We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area - nice hotel - not too expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #308 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a great little hotel in a beautiful area. Loads of nice bars and cafes close by. One can walk to the eiffel tower and stroll about paris from this location.Book early to avoic disappointment as the hotel can be busy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anthony74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love this hotel--so much that we've stayed there twice--once in June and once in December! Both times we enjoyed their amazing breakfast. We were served in a stoned-wall room that is unique. You know you are in a special hotel with French wallpaper, art, and furniture. The location is perfect. We could walk to the Eiffel Tower. Located on the Rue Cler, you can enjoy the community feel every day, after a heavy day of sightseeing. We loved to go out and buy items from shops on the street for lunch and dinner and have a "picnic" in our room in the winter, or on the grounds near the Eiffel in the summer. There are many cafes and restaurants and shops to enjoy too. The hotel is small, but we don't consider that a negative in Europe. The hosts are helpful and kind. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Paris.

Room Tip: A little more noise on rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel well placed for the rue cler market and the Eiffel Tower amongst other places. Pretty rooms with nice bed linen (we had room 25) and a great value breakfast. If you only want a drink and a croissant then maybe go somewhere else, but here you get cake, freshly squeezed OJ, yoghurt, fruit, tartines and croissant plus your drink. Really liked the location and there are different shops to the foodie ones on Rue cler if you continue down to rue saint dominique. Enjoyed the cafes, best for hot chocolate cafe central but not cheap. Good food at Roussillion cafe but best food ever at Le Florimond. Clean and warm hotel, the only reason I didn't give it 5 was the maids attitude and we weren't actually very demanding. Met the cute dog on the last day. Would recommend this hotel. Loved glimpsing the Eiffel Tower above the streets every so often. They do a little light show about 7pm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bagcollector_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first time in Paris and we spent some time researching a variety of hotels on Trip Advisor and in other locations. After reading good reviews and see the location of Hotel du Champ de Mars we decided to go with this hotel. We weren't disappointed! We confirmed our booking via their email address and had no issues on arrival. The room was nice and spacious compared to some of the other rooms we have seen in Paris. It is smaller than some might be used when compared to the UK but this is Paris and unless you pay much more I think you would struggle to get a room as big as this for the price. There was ample room for the two of us, and our hand luggage. There was a table with two chairs in the room, a double bed, TV, closet and electronic safe. It was easily big enough to walk around without having to squeeze which again is not something I can say for a lot of other hotels I have seen in Paris reviews at this price and more! The walls are quite thin and it is possible to sometimes hear the room next door. This was not a problem apart from the first night when our neighbours left their TV on quite loudly into the early hours of the morning. We did not complain, only I was affected as I am a light sleeper, so cannot really fault the hotel for this. It was not an issue the following nights. The bed was nice and firm and the room was also lovely and warm with additional covers if required.

Location wise it could not be better. We could see the top of the Eiffel Tower from our room, above the other buildings, and it was only a ten minute walk away. It was fantastic getting back to the hotel each evening having to walk under/past the Eiffel tower and really added to our experience. Rue de Clare which runs off the Rue de Mars has a number of restaurants, bakeries and supermarkets/corner shops. A short walk away on Rue du L'exposition is a great place to eat called La Billbaude which is highly recommended by reviewers on here and didn't disappoint.

It is close to the metro to access other parts of Paris and obviously as it is so close to the Eiffel tower it is an ideal location if you wish to use the Tourist busses. These do seem a bit excessive in price however and we managed to travel using the metro, the batobus boat and also foot. The batobus is a great way to get along the river. It stops directly under the Eiffel Tower and allows you to access a variety of sites. It takes a bit longer than using the metros but allows up and down travel along the river which is handy as a large majority of the sites are located close to the river. It also allows for some great views from the water so is worth doing for one day at least.

We did not see much of hosts Françoise Stéphane and Nejib, as we spent so much time sightseeing, but when we did cross paths they were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed for 4 nights and would definitely stay there again. Being so close to one of the worlds iconic sites was fantastic but the combination of room, immediate location and hosts made this even better. Merci!

Room Tip: Room 41 has a view of the top of the Eiffel tower from its window. (we didn't request room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank llogostevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Paris is a city of expensive hotels and the majority of them are completely over priced - offering small , dark badly decorated rooms that smell with tiny bathrooms. I happened across Hotel du Champ de Mars on tripadvisor and read the reviews. Booking : via email. Admittedly I would have felt more secure using a bookingsite (https) instead of emailing my credit card details. Location: 250m from metro ecole militare. Just off Rue Cler ( primarily pedestrian market street) the hotel's location is the highlight. Just on the door step you have a variety of restuarants/bistro (french, chinese, japanese, american), backery, chocolaterie, patisserie,fromagerie, traitures (butchers who also sell ready made food and roast chicken), three large fruit/veg shops, four small supermarches and a few other boutiques. Walk down Rue Saint Dominique - one direction takes you to the Eiffel Tower within 15mins - the other direction takes you pass some fabulous patisseries and boutiques to the INvalides (give yourself a good 30-40mins). Hotel Room: charming, clean, modern bathroom, quiet. I was in room 34 (double). It was decorated nicely (two narrow single beds, small table and two chairs) and very well looked after. The room is very parisian - small. I am not sure how it would work if both people had big suitcases or a lot of luggage.The sound insulation is not terrific but not bothersome. Bed was very comfortable. I can not fault the room at all especially for the price.
Overall: fantastic hotel for singles, couples, girls weekend, business etc. Not sure how it would work if travelling with small children where you need either an extra bed or a cot.

Room Tip: room 34 (double) over looked a courtyard - nicely decorated in yellow hues, bathroom modern. Perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank introvertedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in February, and it worked out very well for us: close to the Metro, walking distance to attractions like the Eiffel Tour and Musee d"Orsay, plenty of restaurants nearby. Most important, the room (2nd floor) was very quiet and the bed very comfortable - we really slept well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BobBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have visited Paris many times, have paid on occasion over €300 per night and have never felt truly satisfied with our choices. At €120 per night what you see is what you get. Compact and bijou, cleanliness, a fabulous location at 999 metres from the Eiffel Tour, the Metro about 400 metres max, great restaurants in the streets right outside the hotel door, and help if needed. Don't expect overly friendly and interest in your every move around Paris but do expect value for money in a location that quite frankly you can't rival unless you can afford to spend at least 5 times that per night. The lady who owns the hotel also was very helpful the night we were going to the Opera. There was a demonstration in town and when we asked her to book us a taxi she advised us to take the metro. Insider knowledge is priceless!

Room Tip: We were in Room 15.....small but bright compared to some of the others i believe and overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Beaugency
Hotel Beaugency
#846 of 1,809 in Paris
424 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#53 of 1,809 in Paris
564 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#841 of 1,809 in Paris
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#145 of 1,809 in Paris
2,083 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#196 of 1,809 in Paris
1,010 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#28 of 1,809 in Paris
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#359 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $152 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing