We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for what you pay for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marclau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marclau
Ranked #1,661 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for what you pay for”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

If you are looking for an inexpensive, no-frills place to stay in Paris then look no further. The Hotel seems to have last been remodelled in the early 70's, and very little has been done since, so we are not talking about deluxe accommodations. But the rooms are clean, same goes for towels and sheets. The hotel is a very location for exploring Paris; right in the middle of the 9th and 10th arrondissements and just a block away from a subway station. Good service, family owned and operated, with free wifi included too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nom_prenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    13
    9
    15
See reviews for
11
31
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very near the metro and gare du nord; polite and helpful customer service, safe. No frills at all, might be a bit shabby for those looking for ambience. But For 42 euros per night, for my own room with just a sink, its an excellent choice for tourists on a budget who will anyway spend

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manilagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We went to Paris for vacations, this hotel is very near to gare du L'est & Nord ( 10 mins by walk). The best thing I liked is cleanliness, they changed the Towels every day, we found that the bed/room was tidy every day when we returned in the evenings. It's noisy in the mornings due to some construction work, Bathroom was inconvenient but I don't mind for it. Breakfast was OK, but it's included in your stay.

The staff was humble and ready to help, altogether No frills but good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chin2chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in November 2010. Found this place through Tripadvisor search. Everything is very basic but clean. I was traveling solo and paid 60 Euros / night. Room had a shower and basic furniture. It's a small family owned place with very helpful and customer friendly folks. In fact they printed out some stuff I needed ( I had emailed to them). If you are traveling with a friend or solo, this is a perfect place for the money. However, if you are in Paris on a romantic getaway you might be disappointed. For me, money and location were the top two factors and I was not disappointed. After sightseeing for most of the day - this is an ideal location to retire and crash for the night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiegan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Reading the reviews of this place, I had very high expectations. Upon arriving at the hotel, though, I was slightly mortified. I'm going to be brutally honest in this review: the place is a dump. The floors and walls were stained, there was only a bed, sink, and wooden chair in the room, and there is no lift. HOWEVER, if all you're looking for is a safe, clean (the bed, not the floor, was clean) place to sleep, you'll be alright. I stayed for 4 nights with a friend from college, and at first we were 100% set on finding a different hotel to stay in since this one was so shabby. After a free baguette breakfast, though, and meeting the other very friendly people staying in the hotel, we decided to give it a chance. The location is great, it's right next to a subway stop and multiple internet cafes, and it is definitely safe. Just don't expect anything nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picassochic112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights. Very polite service when we arrived (ok there's no lift but its cheap). Room was small but comfortable with a sink included (ensuite is available). Our room overlooked the faubourg poissonniere (a road which, if you follow it south, takes you directly to les halles, very near the louvre) and was sound proofed well enough to ensure a great night's sleep. The faubourg itself is a lovely French street full of proper bakeries/butchers/delis etc and nice restaurants. Many things are within walking distance from the hotel, including a metro station and the gare de nord.
Breakfast (bread and coffee/tea) was served each morning- simple but, again, very nice. The manager was very accomodating, allowing us to leave our bags with him after we checked out, until we were due at the train station. Rooms were cleaned every day.
Would absolutely return to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broken_chord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

A little family owned hotel in the middle of Paris. Got a room with double bed, shower & breakfast for almost no money. Roomservice was totally up to standard and everything was clean. Though you could sense how old the entire building was. (The floor was absolutely not level :-) ) No aircondition - but when you're from scandinavia you don't really need that kind of stuff anyway. No TV - but who cares? -You're in Paris!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Serotel Suites
#1,160 of 1,798 in Paris
40 reviews
Eurostars Panorama Hotel
#940 of 1,798 in Paris
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Chabrol Opera
Hotel Chabrol Opera
#1,368 of 1,798 in Paris
132 reviews
Hotel Montholon
#792 of 1,798 in Paris
61 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mazagran
Hotel Mazagran
#1,517 of 1,798 in Paris
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marclau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marclau

Property: Hotel Marclau
Address: 78 rue du Faubourg Poissonniere | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,661 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marclau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marclau Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing