We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #269 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Location and Value”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The little hotel on Rue du Champ de Mars lived up to its top billing from Rick Steves and TripAdvisor. Small but pleasant room. Perfect location just blocks from Eiffel Tower, right on Rue Cler, that has everything you need in the way of bistros and food shops. Convenient to Ecole Militaire Metro (1.5 blocks) or #69 bus line that runs along the Seine to Louvre, old city, etc. (4 blocks). A sense of being in a Paris neighborhood. At 120 Euros, it is among the better priced hotels. A good choice for people who want to spend their time out and about seeing Paris, not back at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had the little first-floor room with a tiny court yard. Pleasant, but no view. We understand th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robinsonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    331
    67
    27
    26
See reviews for
138
545
73
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at this lovely place. It is about a 10 min stroll to the Eiffel Tower, close to the metro and a couple of doors from the cafe's on the Rue Cler. I know some rooms are small but we had room 11 and it was fantastic, we had space and the bathroom adequate even had a small bath.
The staff where friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived here with a reservation, having stayed here once before. We were just finishing a 6 week cycle trip and were keen to spend some down time. Unfortunately we were met with a steadfast, rude refusal to store our bikes. They were in clean plastic bags all ready for shipment with the pedals removed etc. No problem...NO WAY! Even though it was pouring rain the "owner" stuck to her guns and threw us out. Upon reflection, there is nothing on their website which states "no bikes". A nearby hotel, the Grand Levesque, makes such a notation so all are forewarned. Over the course of our trip we had never been refused storage for our bikes, even in 4 star hotels.

The bike issue aside, this is not a hotel that I would recommend. The rooms are very small, in fact if you want to unpack your suitcase you have to use the bed as there is no space in the room to open it up.Two people in one of these rooms is very, very cramped. Furthermore, to the best of my knowledge, there is no elevator, no breakfast room, no bar, no cafe, in fact there is nothing more than a tiny cramped room.

How this hotel got a 3 start rating is beyond me. We have stayed in hostals, 1 star and 2 star hotels that were far better equipped.

But the biggest negative with this hotel is the rude, arrogant, stuck up attitude of the "owner". Even after we had left she continued with a tirade of abuse and insults.

So, if you want to stay in a small, cramped, ill-equipped, over rated hotel with a very rude owner then this is the place for you. If not, there are many more hotels that are much better equipped and where you will be welcomed with open arms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Miyata1000LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel in a great location, a 10 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower amongst other places. Pretty room very clean (every day), and nice big towels, also soft bed linens (we had room 41) which we could see the Eiffel tower from our window. Enjoyed several cafes that are very close to the Hotel. We loved going to the cafe's eating outside and watching the parents and children start their day. Also, a very quick walk to the Metro, which was very easy to navigate.The Hotel staff was amazing, suggesting a wonderful place for dinner "Leo the Lion", they even made reservations for us. A true French dinning experience. I hope to go back to Paris one day, and would stay at the Hotel du Champ de Mars in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel du Champ de Mars for 8 nights. The Eiffel Tower is just a 10 min. walk I have waited all my 61 years to see her.The Hotel is close to the Metro buy tickets,Cafe du Marche,fruit & vegetable markets yes the pastries. Wonderful,wonderful pastries. Walk,stop have coffee & a sweet and watch Paris life.I LOVE PARIS! So much to see and it very easy to get to from the Hotel anywhere. Buy a MUSEUM PASS you will save a lot of time NOT waiting in lines.The Musee D'Orsay,Rodin Museum,War Museum has Napoleons Tomb, 283 stairs up Arc du Triomphe but worth it, Montmartre, Pere-Lachaise Cemetary.The Eiffel Tower go early pass doesn't cover going up,Notre Damn and St. Chapelle. When you are tired head back to the hotel and slip into a warm bath crawl into nice bed, sleep well and repeat tomorrow. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the Hotel on the higher floors may be able to see the Eiffel Tower from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barnell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions during our trip. The place is charming! The room was small but we expected this. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. It is in a fantastic spot, around the corner from Rue Cler where there are lots of cafes/bars, restaurants and all sorts of food providores to choose from. The boulangeries are amazing. And the area is a respite from the tourist hordes of other areas of Paris. We found the staff to be very helpful, ordering taxis for us, taking the time to give us directions and suggestions. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Owners / Innkeepers Stephane & Francois are the BEST! So helpful, good directions, and very Friendly.

We have stayed in 2001 & 2012 and will return again next year.

Thank you for creating a charming and beautiful historic Boutique Hotel in the Rue Cler District of Paris.

Room are exceptional! Spotlessly Clean, Beautifully Decorated, Fresh & New. We could see the Eiffel Tower from our room.

Bathrooms are Sparkling, Fresh, White and Spotless. Great Towels and toiletries.

Breakfast was hearty and delicous and coffee was Great!

Room Tip: Street side 4th or 5th floors over look street and have view of Eiffel Tower. Book several months i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanDiegoThumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#147 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#70 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#165 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#787 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Property: Hotel du Champ de Mars
Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Family Hotel in Paris
#360 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing