We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Nearby Hotels
$163
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$218
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$191
$148
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$341
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fred Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
$133
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$403
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$423
$287
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
$372
$286
Le Six
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$291
$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$189
$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveler rating
625
356
75
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
356
75
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrue clereiffel towerecole militairegreat locationrick stevesaround the cornerrooms are smallcharming hotelcheese shopmetro stopthere is no air conditioningrodin museumairport shuttlebaguettetiny elevatoreiffel tourgreat area
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a first floor room. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed with all the facilities that we required despite being small. The hallway was narrow and the lift small but these were more than compensated for by the friendly, helpful owners and their staff, the excellent location within walking distance of many of the great sights of Paris, and the great value for money breakfasts and room rates. The Ecole Militaire metro station and several bus stops were very close and the owners were always ready to help us decide the best way to get somewhere, for example when we wanted to go to Giverny-an easy trip by train and bus! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great location near the Eiffel Tower and just off Rue Cler. The rooms and elevator were small but the beds, furniture, décor and bathroom were all new and clean. We skipped the €9 breakfast for croissants on the street. It is one plus block away from the Metro Ecole Militaire so very easy to get around Paris.. Cafes, grocery stores and just about any thing else is right outside the door including a Nicholas store for ice. We had room 45 and enjoyed being on the street to watch the action, we could also see the top of the Eiffel Tower from our window. Friendly people, I do not think you will get better value anywhere else in Paris. We made a reservation by e-mail. My only complaint here is that they are slow in communicating back by e-mail. Easy walk to Au Petit Sud Ouest for a great dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank braidmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the 1st floor room w/ private patio. Small room but very comfortable and clean. Excellent location close to Metro and Eifffel Tower. Highly recommended hotel, especially if on a budget!

Room Tip: Very quiet in our 1st floor room with private patio!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a0199997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had tried to get reservations at this hotel several times over the years and finally managed to get reservations for a five day stay in December.

The Rue Cler area was a bit of a disappointment. We have been to Paris many times and thought this neighborhood did not compare well with the Marais or the St. Germaine-des-Pres or even the Grands Boulevards areas. The restaurants near the hotel are pricey and touristy. We did have some fabulous meals, but at very high prices...like fifty or sixty euros per person.

The nearby attractions are the Eiffel Tower and Invalides, both of which are definitely places that are on the top of most people's wish list, but it would not be necessary to stay in the Rue Cler in order to visit them. Everything else one would want to visit, like the Louvre, the Musee D'Orsay, Notre Dame, Montmartre takes a metro trip and the nearest metro stop is not right outside this hotel.

The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was very pretty and convenient with a good-sized closet, safe and all the amenities expected at this price.

We were extremely disappointed in the staff. My husband was nursing a bad knee throughout our trip and for six weeks at every single hotel or gite it was easy to get a bag of ice at night so he could elevate his leg and treat the soreness. Not at the Hotel Champs de Mars! The first night, the owner did send up a bowl of ice in the elevator when we requested it. We made it clear we would need ice every night. After the first night, the staff could not be bothered. One fellow finally dragged himself off his seat to look in the kitchen for the ice. He came back to report there were only three ice cubes and just shrugged when we asked if he could make more ice. So, no ice for the rest of our stay.

Checking out was one of the worst travel nightmares we have ever experienced in France. No, make that the worst. We came downstairs and immediately, Madame grabbed my arm and asked me to write a good review for her on TA. I was nonplussed, but said I would certainly mention how nice the room was.

Then we descended into the twilight zone. Madame was unable to properly run our credit card to process our final payment. We have used this same card for nine trips to Europe over the years, in tiny bed and breakfasts in the countryside and big hotels...with no problems. She just kept saying over and over again, "Your card is no good! No good!" She finally let us use the hotel phone, located in a tiny closet off the lobby to call our bank. Our bank representative reported that not only did we have a huge amount of available credit, but that there had been no attempt to charge our card by this hotel. I reported this to Madame. She called her bank again and had a FORTY-FIVE minute conversation with her bank only to report that, "No, your card is no good! No credit available!" Back I went to call our bank. Once again, there had been no attempt to charge our card. Finally after almost two hours, my husband hustled to the nearest ATM, drew out our daily maximum from both our travel accounts and we paid the bill in cash.

To say we were livid is a huge understatement. Madame and her repeated incorrrect attempts to charge our card, succeeded in locking it up for twenty-four hours. That plus the fact that we now had very little cash, meant we had a very cheap dinner that night.

What really upset us was that she obviously did not have a clue as to how to charge an American card, but that she also would not listen to our suggestions as to how to find out how to do it!

So, despite the nice decor and comfortable bed, this is one hotel we will never stay in again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This intimate hotel is located next to Rue Cler and a perfect location to see the major sites in Paris and locate nice cafes with reasonable prices. We could easily step out next door and find a new place each night to enjoy a good meal with wine as well as people watch and shop. We stayed for 5 nights in a quaint, comfortable, and lovely decorated room. The room was well priced for Paris. The owners helped us sort out buses and metro stops which was confusing for us at first.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews