We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and ok”
Review of Hotel Marclau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marclau
Ranked #1,662 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and ok”
Reviewed November 15, 2008

I stayed 8 nights at this hotel and at first sight it seems too simple to handle, but as I looked for a budget stay in Paris, it was worth the experience.
Agree with other reviews about a very simple room, good breakfast, clean, a very little towel to bath and GREAT location.
A good market, Internet spot and good restaurantes very near.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Stairs and shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    13
    9
    15
See reviews for
11
31
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacile, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

If you like luxury, this place is not for you. Think of this place as an inn rather than a hotel -- if you think of it as a hotel, you'll be disappointed. Bring your own soap, shampoo, and other amenities. If you like great deals, this is a wonderful place. My wife and I spent 5 nights here and thought it was great. Although the rooms were simple (and ours was a bit slanty), they were adequate. We booked the room with the WC and shower in the room and spent a total of 240 Euro for 5 nights (including a breakfast with the quirky but fun owners). It's even cheaper if you get the room with the hallway WC/Shower.

The hotel is a block from a Metro stop (it's actually under construction right now, so there a short walk to a different stop). If you're used to living in a city, the neighborhood is fine, even at night. There's a grocery store across the street and a terrific bakery down the street. You can walk to both Gare d'Nord and Gare d'Est. Had this hotel been 100 Euro/nt, I still would have thought it was a decent deal, but at 48 Euro a night with breakfast, it's a steal. One last note -- the towels are quite small, so if you can't deal with hand towel sized towels, bring your own.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulfiteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Very nice, well located small hotel. Very Parisian neighborhood. Nice owner. Simple breakfast, incredible rate. Lots of steps. The owner sets the well mannered tone for all of the guests. There is a grocery store directly across the street and many small stores all around. I paid 33 euro for a single. 'Very convenient to the metro and buses. Many French guests.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyinlagunahills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Good location, friendly staff, but here comes the big problem:
We spent two nights at this hotel, we had the room with 3 beds, on the third floor, left side, next to the toilet. The first night my wife felt itching and woke up in the morning with red spots all over her arms and legs. We gave little importance. The second night my daughter felt itching and started having red spots. The last morning, when we left the hotel, I noticed a few red spots on my arms. By the time we arrived home in Luxembourg the three of us were full of rashes. The next morning we went to see a doctor: all of us have been contaminated by parasites which caused furuncolosis and infections.
Apparently the room looked clean, at least the bedsheets looked clean. But parasites, as we know, are invisible and hide easily in the floor carpet, in the mattresses, and in the blankets.
That room needs a disinfection, and a thorough cleaning of the carpet and matresses with high steam.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds infested by parasites
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

This is a one star hotel so it's pretty basic. We found it to be clean and an excellent value for the money. We had a triple room with shower and bathroom. Breakfast was included - total cost per night was 60 euros. The owner serves the breakfast himself - it's nothing fancy but like the other reviews said he does converse with his guests and is very friendly. On our last day he agreed to serve us breakfast early so we could make our departing train in plenty of time. They did not even ask to see a credit card until we checked out (very trusting). The streets are a bit noisy but the double glazed windows really help. The rooms are small but we found them quite adequate. The location is very close to a metro stop and within easy walking distance from Gare du Nord or Gare de l'Est. Also there are some inexpensive eating options in the area as well as a bank atm close by.

  • Liked — Inexpensive and breakfast was included.
  • Disliked — Small and bathrooms do not have soap.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2008

may 13-16,2008, my wife and 2 children (20&23)
found hotel on this website.
Great neighborhood, save and as parisien as it can get - though not 'touristy'.
15 walking min to Louvre,a small supermarket accross the street. friendly owner who speaks excellent english - and will also give some good advice. Very trusting / old school gentleman - he took our word for our reservation weeks ahead without requiring a credit card.
There are actually 2 Metro stations: the one on Lafayette is even closer.
Then only con: when yu like sleeping with open windows the city's night noise might bother you- though we were too tired from all the walking to really mind.
mj beckers
fayettevile,AR,USA

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Good location, fairly small rooms but a friendly owner and price more than make up for that. Only one shower on the 1st floor but it wasnt a problem as we never had to queue for a wash. Dont think you would be disappointed with this Hotel, its not 5 star but there are loads of good cafes and things to do within walking distance and the metro is just up the road anyway.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ownerjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 mi away
Serotel Suites
Serotel Suites
#1,156 of 1,802 in Paris
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette
0.5 mi away
St Christopher's Gare du Nord Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Paris Centre Tour Eiffel
2.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Paris Porte des Lilas
1.2 mi away
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#40 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marclau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marclau

Property: Hotel Marclau
Address: 78 rue du Faubourg Poissonniere | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,662 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marclau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marclau Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing