We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chic design hotel on a quiet street in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Thoumieux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Thoumieux
Ranked #834 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A chic design hotel on a quiet street in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After days of searching for a perfect (and reasonably priced) hotel in Paris, we stumbled upon the very chic Hotel Thoumieux on Mr & Mrs Smith Hotels website. We'd never properly explored this part of Paris and if it was a Smith hotel, then we knew it must be good.
And Hotel Thoumieux did not disappoint.

Tucked away on a quiet street in the 7th arr. we arrived at the hotel with very little expectations. We were tired after a 30hr journey (from Sydney) and we just wanted a room to freshen up so that we could enjoy the city. Despite the large Thoumieux signage (brightly lit in pinkish lights at night), we arrived at a small, inconspicuous door with just a small buzzer next to it. A short walk up a narrow flight of stairs and.. voila!

The decor in the lobby is chic and tasteful, with clean designs and minimalism and this aesthetic continues through to all the rooms. There are fashionable sepia and B&W photos of celebrities on the walls as you walk up to the rooms, with a beautiful chocolate coloured carpet leading the way. Note- there is no lift/elevator in the hotel.

The rooms are quite small, which becomes quite crowded if there are two people staying and you have a bit of luggage. In saying that, they have really utilised the space available in the best way. The rooms are equipped with the standard amenities, but of a high standard - fluffly bathrobes, incredibly comfortable bath slippers, Aesop products and a television with only French channels. The hotel also goes one step further with a small espresso machine, an iPad and some delicious biscuits.

The location of the hotel is in the 7th arr. and is a short walk away from the Eiffel Tower. In fact, you get a fantastic view standing right in front of the hotel. The street is a busy street during the day, mainly with locals and few tourists. Some great shops and restaurants are located on the street, in particular the boulangerie, which is phenomenal.

All in all, I have nothing negative to say about our stay at Hotel Thoumieux. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. While our room wasn't ready upon arrival, we were able to leave our bags at the hotel and freshen up, with our rooms made ready within the hour.

All in all, I'd recommend Hotel Thoumieux to friends who want to stay in a part of Paris that isn't in the heart of the busy tourist district. A wonderful hotel that we'd certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiavS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    50
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
77
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

this is a small boutique hotel about 15 rooms.
It is in art deco style on a typically parisian street.
The rooms are well decorated and clean.
The staff is charming and helpful.
It is a good quality price ration.
Will recommend this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: choose garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIRAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Located in a typical parisian street with Eiffel Tower on the background, this hotel offers a small intimate space& at home feeling. Room was small but very cute and I absolutely loved the design. Nice touches here and there: homemade cookies, Aesop amenities, super cool expresso coffee machine, iPads with great playlist...
I was on a business trip so it wasnt that convenient (no taxis waiting in the front but staff would call them for you) but I really felt I had my little home right in the center of Paris and that was the feeling I was looking for: it was July, the front street was blooming with terrasse cafes and I felt it was very very authentic...
They have this great scent in the whole hotel coming from their own branded candles: the memory became visual from the hotel unique design& olfactive as well.
Breakfast was super good& made from fresh and very tasty premium ingredients.

Just one thing, I did not manage once to take my shower in the bathtube without pouring water all around the bathroom. Maybe they should improve the system a bit.

Staff was well-groomed and nice, with a fashion touch but without being pretentious.
Perfect stay, they made my biztrip turn into little holidays!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimosachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My teenage daughter and I spent 2 nights at the Thoumiuex. We absolutely loved it and this is why:

INTERIOR:
The decor is stylish and contemporary with bold use of color and pattern. Our room (no. 16) was on the third floor. The carpet was a fantastic brown and cream geometric pattern, the walls were covered in a large blue floral print, and the curtains were a rust-colored crewel pattern. The baseboards were painted a vibrant green. We loved the yellow velvet sofa and the leopard print accents. If it sounds like a riot of pattern, it was, but they balanced each other. The result was a lively and FUN interior - and unlike any other hotel I have stayed at.

Our room was quiet and faced the interior. There were three windows but no view, we looked out at a cream colored wall with a dried vine on it (still rather attractive). There were delicate white linen roman shades under the curtains so you could block the view but still have light.

BATHROOM
The Thoumiuex gets extra points for its ALL marble bathroom. The sink was beautiful and practically a work of art in itself. Fixtures were also very nice. The Aesop products were large sized and smelled really good.

There was a window in the bathroom, decent lighting, and a makeup mirror.

DETAILS COUNT
Door handles must have been designed specifically for the hotel; they were graceful and curving and looked like liquid rope. The ipad was an appreciated extra (even if the internet was slow) and the espresso machine was terrific (I wish they would provide cream). The best extra was the gold tin of browned butter cookies - a welcome gift (unbelievably delicious).

ROOM SERVICE
The limited menu is served by the brasserie downstairs. The food is fantastic. We tried the fois gras, salmon, frites, and churros. Our order was delivered right away - about 10 minutes after we placed the call. Our food arrived in a big wood box so it stayed warm but even better you could place the dirty dishes back in and not have to see them.

There is no room service tab to sign, the food arrives and that is it.

BED AND LINENS
The king bed was firm with no lumps or sags. White bed linens were nice and soft. I found the pillow to be uncomfortable - maybe not feather.

HOUSEKEEPING
The hotel is immaculate. Everything is super clean. Fabric, walls, and upholstery are all fresh and scuff free.

SERVICE
Communication prior to our arrival was efficient and always well written in English. I had made a special request for our room and was delighted that they honored my request - even upgrading our room. The front desk was very helpful in printing my boarding passes and arranging an early morning taxi.

LOCATION
There are lots of little shops and places to eat in the neighborhood. The subway is a peaceful 7 minute walk just down the street and across the Invalides lawn; no big intersections to cross or lots of traffic to deal with. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower and a 15 minute walk to Poilane bakery on bld. de Grenelle.

NOTES:
There is no elevator. Leave your bags at the front door and someone will carry them up for you.

The front door of the hotel is unconventional in that it is not marked, just a narrow door with a frosted glass panel etched with the Thoumieux logo. You ring a buzzer to enter.

The entire hotel smells wonderful; they use a room spray and candles that were created specifically for them.

The AC works well and we were able to control the temperature in our room.

WOULD I STAY HERE AGAIN?
Yes. Of the hotels I have stayed at in Paris in the past few years - Keppler, Recamier, St. Beuve - I like the Thoumiuex the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pricklypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level Contributor
339 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel close to invalides and tour eiffel, extremely warm staff. Rooms news and wide wirh all amenities needed.
I recommende it, we will come back.
I was mant times in Paris in different hotels, I really liked this!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room was tiny but oh so cute.My husband and i could hardly move about, tho we got used to it. Super clean and beds were very comfortable. Excellent location near the Eiffel tower and Napoleons tomb.Many restaurants and cafe nearby. Had a minor problem trying to get into hotel one night because there was no one at the front desk to buzz us in. Had to go next door to restaurant and come up an alternate stair ( a little disconcerting)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is a stylish hotel, with good linen, towels, and bed. There is a coffee machine in the room. The localization is very good, close to a less tourist area , but within a walking distance to the main attractions. The room does not have a great space, but it is OK. The bathroom is large. There is a two star restaurant (expensive) and a very good brasserie downstairs. It is convenient for tourism in Paris, but a little overpriced, reflecting Paris prices.

Room Tip: There are room with showers and other with bathtube
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruiferriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Pavillon
Hotel Le Pavillon
#623 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#130 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
#582 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
BEST WESTERN Tour Eiffel Invalides
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel 7 Eiffel
Hotel 7 Eiffel
#319 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
#1,254 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thoumieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thoumieux

Property: Hotel Thoumieux
Address: 79 rue Saint Dominique, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#396 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#421 Family Hotel in Paris
#459 Business Hotel in Paris
#475 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thoumieux 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Thoumieux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thoumieux Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing