We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Prince Eugene
Ranked #172 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Paris for 5days and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent, only a few minute walk to the RER and metro which can get you to anywhere in Paris, the tickets are $1.70 for a once off travel ticket, I'd suggest buying the booklet with multiple travel in it, we thought we wouldn't get enough use out of it but found by the end of 5days it would have been useful!

The hotel is directly above a patisserie which makes amazing chocolate croissants ;). There is also a fruit/veg shop with a small convinence store which we utilized towards the end of our trip when funds were low!

The staff at this hotel were absolutely wonderful. It is a family run hotel which means they ensure that everything is up to scratch and they are always helpful. The two young men at reception were lovely, we received constant useful information and a warm greeting, which is rare in Paris!

Our room was small but by Paris standards it was actually average size. It was comfortable and clean, I only wish there were more English speaking channels on the tv!

Thankyou staff of Hotel du Prince Eugene we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will reccomend you to our friends :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Responsable réception at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Eileen S,

Thank you for your very good rating and your nice review.

We will be delighted to welcome you again for sure.

Kind regards,

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    461
    60
    14
    6
See reviews for
145
767
61
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel was totally disappointing. It shouldn't be given 3 stars, no more than good hostel. The room was far more small (We stayed at another hotel - Residence Foch in Paris, also 3-star, it was 5 times better), it has no even kettle (and receptionist refused to help, even 10 minutes before the breakfast room opens!!!). Service is absolue zero, totally unfriendly, didn't even try to help you in any way. It is definetely not worth its price. I would stronglu recommend Hotel Residence Foch - closer to eiffel tower and central streets, far more friendly and helpful personnel, much more nicer and bigger rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pektop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 4 days in January 2014 . Compact rooms but very clean and well presented - refurbished to a high standard very recently with lovely décor . No bath but a superb en-suite shower room . Perfect for touring around the city , as you would obviously not spend much time in the room , so lack of space did not matter too much. Very comfortable large bed too .Staff are very friendly and full of information about locality and Paris in general. Excellent location , being a few minute walk from a large circus ( Nation) where several metro lines crossed , so you could travel around the city very easily by the Metro. No problem being in a quiet area , as within a 15 minute metro ride you are in the heart of Paris. We visited restaurants in the Latin quarter in the evening for meals and back on the Metro without any difficulty using a very useful free smartphone Ap called Paris Metro by mxdata which planned every journey . The metro is great - quick and easy to use , and if you stay only for a few days don't bother with the multi day passes as its only 1.70 Euro for any single journey no matter how many changes. The only problem we had was in the rush hour when 3 eastern european women pushed in front and distracted me and opened my wife's backpack very skilfully including an inner zipped pocket and then jumped off before the doors closed . Fortunately there was nothing of value in it so they were empty handed for their efforts ! Could have ruined the day though so BEWARE !

The welcome by Julian at the hotel on arrival set the scene for our stay at the Prince Eugene - definitely recommended , and Paris is a beautiful city !

Room Tip: Fifth floor room at the rear very quiet no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Responsable réception at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Chris L,

Thank you for taking the time to comment our hotel and for sharing your experience with those who will read your post.

it will be a real pleasure to see you again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My review will be biased because of the very specific external factors involved. For starters, this is a very good hotel, with interior closer to a 4-star property and the gentlemen at the reception are very welcoming, indeed, and responsive. Service is excellent.
Good things:
1. Great location. Close to metro, decent restaurants around.
2. Very good interior, higher than it's class.
3. Decent room size for Paris.
4. Excellent service.
5. Price-quality ratio is very good.
Now about the problems:
1. Do not chose room no.105 on first floow! Right beneath it is a meat-shop, which has a big handy chicken grill. 6AM onwards they start grilling them there and due to the fact that the windows of the hotel are not hermetically sealed, your room will turn into a kitchen! The smell is vehement and there's nothing you or staff will be able to do about it.
2. This room is also an adjacent to an apartment building, and 6.30 AM onwards someone was fixing their plumbing system, banging for hours, all the way till 11 AM. Now, this will not happend every day, obviously, but the walls are apparently very thin, so go into the middle rooms, higher up the floor, otherwise forget about a decent night sleep here. Plus lower floors are not entirely noise-free, but it might be the same in most of Parisian hotels.
3. The mattrasses are probably past their usage date, i.e. it's clear because of the inward curvitude they have developed, probably carrying very large persons for years.

Room Tip: Top floor, middle rooms, or as further away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilioramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Responsable réception at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear emilioramirez,

Thank you for your feedback.

First, we are sorry to hear that you had some trouble with the noise and the smell in the morning from the butcher next door. We are hardly working on that and we hope to find a solution quickly. In this kind of situation, we can propose you to change room (for example we have several rooms with a view on the court which are quieter). We are here to give you the best and if there is a problem tell us and we will find a solution during your stay.

Then,we are sorry about the materasse because there are new and we verify them every three months. Since this comment, we have changed it.

Finally, we thank you for your comments and as we are always eager to improve our product, we will do our utmost to work on them all.

Kind regards,

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmedy, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A bit "far" from the very city centre, but metro station is really close. (if you go by car, car park is about 10 minutes far by walk and quite cheap for Paris).
Rooms are pretty and clean. Staff and management are really really friendly.
I definitely recommand this hotel and stay here again next I go to Paris

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in "5"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurore86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Responsable réception at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Aurore86,

We appreciate for taking the time to publish this lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy you had such a great stay with us.


It is true that it seems to be far form the city center, but as you have seen, with the metro station Nation, you are connected to everything in less that 5-10 minutes. It is perhaps the best station in this city.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Warm regards

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

1) The hotel is located within a safe neighbourhood and within walking distance to 3 metro stations. Nation station has convenient access to most tourist spots in Paris
2) The hotel is managed mainly by family members who were friendly and helpful. They were keen to provide recommendations on places to visit and restaurants (nearby). We visited 3 of their recommended restaurants and they were reasonably good.
3) Room is nicely decorated with comfortable bed and good bathroom amenities. However, room size was smaller than anticipated
4) Simple but adequate breakfast
Overall, a good hotel considering the reasonable room rates

Room Tip: To book a Superior room if possible as the room size is quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLOWPTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for five nights early January. The hotel is very good! The rooms are pretty and spotless, and the multilingual staff is absolutely lovely and very helpful. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#217 of 1,800 in Paris
935 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#173 of 1,800 in Paris
1,038 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#94 of 1,800 in Paris
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home MODERNE
#278 of 1,800 in Paris
1,061 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#104 of 1,800 in Paris
1,983 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#124 of 1,800 in Paris
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Prince Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Prince Eugene

Property: Hotel du Prince Eugene
Address: 247 Boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#113 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#129 Family Hotel in Paris
#144 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Prince Eugene 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our charming, recently renovated hotel! A short walk from Nation and its train station providing access to numerous metro lines, very close to the Place de la Bastille, the hotel du Prince Eugene enjoys an exceptional location in the heart of the East side of Paris.Fully renovated and sumptuously decorated in a modern baroque style, the hotel's 36 rooms plunge you into a delicate, elegant atmosphere that is an invitation to relax. The refined decor has been subtly combined with modern, practical features guaranteeing you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Prince Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Prince Eugene Hotel
Du Prince Eugene Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing