We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location- Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #322 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is so good to hear from current reviews that our favorite place to stay in Paris seems not to have changed. We stayed here about 8 years ago and just LOVED it and are planning another trip next Spring. You won't go wrong with this little hotel! Yes, the rates have doubled since our last stay, but so have everyone else's and for the charm of this well appointed place you would be hard pressed to find a better value. The location is a real plus if you like to stroll the food markets on Rue Clare, easily catch public transport or, of course, visit the Eiffel Tower.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barnieUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July 2013.
Positives:
-Great location. We had a view of the Eiffel tower from our room and we were able to walk to the Eiffel tower and picnic in the nearby park. The hotel is a short walk to the metro and a 20-30 min walk to the Seine river. There are lots of food choices. We ate at restaurants, picnicked in the Eiffel park, bought food from one of the Gourmet groceries and ate in our room while looking at the Eiffel tower and street below.
-Free WiFi.
-Elevator.
-Clean, safe hotel with 24-hr lobby staff.
-There is a safe in the room.
-Quiet room with amazing windows that kept the outside noise out when we wanted to sleep.

Worth noting: you have to leave and collect your room key at the front desk when you exit and enter the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with a partial view of the Eiffel tower and square below and really enjoyed it. Once t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank premile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here about 2 weeks ago and could not make our stay in Paris any better. If you are looking for a super clean, comfortable, very well located and Paris feeling hotel then this is the place to stay. The rooms are not huge but not small either and they have everything you need except AC, but even when we were there it was the hottest day of the month, with the windows open and the fan on, it did not feel hot inside the room. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Eiffel Tower and if you have the energy you can literraly walk all the way to Notredame and would not even feel it with everything you have to see. At night there are around 20 cafes where you can sit down and eat or have a glass of wine or beer with mostly local Parisians. The owners are very nice and if you get a chance to talk to them you can actually get good recommendations of where to go and where to eat. We did not have breakfast there since there is a great bakery in the corner where they had the best baguettes for around 4 Euros and there are 2 little supermarkets in the same street where you can buy water, wine, beer or whatever you feel like it without overspending. I will come definitely come back here if I ever have the chance to come back to Paris, and I strongly recommend this hotel for mostly couples since it is small and I have a feeling kids might need a bigger hotel (it all depends on how you have your kids educated), plus at 120 euros a night you can not beat that at all. Thank you Francoise and Stephane for being such great hosts and Congratulations on your beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinchivida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our group of four stayed for two nights early August. The hotel was really cute, and in a great location. Close to the station, cafes, supermarkets, bakeries. We had two rooms on the 3rd floor - one facing the street which was a little noisier at night with the cafes downstairs, I didn't mind it, died down after midnight and plus we were jetlagged and slept through :). The other room was at the back of the building and was fine. The rooms were a little hot and had no air conditioning, but I didn't find it unbearable.

I had chosen this place based on Trip Advisor ratings and was not disappointed. We were able to walk to Eiffel Tower in less than five minutes, as well as to Notre Dame and Sacre Coeur (that was a huge day). There were also lots of Velib bicycles located near the hotel, and spent a morning cycling through Paris.

For the price and location, I thought it was excellent. Owners responded quickly to my emails while I was organizing a booking. On arrival I found them to be efficient, not overly friendly or interested but nice enough. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules_m27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice little boutique hotel. We had a little room in the corner with its own little courtyard and loved it. Not a 5* resort of course, but its really nice. The rooms are small, but very clean and functional. We came here in the winter, rooms were warm and comfortable. Don't have any complaints. Just expect any room here in Paris to be small and you wont be too surprised.

Owners were nice. Not super outgoing, but friendly enough. Good communication and correspondence by email.

The area around the hotel is great. Really great spot. Rue Cler is a nice little street you can stroll along back and forth... and back and forth... and then back and forth again. Its really nice and the stereotypical French alley street. Lots of little restaurants and shops all around you.

Plus you're right next to the Eiffel tower. About a 5 minute walk. You cant get much closer than that. And the subway station is right on the other block too. Very easy to get around the city.

We loved Paris. Surprised how much we loved it actually. The people, the food, the scenery, the culture, the wine... etc..

This is a good hotel and good value for your money. Paris is expensive, but this a decent place to stay while you explore the city for a few days, without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptainFancyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stay there for 4 days in the hottest days Paris has had. No air conditioning in this hotel so the nights were a little tough. They did have a portable fan in the room. That said the beds are comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Rooms are very small but thats Europe. We were coming off of a long cruise and had 5 suitcases. We opened one at a time and made do. They do a beautiful continental breakfast for 9 Euros,worth it. Our room was on the first floor with a window open to the street. Enjoy the bustle but take earplugs for later that night. It is in a prime location. Just steps from Rue Cler (market place). Bakeries,wine and cheese stores and outside cafes with good food but even better to people watch. The bus stop to th Louvre is two street down on St Dominque Ave. (#69) and the Eiffel Tower is two streets down and to the right. That is also where you can get the RER C underground to Chateau Versaille or get on the Hop-on Hop off bus. If you go one street down to Ave Bisquiet turn right go two two streets turn left,right on Exposition st #13 you will find Paris web services where you can get discount tickets to the museums Versaille,train or transfers to he airports. I have also done reviews on these. Use them! I tell you all this because unless you speak French I did not find the staff at the hotel to willing to help except for the owner (wife). For the money this hotel is good. The reason for ther very good is the location,cleanliness and price.

Room Tip: You can request but good luck. There is a very small lift suitable for two suitcases or 1 person and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaLaHabraHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 5 night stay at the Hotel du Champ de Mars. I booked it based on reviews on here and we were not let down. We had room 31 which is on the third floor and faces onto the front street. The room was small but had everything we needed. Everything was lovely and clean and very well kept. This hotel is in a great location and there are plenty of bars and restaurants very close by. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Eiffel Tower and we had a view of the top of it from our room. It was very hot in Paris during our stay and due to the age of the building, this hotel has no air con. There was a fan in the room which we used but we also had to leave the windows open at night time. The noise from the street below (with the restaurants and bars) disturbed my sleep a little but only because I'm a very light sleeper, my husband wasn't disturbed by this at all so I really can't falt the hotel for this. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as we picked up food most mornings at the local bakery which worked out to be very cost effective. I would definitely return to this hotel, but would try to avoid a Parisian heat wave if at all possible!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank rach-cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Beaugency
Hotel Beaugency
#847 of 1,809 in Paris
424 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#53 of 1,809 in Paris
564 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#840 of 1,809 in Paris
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#144 of 1,809 in Paris
2,082 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#200 of 1,809 in Paris
1,010 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#28 of 1,809 in Paris
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#359 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $153 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing