We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel for Sleeping in :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Argenson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Argenson
Ranked #673 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for Sleeping in :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

If your going to Paris you are not gonna spend your time looking the 4 walls of your hotel room. This Hotel is centrally located, perfect for touring the city - sleep by night tour by day. Breakfast is a choice of juice and hot beverage, and a pastry. The hotel is located above a Patisserie, the aroma in the mornings is just captivating. There is no resturant or bar in this hotel, so dont stay of thats what your looking for. If your looking the ideal place to sleep and store you luggage then this place is for you - Stayed here on two separate occasions September 2007 and September 2010 and would stay here again if im lucky enough to have another trip to Paris.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    171
    53
    8
    7
See reviews for
56
172
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I had two people who didn't know each other recommend this hotel to me, when they heard I was going to Paris. That seemed like a good sign, so we booked.

The hotel is in an excellent location, and it walking distance to most sights (very close to Printemps, Galeries Lafayette, the Opera house), and very close to two Metro stations. It's also about 1km away from the express bus to/from the airport, which comes in very handy. There are also plenty of Velib stations around. The streets surrounding are very quiet at night, so you don't have any issues getting to sleep (though the windows didn't let in a lot of noise either). The down side of that, is that you do have to go a bit of a ways to find a restaurant.

Rooms were clean and everything worked properly. We had a superior double without a tub, but the shower stall was just fine, and of a good size. Our room (24) faced Boulevard Haussmann, and the view was actually very pretty. Room was large with high ceilings, and original-looking details which is exactly what I wanted out of a Paris hotel. I did not want some cookie cutter American chain. Beds were comfortable, but they had weird pillows. This is a tiny nitpick. No issues with temperature, though we were there in Oct with no need for A/C.

Because they do not have a restaurant, they bring you breakfast & choice of hot beverage to your room everyday at a time of your choosing (it's just a baguette & croissant, but they are delicious). This is really nice!

The only caution, is that they close & lock the front door at 1am and it's a bit of a pain as you have to ask for a key if you are going to be out very late. Since we are not clubbing people while on vacation (and walking around tired us out early) this was absolutely no problem for us.

Overall, we were very happy with this hotel. The walls are thin, and there is a tiny elevator (we used the stairs exclusively), but these are small things. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Pay the extra €10 a night and move up to a better room. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Panic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed 6 nights at Hotel d'Argenson, one couple. It's a good old fashioned hotel, efficient breakfast served in the room, helpfully frontdesk, small bathroom, small elevator, bed ok, quietly room. Near the Champs Elysees and Place de la Concorde. Some "cafes" around, a market either.. Our room doesn't have a air conditioned, was really hot in last september! But it's a nice cost x benefit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo_meira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Good things: Location, staff (expect the lady at the front desk).
Average things: Breakfast , room size
Bad things: view from most rooms are worthless and boring, Doors and walls look age old and as if they might break with one hard punch!!

Overall, this hotel is nice if you just want a space to put your luggage and rest in the night. But if you are looking for comfort, well, look for some other hotel.

I must admit that the front desk men were very cordial and helpful in suggesting us routes and places to go shopping. However, one old lady there seldom had a smile on her face! Her attitude really takes away some points that I would have otherwise given for this budget hotel.

Room Tip: Might have to pay about 110 euros to get some room in good shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AskMeForTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Pros:

- Hotel is located in a great, central area. Metro is nearby.
- Staff is very friendly and helpful
- You get breakfast in your room. A delicious croissant and a choice of coffee or tea.

Cons:

- Bathroom doesn't have ventilation and smells like a public washroom
- Bedsheets made me itchy
- Hotel is dated and doesn't feel clean
- Walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours snoring

For a 2-star hotel, I guess it did it's job. However, if you are used to North American hotels, lower your expectations if you plan on staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We've been staying in this hotel for years, for short and longer stays. Rooms 43 and 53 are our favourites as you get a large double room with bath, and a tremendous view over Boulevard Haussman. The windows have secondary glazing and the rooms are quiet when the windows are closed. Breakfast is served in your room at a time of your choice - a croissant and roll with jam, and a choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate. To get to the hotel from Gare du Nord, walk through the station to RER Line E Magenta, and get off at Gare St Lazare, near all the main shops, like Printemps and Galeries Lafayettes. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from there. The hotel has a fabulous location for the price - also walking distance to the Champs Elysees, and there is also a metro stop around the corner. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget. We did see a mouse in our room this time, like a previous reviewer has written (not big enough to be a rat). I do hope that this problem is solved quickly, as it would be a shame for such a good hotel to be damaged by such unwelcome guests. Despite the mouse, I would still recommend staying here for the postive reasons listed above - the staff are also extremely charming and helpful and will speak French or English.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

For our second trip to France, we finally found a very charmant place to stay in Paris. Plus, the hotel is closed from every thing, it was at a walking distance from the Champs Elysees!!!! Our room was very confortable and clean. Furthemore the crew are very pleasant and they do speak english, what a nice surprise for us!!!
We also did appreciate the breakfast, a nice taste of french food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'albion
Hotel D'albion
#805 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Madeleine Hotel
Le Petit Madeleine Hotel
#743 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arioso
Hotel Arioso
#733 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Lavoisier
Hotel le Lavoisier
#802 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa Haussmann
La Villa Haussmann
#391 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argenson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argenson

Property: Hotel d'Argenson
Address: 15, rue d'Argenson, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#469 Family Hotel in Paris
#596 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Argenson 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Argenson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Argenson
d Argenson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing