We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Aboukir
Ranked #1,315 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This hotel was the worst experience on our 2 week stay in Europe. The room had a nasty smell that would not go away. They make you turn in your key whenever you leave the hotel. We found out why...they stole our $2000 camera when we went to dinner for 2 hours our last night in the room. (It wasn't like we left it out for them to find either, it was out of plain site). In the morning they refused to show us the surveillance film of the time during the theft. They refused to call the police and when we asked for the phone number to the police, the receptionist said she didn't know the number!
Do not waste your time, money, energy, effort or anything else on this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ladyrach16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal Aboukir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 278 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

We have booked this hotel through Choice Hotels International for one night, called the hotel in the morning and warned them we will be arriving late and asked them whether everything is fine with the reservation, and he said yes. We arrived after a long international flight just to be told that the prepaid and uncancellable booking was cancelled and they will not accept us. They were apparently fully booked, and decided to cancell the cheap uncancellable reservation, keep the money, and give the room to somebody else!

We had to run in circles in order to find the lodging in Paris on that night, since everything was packed. I have reported the issue to the chain, and expect not only the payback.

So if you want to be stranded in Paris - go for this rude and unreliable place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

After reading rather mixed reviews online my boyfriend and I decided to try our luck with Royal Aboukir and are we ever glad we did. The moment we stepped in we were more than pleasantly surprised.

The MANY postives:
- Location was EXCELLENT (District 2, 15 minute walk to the Louvre; it is also walking distance to almost every tourist destinations, street close to many amenities such as shopping, grocery store, cafes/restaurants)!
- Staff at the hotel was extremely friendly (and they spoke English very well)!
- Room size was more than comfortable for two (with full mirrors, desk, mounted lcd tv, mini bar fridge)!
- Bathroom was appealing and very modern (had bath + shower, jets, hand held shower nozzle, glass door, etc)!
- Daily housekeeping was included (we had clean towels, freshly made bed, new toiletries every morning)!
- Internet was included in the room rate (and it was highly reliable - just ask the front desk for the code for the duration of your stay)!
- Buffet breakfast available 6:30 - 10:00am for 8 euros (nice option for people to start off the day, we went one morning although decided instead to buy croissants and cheese at the nearby grocery store and keep it in the fridge a tip that saves you a bit of money)!

The FEW negatives:
- Rooms are definitely not sound proof (but don't let this deter you, it didn't disturb our sleep in any way);
- Inflexible check-in time (hotel staff was strict on this, we could not check in any earlier than 2:30pm - however they still housed our luggage in the basement when we did show up early);
- Elevator is small (it holds 1 person and 2 suitcases, or 3 people - this is VERY common in Europe though - NOT an inconvenience at all, but I think I should inform people of this)
- Bathroom was rather small and with limited storage space (but again still very manageable).

Ultimately, the positives outweigh the negatives! Keep in mind though that it is still only a 3 star hotel according to European standards... it is however GREAT VALUE for the price (849 euros for 10 days), I would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan_o88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Like many of the smaller Paris hotels, the Aboukir is situated down a narrow side road which some might find difficult to find. The entrance to the hotel is also easy to miss and once inside, the small reception area seemed to be situated in a corridor with the luggage of everyone who had arrived early, stored in the public area in full view.

On the plus side, the bedroom was nicely decorated with a modern clean bathroom and comfortable bed. A kettle, a safe and a minibar fridge were also available in the room as was a heating & Aircon unit. However, only two electric sockets were available to power the kettle, fridge and desk lamp,and one of those wasn't working !

I have stayed in several 2* hotels in Paris and this was nicer than most of them, but perhaps not quite up to 3* standards. However as all I wanted was a centrally located room for 1 night and I got it for a 2* price with EasyToBook.com, I was quite pleased with my choice and would certainly stay there again if the price was right.

One word of warning however, whilst the immediate area in which the hotel is situated is reasonable, anyone who is not particularly broadminded would probably be wise to steer clear of the nearby Rue St.Denis !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TramTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

It's a 2* hotel claiming to be 3*.

Rooms are small even for 2 people, let alone 3. The "discounted" price I found online is just about the right price (a non-refundable deposit was the part of the deal for the "discounted" price).

It's for wholesale shopping travellers rather than for leisure tourists.

Non-refundable deposit (haven't come across these in years now) was charged upon online booking. I had duplicate booking due to website error, and hotel refused to refund even one of those deposits. I was occused of lying by the hotel manager. Got the refund only after an hour long argument and after agreeing to stay in the hotel to use up my second deposit.

Didn't get to the promissed tripple room till 3rd night out of 5.

Impossible to walk in the room. Just open the door and flop flat on the bed, no space to put suitcases, toiletries or hang towels to dry.

Trendy shower-heads and jets from the wall pannel are installed in an appallingly small bath, with the showerheads constantly coming off and glass screen making it impossible to reach to the shower to fix it... Funny, i know.

One of the "funniest" experiences i had in years of travelling, when the price is definitely not compensating for the lack of comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nastusha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The reception claimed that they had not received any payment for my voucher and kept trying to squeeze double payment from me. My travel agancy luckily solved the situation - after two days. The hotel never said a word of sorry but by check-out asked an extra "Paris tax" (which I did not pay). The minibar was out of order, the lights in the corridor did not work, the breakfast was not worth the 8 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirpa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Typical French hotel, with a two-person lift and pleasant staff on the 24hr desk. We stayed in a small double room on the 4th floor. The hotel is situated between three noisy streets so was quiet only if the windows were closed, but that meant no ventilation. To use the air-conditioning you opened the doors to the balcony and poked a large hot air pipe outside then put up with a lot of traffic noise. The shower was very small and the toilet seat cover was fixed into the open position, which was not very pleasant! However it was OK for the 5 days we were there, very close to some closed off market type streets, three metro stations, and many attractions were within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GaudiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bonne Nouvelle
Hotel Bonne Nouvelle
#1,150 of 1,804 in Paris
38 reviews
Hotel Edgar
#711 of 1,804 in Paris
154 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sainte-Marie
Hotel Sainte-Marie
#1,383 of 1,804 in Paris
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Appi Hotel
Appi Hotel
#1,627 of 1,804 in Paris
230 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel Bellevue et du Chariot d'Or
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#837 of 1,804 in Paris
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Aboukir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Aboukir

Address: 106 rue d Aboukir, 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,315 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $82 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Aboukir 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located in Paris city center, just near the city's stock exchange district, in the heart of the fashion area, close to the Grands Boulevards, museums and theatres. The hotel has being recently renewed, all the rooms have been furnished with efficiency bathrooms, dryers, safe, minibar, LCD TV, satellite, direct line and free Internet access. Inside the place is a cocktail lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal Aboukir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Aboukir Paris
Royal Aboukir Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing