We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Prince Eugene
Ranked #178 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and were very please with the overall experience. It is very difficult to find a good value hotel in Paris but this place is excellent value for money and deserves credit.

The room was small as expected in Paris but the Bathroom was a good size and both were spotless and seem to have been renovated recently. We requested a room at the front of the hotel and were given 502 on the 5th floor which has two small balconies overlooking Boulevard Voltaire and a side street. The only improvement I can think of for the room would be making the flat screen tv more flush with the wall to make it easier to walk past as there is not much room at the foot of the bed.

We had breakfast in our room each morning and found the options pretty standard for France i.e. pastries, bread & jam, yoghurt, fruit juice, coffee etc. The quality on the first morning was good - everything fresh, but the other days weren't quite so good: Croissants seemed to be out of a packet.

We didn't explore the local area very much as we only had a few days but we did have a drink in the nearest bar (on the first corner if walking towards Nation metro) which was very pleasant and fairly cheap.

Service was generally very good, particularly from Rajee who could not help us enough, for example by letting us print our Eiffel Tower tickets at reception. Another member of staff kindly arranged for an ironing board and iron to be brought to the room.

All in all we were delighted with the hotel and would definitely stay there again as long as the prices stay as they are, much higher and I would probably pay a bit more and stay more central.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely views of the street and ours wasn't noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feedmenowplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Responsable réception at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Feedmenowplease,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in the capital.

We also thank you for your comment and your advice.

In the future, as you pointed out nicely, we will think of the tv more flush on the wall, to allow more space. Your opinion is very important for us.

Regarding the pastries, we make ourselves delivered every morning from a baker, so we reveive fresh baked pastries every morning.

It happens rarely that they do not look fresh, but when it happens we immediately contact the baker, because we are very careful about the quality of the products we serve.

We strongly apologise about the quality of the pastries during your stay.

All the team of the Hotel Prince Eugene will be delighted to welcome you again during your next stay in Paris, and hopefully it will be for a longer period where we can help you discover the city.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very good value for Paris, with nice room and good breakfast (for 13 Euro). Staff (especially Rajee) very friendly and helpful, spoke excellent English. Free WIFi worked well. Our room was on the back, 6th floor and was very quiet with a comfy bed. Good bathroom. Heating and aircon.

Metro 'Nation' only 5 minutes away - get there from CDG by RER Route B to Chatelet des Halles and then RER A to Nation, quicker than the Metro.

Plenty to do around Nation and we found several good restaurants - there's also a Printemps for the shoppers!

Room Tip: The rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is good, pretty calm neighbourhood, close to the "Nation" metro station within 5 min by walk. Nearby the hotel was easy to find bars, some not* so good restaurants (actually only "Po.za.da" right in the corner was excellent!! must try it!), and some mini-markets around.

We spent one week at this hotel (most of the time we've been out visiting the city) the room and the bathroom are small but confortable. The hotel service in general was poor, the staff could try doing better in every sense. I think the only person that speaks english, Kelly wasn't never there when we needed her.

(We didn't tried the breakfast in the hotel).
The local WiFi wasn't so good, kept going up and down (which is something relevant).

The final score in my opinions is 3/5.

Room Tip: ***Do never forget nothing behind when you leave, you may never find it again.***
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bequiet_n_drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were staying at this hotel for 3 nights and it was a great experience. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed with a smile by a lovely kind receptionist Kelly. She was very kind to us and was helping us with everything,was very patient with us and explained where the attractions were,what metro line to use and where to get off. Very lovely and kind person. Thank you so much,Kelly.
The hotel is located in a nice quiet area,there is a small shop opposite where you can buy basic things like some food, water, vegetables and fuit.There is also few pharmacies around,lovely coffee shops and restaurants.There is 2 metro stations just a few minutes walk from the hotel which is very handy because you can get everywhere by metro.
The hotel itself is very nice and modern. The double room is big enough and has everything needed.Bathroom is big and vey clean. Thanks to the housekeeping staff.
You can also have breakfast downstairs if you want. The food served was very fresh and delicious.
We were very happy with our choice of this hotel and will be definetly staying there again.
Thank you everyone at the Hotel du Prince Eugene for making our stay so great.
Merci.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateandworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Responsable réception at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear CzechRepublicKatie10,

So many compliments about Hotel Prince Eugene and its staff, that encourage us to do more and help us maintain the quality of our sevices.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you in Paris and advise you on the "Must See".

We are extremely pleased to know that we helped enjoy the city.

All the team of Hotel Prince Eugene will be delighted to welcome you again during your next stay in Paris.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel came as an option accommodation for a package holiday booked through alpharooms. I paid much less for the room than if I booked the hotel separately. We stayed 4 nights and getting back to the hotel from the city was easy. We spent a long time looking for a restaurant where we would understand the menu and we found a couple of restaurants right next to the hotel. On the right side as you walk out from the hotel is "po.za.da". It's a wine bar but it also serves beautiful French food. If you turn left from the hotel take a first turn left and on the left side is a Thai restaurant "Baan Thais". The food is so good that we went to eat there twice!
The only downside of the hotel is that there is no safe in the rooms and no kettle but we managed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a nice little hotel, Convenient location, good service and clean room. We stayed 4 nights in this hotel in Paris on the beginning and end of our France and Barcelona trip. Small but adequate. Value for money compare to other Paris hotel. Most important is it's very near to Nation Metro & RER station (5 mins), which is near to champ elysees, eiffel tower etc. Wifi was good. Staffs at reception were all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

As our three nights drew to an end we reflected on the pros and cons of this hotel. The hotel is far out. That said it is next to one of the most useful metro stations in Paris. Paris is literally your oyster. Direct line to Gare du Nord, Eiffel Tower, Louvre etc. Super location. One of the best bistros in Paris is literally next door. Lovely patisserie two doors away and supermarket etc nearby. Great.
The hotel. Great helpful friendly staff. Super English speakers. Very clean rooms. Lovely beds. The bathroom was huge, great shower, super views. The room was a little small but you can live with that as you're out all day. We had three negatives. No kettle, I missed a cup of tea when we got in. The only English channels on the tv were CNN and BBC news, a little heavy and not very relaxing. No coat hook. Fairly petty surely but just having these would have made it just perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macavity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Grand Hotel Francais
#94 of 1,802 in Paris
2,030 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#87 of 1,802 in Paris
672 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#273 of 1,802 in Paris
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#247 of 1,802 in Paris
1,064 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#212 of 1,802 in Paris
1,056 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#129 of 1,802 in Paris
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Prince Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Prince Eugene

Address: 247 Boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#113 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#129 Family Hotel in Paris
#143 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $88 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Prince Eugene 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our charming, recently renovated hotel! A short walk from Nation and its train station providing access to numerous metro lines, very close to the Place de la Bastille, the hotel du Prince Eugene enjoys an exceptional location in the heart of the East side of Paris.Fully renovated and sumptuously decorated in a modern baroque style, the hotel's 36 rooms plunge you into a delicate, elegant atmosphere that is an invitation to relax. The refined decor has been subtly combined with modern, practical features guaranteeing you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Prince Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Prince Eugene Hotel
Du Prince Eugene Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing