We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.....location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #288 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay.....location, location, location”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Our third trip to Paris, we stayed here in the Rue Cler area and really enjoyed the great location, steps from the Rue Cler restaurants, close to the Parc de Champ du Mars and the Ecole Militaire Metro stop. Room was very nicely decorated and well kept. Had the breakfast downstairs on one morning and it was good. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. We stayed another night in Paris at the end of our trip (due to flight delays) in Montparnasse at a business hotel put up by the airline and the room would have been twice the price, not as nice and a much worse location than the Hotel Champ de Mars by comparison.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VanTheMan1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    333
    67
    27
    26
See reviews for
139
550
73
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked this hotel 4 months prior to arriving in Paris in May 2013, and received a booking confirmation via email. The day before I was due to arrive in Paris I received an email from the hotel staff Francoise and Stephane saying that they were sorry about the late notice, but now they are doing renovations in the rooms which are not completed in time for my arrival, and it will not be possible to stay there. They said they had instead found me a room with 'great difficulty' at a different hotel in the area.

I contacted Francoise and Stephane by email immediately upon receiving this, and expressed my dissatisfaction with this arrangement. I accused them of cancelling my booking under false pretences, and that it sounded like they had overbooked the hotel and that it had nothing to do with "renovations". I then received another email that denied that the hotel was overbooked, and renovations were the reason for the late cancellation.

I then managed to find a lovely hotel in the same area, (thank goodness for the internet) The Valadon Colors, literally on the same street! Can recommend this place highly. The next day I went into the reception of the Hotel du Champ de Mars, and asked the question to the woman behind the desk "Have you been recently renovating this hotel or are you currently undergoing renovations?" The woman replied with a laugh and "oh non".

Later that day I then sent an email saying that I has asked IN PERSON at the hotel reception if any renovations were being undertaken at the hotel, and got the answer that there wasn't. I also requested a written apology from Francoise and Stephane. To this day i have not had a response, Quelle Surprise!!

Therefore I believe they had been deceptive and fraudulent with their reason for cancelling my booking. This shows a complete lack of professionalism in the way this was handled.

Therefore if you have booked and THINK you are staying here, have another hotel booking ready just in case!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank PerthMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wonderful little hotel in the 7th. Perfect for 2 women friends travelling together. We felt very safe and comfortable in this location. The front desk staff were friendly enough and very helpful, especially with metro routes. Loved that we could walk right out of the hotel and find wonderful bakeries, cafes, chocolate shops all within a very short walking distance. The rooms are very small and have no AC but we didn't need in late September. Metro & Eiffel Tower very close by as well. We did arrive early, before check in by about 3 hours, but we left our bags in the lobby & were able to check in a little earlier than 1pm. Plan on returning to Paris and will definitely pick this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lov32Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have never wrote a negative review, but I felt very inclined to do so just so other traveler's are informed. We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and based on the great reviews, we decided to stay here. From the moment we arrived, we were VERY disappointed with the hotel. First, we arrived early and as we entered the hotel with several bags (we had been in Italy for 3 week) we were offered no assistance. The older gentleman at the front desk did not even acknowledge us. He appeared to be on a personal telephone call. After waiting five mintutes, he hung up and still didn't look up at us until I asked if we could check in. He was very rude and said it was too early to check in and we could leave our bags in front of the check in desk and return after 1pm. We secured our bags and I then asked for a nearby restaurant recommendations. He seemed very annoyed by me asking and pointed to the cafe next door. The cafe next door was a tourist trap. The prices were ridiculously high and the wait staff rude, obviously not a good recommendation. When we came back to check in, we were given room #5 (Rose room) which is located on the ground floor next to the lobby. I'm sure this is THE worst location for a room in the entire hotel. You could hear all the lobby traffic and the one window in the room faces a courtyard that is the doorway to another room, which in the end equals no privacy. We were not happy to say the least. In addition, there is no air conditioning (which we didn't think to ask) and it is very hot in the room. My husband went and asked about the air and requested another room and was rudely told it was September and NO ONE needa air conditioning in September and advised to open the window. In regards to getting another room, he asked that we take that one or suggested we leave. The man then said you have to book months in advance to get a better room. My husband calmly informed him we had book 8 months in advance. The man dismissed him and said you have to book far in advance of that. He again said we could leave and him and my husband (being frustrated and tired of being treated like a jerk) proceeded to shout at each other for a few minutes. Obviously, not very good customer service. In addition, as others have said, the rooms are very small and wear is showing on the decor (i.e. wall paper is peeling off in areas, pillows and furniture look worn). One positive is that the bed was very comfortable and the night staff are very nice (as is the female who works during the day who comes with the dog, possibly the owner?). Perhaps other rooms are better and our experience would have been different, but as they say...one bad apple spoils the whole bunch and someone yellling at you for asking a simple question is unacceptable. We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: In advance, request a room NOT on the ground floor (room 5 is the worst).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brown-I-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice and love being near Rue Cler. The rooms are very small but clean. We especially like the rooms located on the bottom floor on the atrium. They do charge extra for breakfast so we have never tried it; the little restaurants next door offer great morning options with people watching opportunities. This hotel would be a five in our books if the staff was a little more friendly and helpful. There was nothing substantially wrong but they also don't go out of their way to make it special. One note - be careful when ordering a taxi. They work with a car service that offers a flat fee and they do try to push that service even when you've stated clearly that you only want a cab. We have run into this issue at more than one hotel in France so it could be a common issue versus something specific to this location. Overall, we would stay here again because of the price, cleanliness, and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor on the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NutAndHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Decorated beautifully the rooms were comfy and a good size. Being close to Rue Cler you had a choice of restaurants, foods and fruit each day. 2supermarkets at doorstep. Close to Eiffel Tower and metro and a 15min walk to Arc de Triumph. Staff and owners were delightful and helpful. In summer it could be very warm in rooms. Would like tea/coffee making available as coffee was expensive in this area (we enjoy 4cups per day and the cups are quite small). Overall we loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is our eighth stay at this hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, very we'll ruin by Francoise and Stephan well located and well priced. Breakfast is a better than average continental and enough to set you up for the day. The locale cannot be bettered if you want to get a "local flavour" in your trip to Paris

Room Tip: Bigger rooms face the street it get street noise if you leave the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#63 of 1,802 in Paris
451 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#102 of 1,802 in Paris
1,894 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#146 of 1,802 in Paris
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
1,386 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#756 of 1,802 in Paris
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Property: Hotel du Champ de Mars
Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Family Hotel in Paris
#360 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing