We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel.....wonderful neighborhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #315 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel.....wonderful neighborhood.”
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Our reservation for a room for three had somehow slipped through the cracks....without hesitation Mrs. Gourdal, the owner, provided us with two rooms for our 4 night stay with no extra charge! Love the rue Cler neighborhood and the wonderful sense of community you can immediately enjoy as you step out side the hotel and wander among the streets lined with outdoor cafes, patisseries, fromageries, markets and boulangeries with the baguettes being made behind the windows.
Having visited Paris and the rue Cler before, I know that I should expect a smaller room. With Rick Steves advice and our own experience, we packed light and used small suitcases. Our two first floor rooms were charming, clean, accommodating and quiet.

With regard to other reviews wherein criticism was made of the lack of warmth from the owners and staff.....perhaps respect for privacy and a difference in culture was mistaken for coldness.
The French are wonderful people....different to us....and isn't this why we love to travel....to experience something different? They are more private....respectful of others space....after all they have less of it to share and, I have found, they are careful not to intrude. I have also learned that they are wonderfully responsive when a 'request' is made for assitance rather than a 'demand'. Waiting for my family, I would spend time in the lobby reading and I found that many guests asked for help with a demand that, while may be the way to get help in the USA, sounds disrespectful and rude in France. The old adage of 'when in Rome do as the Romans do....works wonders. After all, if we make the French like us.....why would we want to bother to travel there!

Our experience at this hotel was one of comfort on all levels for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — the Rue Cler location
  • Disliked — The high bathtub was difficult to get out of without risk of slipping and falling
  • Tips/Secrets — The croissants at the corner bakery are the best....big...beautiful and flaky. Yum
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Foodienearnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    335
    68
    27
    27
See reviews for
141
556
74
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2006

The first thing you notice upon entering the tiny entrance is the cosy sitting area, furnished with miniature armchairs. A dog basket with bits of chewed soft toy in a corner completes the picture. Beautifully furnished with floral wall-papers and paintings. Clean and well-kept rooms made for pleasant experience. An added bonus is the friendly cocker spaniel, which accompanied the owners whenever they are manning the reception.

The hotel is located right in the heart of Rue Cler market / shopping area and is just a short distance from the metro station. The Eiffel Tower is just 2 streets away.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — expensive breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buzibody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packerland, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2006

My wife and I stayed in room # 21 from 29 March-7April 2006 and thrilled to have secured a reservation for 6 nights in May 2007.
The hotel is perfect for our needs, easy on the travel budget and the owners and staff are helpful and friendly. It is located in a quiet neighborhood with cafes, small grocery stores, flower shops, fresh food stores of all types, cheese store, luggage shop, linen shop, really cool & crowded (with two customers and one owner) shoe store (looking for the newest Mephistos?) the best pastry shop in the world, post office, atm, internet shop, metro stops and centrally located for major Paris sightseeing or shopping.
We could see the top of the Eiffel tower out our window and walk to it in 10 minutes.
It rates excellent for us.
Jay & Teri Moe
Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA

  • Liked — Location & staff
  • Disliked — you got me!
  • Tips/Secrets — Nice Hotel & Cental Location beats a pool, cable tv, mini bar, hot tub & etc. every time
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank moebile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

We stayed here based on the Rick Steves' recommendation. It is in a convenient charming Paris neighborhood. Like other reviews, the rooms are small and the staff is aloof. They were helpful when I asked them direct questions but they were not outgoing. We had room 12 which was small and faced an interior courtyard but was blissfully quiet.

  • Liked — Location and Paris charm
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

I agree that for the price this hotel is perfectly adequate. It is clean, bathrooms modern, very well sound and light proofed and the location is safe and somewhat charming. I must admit, though, that the lack of friendliness in this case did bother me more than usual. It sort of colored our experience since we didn't feel fully welcomed. I don't want or expect hotel workers to fawn over or be overly friendly, but simple courtesy goes a long way. Afterall, this is their business, which is to serve their clients. A few more smiles or bon jours are definitely in order. Also, the rooms seem to vary greatly. We spent one night on Nov. 8, 2006 and then 2 more nights on Nov. 16 and 17 and paid the same price 84 euros for all 3 nights.. The first night we had room 21 with a streetside view which was wonderful. It was roomy enough too. The last 2 nights we were in room 12 facing the dumpy little courtyard area, and the room was miniscule. We had to put one of our 2 suitcases under the table. Even the bathroom was smaller. It was very disappointing after having such a nice room the first night. Would I stay here again? Probably not, unless Hotel Leveque on Rue Cler and Hotel Jeanne D'Arc in the Marais are booked.

  • Liked — Price, location of hotel, and cleanliness
  • Disliked — affect of daytime front desk staff (owners) and size and location of our second room
  • Tips/Secrets — request room overlooking rue Champ de Mars
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tandem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

This is a very good value, well decorated hotel in a really quaint area of Paris. The rooms are pretty small but well decorated and comfortable. Please just be aware that the owner is not very friendly, verging on rude. I would seriously consider not going back to this hotel for that reason alone but you have to balance this against the fact that it is very reasonably priced and in a lovely area. But having said that why should I give my money to someone so unhelpful and grumpy. What a shame, why doesn't he sell it to someone nice and then the place would be perfect.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank MAK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

Even in cold, snowy February, this was the perfect location for us! We met some friends from Spain here for 4 days, and we both loved the hotel-- very easy to get to from the Metro, and extremely reasonable in price!

The rooms were beautiful and very clean-- for European standards they were larger than average, and the bathrooms were modern and very clean.

In February, we used the little ledge outside our window to keep our snacks cold-- worked perfectly!!!!

The staff was welcoming and helpful and spoke English. Even has a TINY elevator (only one person with luggage)-- but very helpful to move luggage about!

But the neighborhood is the best part-- not touristy, lots of shops and cafes-- so much fun to wander about.

I would definitely stay here again for our next trip to Paris!

Liked best: the room iself (Parisian decor, nice bathroom) and the neighborhood)
Liked least: no internet and no breakfast (though in Paris, not really a hardship!)

  • Liked — location/neighborhood
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jonesephus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#55 of 1,800 in Paris
482 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#144 of 1,800 in Paris
986 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#165 of 1,800 in Paris
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#150 of 1,800 in Paris
1,926 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#721 of 1,800 in Paris
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Property: Hotel du Champ de Mars
Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Family Hotel in Paris
#360 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing