We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ... Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #363 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I had a very positive experience staying at the Hotel du Champs de Mars this April 2013 and would happily stay there again. It is wonderfully located less than a minute from the pedestrian friendly Rue Cler with its typically French shops and cafes (great neighborhood), a 10-minute walk to the Eiffel Tower, and less than a 5-minute walk to the Ecole Militaire metro station. We quickly found out that with one or two transfers we could go anywhere in the city using the subway. We spent 16 days in Paris and the hotel was a terrific base for our daily excursions. We found the room rates reasonable.

It is a boutique hotel with only 22 or so rooms. Our room on the 4th floor had a view of the top quarter of the Eiffel Tower peeking over the building next to us. At night it was lit up and at the top of each hour it glittered for the 5-minute light show. Sure it was only the tip but it was ours right outside our window. Pretty neat. The room was very clean and adequate. We enjoyed our breakfasts at the local cafes within a minute of the hotel. We found the Café du Marche the best one for people (and dog and baby) watching in the morning.

We were very pleased with the customer service. The co-owner was gracious and very helpful. His command of English was excellent. He and the staff helped us receive emails and faxes and faxed back legal documents we needed to sign for the selling of our home. Each person who sat at the reception desk spoke very good English and they were happy to assist us with making reservations, arranging for taxis, and other requests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotty and Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This charming boutique style hotel was just what we were looking for on our first visit to Paris. Location was excellent, very close to the Eiffel Tower and the Seine for the batobus tours. Rue Cler was literally just out the front door with plenty of restaurants and shops to browse. We walked and explored Paris easily from the hotel.
Our room was lovely with a view of the Top of the Tower, a decent size bathroom with a bathtub and charming French door style windows. We were not expecting a large room so were quite satisfied with the size. We booked on line with no issues ,however I did call to confirm the week before we left. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as the cafe creme and pastries offered on Rue Cler just looked to good! ( and tasted good too ). Staff were fine giving us very good restaurant recommendations and answering all questions we had.
We were in Paris the weekend before Easter in March and it was very busy. What I liked most about staying here was that we were able to escape the crowds and wander around a local neighbourhood where people lined up at the local butcher shop or shopped for fresh fruit and flowers in one of the shops as their end of day routine.
Our stay here made our trip to Paris perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My room and the service at Hotel du Champ de Mar was beyond my expectations. My room (#51) had a great view of the top of the Eiffel Tower and was perfectly clean and beautifully decorated. If I'd been with someone, this particular room would have been very tight but for one it was actually spacious with a great double bed. The location can't be beat - I started and ended the day in the park at the base of the tower with dogs, children, soccer balls and strollers. The bakeries on the street are amazing and the metro (Ecole Militaire) is very close.

Here is the sense of humour part. I have seen comments about abrupt staff or rude behavior. The wonderful lady who was there during the daytime was very gracious. A couple of the other male staff were a little abrupt but I do think it could be a translation issue - both in the Parisian approach to customer communication and the language. The other could be fatigue with the vast number of goofy questions tourists like me ask. There is NO way that a couple of comments could ever overbalance the excellence of the facility and it's value pricing.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely, clean hotel with a charming and helpful staff. Excellent location, just a block from the Champ de Mars metro station and a few steps from the Rue Cler. There is a small lift, which is a big plus. The rooms are small, but clean and well-appointed. They serve a nice breakfast and there is even a small lending library with a nice selection of books. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinglight33076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and was quite reasonably priced. The room was small but clean and decorated nicely with all the needed amenities. My room did not have air conditioning but did not need it. I highly recommend this hotel and neighborhood for "soaking in" the ambiance of Paris! The surrounding neighborhood is great for shops and restaurants and you can see the Eiffel Tower lit up at night in a comfortable six minute walk away.

Room Tip: Backside of hotel quieter but street in front not busy. No A/C but not needed in May.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cairoteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a 5th floor room. We made a reservation by e-mail and everything was ok at the arrival. GOOD VIEW TO THE EIFFEL TOWER AND TO THE SREET. The room was clean, comfortable.all the facilities are there despite being small. The bed was very confortable. Furniture, décor and bathroom were all new and clean. The hallway was narrow and the lift small but enough for the purpose and the few time spent on theme. Very good location within walking distance of many of the great sights of Paris, and the great value for money breakfasts and room rates. The Ecole Militaire metro station and several bus stops were very close. Great location near the Eiffel Tower and just off Rue Cler. Paris is great, so very easy to get around by metro or bus. The street was simple awsome. Cafes, grocery stores and just about any thing else is right outside the door, including fromagerie, patisserie, chocolaterie.and so on....Probably a few places like this.. great value like anywhere else in Paris. will return for sure

Room Tip: room number 56 has great view to the eiffel tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuno_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's is my second time staying at this lovely little boutique hotel and am happy to report it is still just as good as the first time I stayed. First visit was 2 years ago. Very clean and well kept rooms ( I happened to be assigned the exact room I stayed in the first visit) and it looked as though time had never passed. Still very clean and in great shape. Nice little window that opened up into the central courtyard. Very quiet at night in this room. Nice staff at front desk, yes, Stephan is a bit reserved and not overly warm, but Francoise his wife is lovely, apologizing for not remembering us ( how could she after 2 years and so many guests!). The rooms are quaint and small, yes, but for Paris you still cannot beat the price. They still use old style keys so you must leave your key at the desk when going out for the day or evening so it doesn't get lost ( impossible to replace). I loved it, that way you never have to worry about loosing your room key!
The location of this lovely boutique in the 7th district cannot be beat, Rue Cler is a fantastic market street with lots of restaurants and bistros and fruit/veg markets. Great to sit at an outdoor table and people watch.
Close to Ecole Militaire metro station, and about a 10-15 min walk to Eiffel Tower. Fantastic restaurants on Rue Exposition nearby, ask at the desk for restaurant recommendations and they are happy to call and make reservations for you.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank KBspaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#168 of 1,804 in Paris
1,411 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#53 of 1,804 in Paris
531 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#135 of 1,804 in Paris
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#28 of 1,804 in Paris
1,473 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#866 of 1,804 in Paris
393 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#176 of 1,804 in Paris
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#359 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $141 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing