We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quaint boutique hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Champ de Mars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #235 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quaint boutique hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here three nights during a week long trip to Paris. The location is excellent, being just a short walk away from the metro station Ecole Militaire. Around the corner you will find rue Cler, a street limited to foot traffic with its numerous shops and cafes. Our room was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed. We found the breakfast at the hotel to be adequate, with a nice selection of pastries, some yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a pot of coffee that was good for two cups, to be a good value compared to what you can get in the surrounding cafes. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. A convenient location no doubt, with an excellent shuttle service to CDG.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid steps and the elevator, room 5 is a good choice. Even though it is close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank levh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    308
    65
    26
    26
See reviews for
129
520
69
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel. The first night I got in late and the radiator heat wasn't working. When I called downstairs the owner was very dismissive. Told me to turn it up. When I told him it wasn't doing anything he said "oh" and that was it. I'm now on night 3 of no heat. Yesterday when I got back after being out in bone chilling rain and cold I got to my room and nothing. I called and they said the next day. This afternoon I got back and same story. It is freezing and I have to sleep in a sweatshirt under 4 blankets!

I just called and said I wanted a discount on the room and was told the owner would be in tomorrow at 7am. They called back 5 minutes later and said the owner was on holiday and wouldn't be in so would move me. As I was packing they called yet again and said the repairman will be here in 10 minutes. It's 5pm and I need to rest before going out tonight but now have to wait for this. Very irritating.

Helpful?
7 Thank boisetravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arriving in Paris with a tight time-frame before an evening at the Opera is not the moment to be told that the confirmed room in a hotel is not available. When I showed my copy of an exchange of e-mail messages in which the hotel had confirmed my dates, the manager simply showed me a copy of his planning sheet with erroneous dates. At no point and in no way did any words like "sorry for our mistake" come into the exchange. Finally the manager did find a room for me in another hotel nearby.

The Hotel du Champs de Mars is a small, charming, boutique hotel where I am sure one would like very much to stay, but what does one do when it their bookings cannot be trusted?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Davthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was the first stop of our European adventure and the hotel did not disappoint! Just a short walk away from the Eiffel Tower and on the main metro line the hotel has a great location. The rooms are really cozy and capture the charm of paris! We skipped breakfast at the hotel and opted to eat on rue cler, the street adjacent, and I think that this would be a better deal - freshly baked bread, crossaint, and our personal favourite, heavenly pain au chocolat.

Unlike some of the reviews here all of our desk staff were friendly and helpful. We had an amazing stay and honestly found it hard to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

LOVED this hotel !! Location is perfect... clean, professional, wonderful ambiance... not one complaint !

I was not sure what to expect from some reviews..this place is a true jewel

Service was top rate...yes..not effusive but so very geared for an easy visit...

I was solo on this trip ...my room was one of the smaller ones but SO PERFECT !! such charm... small but everything I needed... I LOVED IT !!

great help from the front desk .... I made the mistake of thinking a taxi would be quick to the airport (take the shuttle !!!!!!) and the person working went above & beyond to help me get to airport

they stored cheese from the best fromagerie in Paris for me in thier kitchen (the shop is Cantin across the street)

everyone was great


my long weekend in Paris went so fast and I know I will be back soon


I am staying here again


this is a wonderful boutique hotel


Great job by the owners !!!!




:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow, what a find in the perfect location in Paris! We rented an apartment in Paris for the first week, travelled to the Loire Valley for the next 5 days then returned to Paris. We should have stayed here from the get go since the apt. Had so many hidden fees, and was a bit "iffy". The Champ du Mars hotel is a short walk from the Metro Ecole Militaire, and the picture perfect Rue Cler around the corner. the hotel is petite and the decor is superb, could not believe how affordable it was in this location. We were just walking by and the exterior and lobby decor caught my eye and walked in and spoke to a very friendly receptionist. We booked then for the remainder of our stay in Paris. Yes, the rooms are petite, wonderful bathrooms but all well designed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theleftbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We chose this hotel based on its reviews on Trip Advisor and I'm happy to say they were very accurate. It has a great location - 5 minute walk to the metro, 15 minute walk to Eiffel Tower. Lots of good cafes and supermarkets right outside your door. We had breakfast everyday in the neighborhood cafe, great value for 5.50 euros. Yummy Amorino gelato right when you turn the corner on Rue Cler. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. Not as small as some reviewers imply! We stayed in another hotel on our first night in Paris because we had an early flight to Spain and that hotel was much smaller, for a similar price. There was closet space, a safe and the bathroom was modern and newly-refurbished. Room decor was really charming. The only downside I can think of is that it does not have air-conditioning but we were there in October and we were completely fine. We did not even have to use the electric fan they provided, we just had to open our windows. We chatted with the owner Stephane before leaving and unlike other reviews, she was really friendly to us. Please don't expect American-type friendliness from her and her husband (they are French!), but she was perfectly polite, congenial and even told us a little about the history of the hotel and her family. Highly recommend this hotel for its great value and convenient location, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#780 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#65 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#112 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Valadon Colors
Hotel Valadon Colors
#277 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Property: Hotel du Champ de Mars
Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#146 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#182 Family Hotel in Paris
#359 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing