, you will have to bring him back again after he has grown enough.
I do not think that you will need more than one day to visit the two parks. For a grown man, it's enough kitsch for his whole life. And the main purpose of the two parks is to make you spend. All the efforts were made to put in your path as many shops as possible in order to make your kid want to buy everything, mostly toys made in the biggest country of the world, in terms of population. The last mention is for the public transport in Paris and France, which is very reliable though not very clean on all routes. And be aware of pickpockets, the Paris metro is full of them and they are really masters of theft.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with inner yard view. The ones with street view are noisy but thy offer you access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soare47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Disclaimer: My review of Hotel Amiot is based on an experience I had there in June 2012. I cannot take responsibility for any changes in tariffs or services that the hotel might have changed since then.

First of all I chose this hotel due to its relative closeness to the North Station, which had the Eurostar hub which connects Paris to London (my next stop after Paris) and Brussels. You can also use the metro from the airport (Charles de Gaulle) via the public transport system, which includes a metro line. Upon my arrival I realised that this hotel is right at the metro for the East Station (Gare l' est), which is very convenient if you are going to rely on the metro (underground) of Paris. I used my ticket included in the four day Paris pass which is available on the internet - the only problem might be finding the restaurant (Hard Rock cafe) where you pick up your pass and free 4 day ticket to the metro (it's free, but you actually paid for it when you paid for the Paris pass- but it is much cheaper than buying individual tickets). Since I arrived at 12:00 and you are only allowed to book in at/after 15:00, I used the time to search for the restaurant to pick up my paris pass. They have storage space for luggage if you want to keep it there early. Upon my arrival at hotel Amiot, the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a lift for people who do not like the stairs, which I found were not very clean. This is a typical old hotel in Paris, that was refurbished, so don't be expect built in cupboards 70 inch television or even a bath in your room. But when you go to Paris, usually you just want a roof over your head and a nice bed, so don't expect anything luxurious here. I think this is a two-star hotel but they serve breakfast which was included in my booked price (booking.com). I cannot guarantee that you will get the same deal, but breakfast was sufficient and it was included in my booking price. Though a continental breakfast, you can go for seconds or have some fruits if the croissant, coffee or hot chocolate and cereal is not enough for you. The last two of four days I stayed there they only had plain yogurt. So go early or add jam to your yogurt. Once again the staff was friendly and if you can say "merci" once in a while they will be appreciative.

There was a lot of noise in the mornings, which I assume was because they renovated a room nearby mine. You might get luckier with your room. The room was a bit warm with no air conditioning, so if this is important to you, ask before you book or avoid this hotel. Paris can get hot and humid in the summer.

If you consider this hotel for wi-fi connectivity, don't expect it to work in your room on upper levels. My room was on level 4. It did, however, work in the reception area.

So, if you are looking for a hotel that is not too expensive, pick this one for its location, not its shortage in luxuries. But also bear in mind the type of holiday you want to go on, are you going to spend all your time in the room, or are you going to get out and see the many sights of Paris? If air conditioning is important to you, consider other hotels in high summer. In winter I think it will be ok, since there seems to be central a heating facility which will probably be controlled via a central point in the building. Since I went in summer, I cannot say, you can contact the hotel via their email for that information.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MISTERMORNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
#1,521 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,604 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Nord et Champagne
Hotel Nord et Champagne
#1,461 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Modern' Est
Modern' Est
#1,484 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Hotel Altona
#1,393 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little Regina
Hotel Little Regina
#1,080 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiot Hotel

Property: Amiot Hotel
Address: 76 boulevard de Strasbourg | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,599 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amiot Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amiot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiot Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing