We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel, but in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon Villiers Etoile
Ranked #847 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel, but in the perfect location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is not a three star hotel. The bathroom was covered in mold, the shower was broken, the comforter on our bed was stained, appeared dirty and looked to be at least 40 years old, and the counters hadn't been cleaned. That being said, this hotel is in the best location in Paris - right in the middle of a tourist-free, residential neighbourhood, crammed with little shops, cafes and Parisan charm. I absolutely loved the area - very close to Villiers metro stop.

Room Tip: We did not like being on the ground floor. I would ask for a room on the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    218
    135
    72
    61
See reviews for
84
275
49
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at the Pavillon Villiers Etoile from May 4 to 8, 2012. This is an old hotel, but it has good classic Parisian charm. It located in the "17ieme Arrondissement" on a rather quiet street that has residential and business properties. We had a room on the street side, so every morning we heard delivery trucks (or garbage trucks - I never bothered to check; it woke me up and I went straight back to sleep, so the noise was not a major issue) doing their rounds. The rest of the time it was quiet. This was good as the hotel has no air conditioning and we were able to open the window. The ony othe noise came from a group of American women who enjoyed loud conversation right outside our door, at least that was how it sounded to me.

This hotel has buildings named, appropriately enough, Pavillon 1 and Pavillon 2. The first digit on you key is the building you are in, the second digit is the floor and the third is your room number. We had a room in Pavillon 1, the main building, on the 4th floor. Having only 4 floors, this part of the hotel houses only 16 rooms; Pavillon 2 is bigger and seems to have more rooms. Our room had a double bed, with ample linens, and was very comfortable. There were night tables on each side of the bed. In front of the bed, there is a a wardrobe,and the TV is a flat-screen wall-mounted unit.

Our room was clean adn well in order.Everything worked properly, but the toilet seat was cracked. we did report it, but told them not to bother changing it for us,

Our room had a full bath. To me, a bathtub in a hotel room is useless as I, like most people I know, always take showers. The shower worked well. The bathroom amenities (soap,shampoo conditioner) were replenished daily, and the towels were changed if left on the floor or in the tub, as is the standard in most hotels now.

The hotel offers a continental+ buffet breakfast with breads, croissants, muffins (each of which youmay have with butter, jam or honey), cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, cereals, hard-cooked eggs in the shell, coffee, teas and hot chocolate. It is priced at 8 euro per person per day if you choose to take it. We had it once and we enjoyed it. However, there are many pastry shops where you can get a good breakfast of croissant and/or pain au chocolat avec café au lait or chocolat chaud for much less. For other meals, there are many reataurants and bars inthe area that you cna check out, or you can be adventurous and thake the subway into Paris centre-ville where you will pay much more.

The hotel is located near enough to the metro station Villiers. Leaving th ehotel, you tuurn right an dwalk to ent end of the street - it forms a T-intersection. Turn left and then turn right at the first street and follow it to th eend. Turn right onto the next street which is a a main street. Walk a few meters to the Pharmacie Villiers as the crosswalk is right infromof this shop. Cross the street and head for the metro station which is on your left. To get back to the hotel from the metro staion, reverse the trip.

We had fabulous service - especially from Jon who always had a smile and really went to extra mile to give fantastic service -from all the people who worked at the Reception Desk. They were friendly,professional and very helpful. They even suggested taking a shuttle, which you should reserve ahead of time, to the airport.It is rather less expensive than taking a taxi and all servic efees are included in the price which is not so with a taxi. Also know that there is a tax (1.3% per person per day) that is charged at the hotel on checking out which is not added to your booking - it can only be paid at the hotel. Also know that you pay 1.10 euro just for picking gup the phone to establish a line, an d you are charged for time spent on each call.

Once in the metro, you can buy different metro cards. We usually get a Paris Visite card for 2 or 3 days or longer depending on the length of our stay. The cost is commensurate with the duration of the card. You can use the machines in the station to get your cards, or you can ask the clerk to help you. Ask for the info pamphlet as the Paris Visite can get you some discounts (such as 25% off th e cost of Bateaux Parisiens) on certain attractions. Another good investment is the Paris Museum Pass. It costs 39 euro for 2 days, but you can visits many museums and monuments and save a lot on entry fees. It includes Palais Versailles, Le Louvre, Pantheon, L'arc de Triomf, Conciergerie, Invalides, to name only a few. It is well worth the cost and it avoids you wasting time waiting in line to buy tickets. You can also take a walk along Cahmps-Élysées, taking you from La Tour Eiffel to Arc de Triomf. It is totally free and is a wonderful experience.

Please note that all prices, taxes, and service fees qouited here were in effect when we travelled to Paris in May 2012, and they did not reflect any of the charges we paid when in Paris in June 2010. Expect your costs to be diferent.

If ever I return to Paris, I would stay at this hotel again. Enjoy Paris!..... and its Parisiens/Parisiennes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Pavillon Villiers Etoile from May 4th to May 8th 2012. The hotel is located close to a Metro Station called Villiers and is on a rather quiet street. What is not said when you reserve at this hotel is that there is 2 buildings and that in the main building there are only 16 rooms. The other building located at the back seems to have more rooms. We were in the main building but I have heard comments about being in the other building that were not of the best. Maybe try to get a room in the main building would be my first advice. Also, not included in your reservation even if you pay in advance is a tax of 1.3 euro a day per pax. It is not much, but knowing about it before you leave helps.

Note that all the fare and prices mentioned in this review were in effect in May 2012, they may be different when you will travel.

The staff is excellent, mostly if you deal with Jon who always has a smile and is ready to go the extra mile to help his guests. The room we had was clean and was just enough for the time we spend in it. The street in front of the hotel is quiet compared to any other street in the area. There are many restaurants, croissants and pastries places and cafés close to the hotel, but they are rather expensive.

The plus is that you are located in the center (Villiers street separates the 17th arrondissement from the 8th) so if you are a good walker you can explore more walking than by metro (subway).

The room is rather small and has a small bathroom. Ours had bath and shower but some only have shower. The building is old and the windows are of "era". The street not being too noisy helps. There is no air conditionning. A breakfast is offered and is more that continental as you can find also, cold cuts, boiled eggs, cheese, yogourt etc.

Attached are pictures of our room and bathroom.


While in Paris you can get a transport pass for 1,2 3, and 5 days for about 9 euros per day (less as you take a longer pass). There is also a museum pass available for 2 or 4 days which allow you to pass the long lines at the Louvres or Versailles as an example, and also cuts costs if you intend to visit a lot a museum. this would be a recommandation. The pass is called Paris Museum pass.
The hotel also offers a shuttle to the airports (CDG or ORL) at about a third of the cost of a taxi, so even if there are 2 persons travelling it is still less expensive.

Enjoy Paris.

Room Tip: According to comments from other guests a room in the main building may be a good choice. Our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montrealeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Booked in advance for Paris Marathon weekend. Arrived early, checked in, left bags in safe room, went out, came back, sorry you no longer have double room. Can offer you singles on different floors, and double plus a single first thing tomorrow morning. Settled for that. Ran marathon, came back to find double room still had someones things in it. Sent us to another room, unmade bed. Waited in foyer while staff shrugged and said it was housekeeping's fault. Eventually, got free breakfast and unoccupied double room, which was adequate but no bedside light, shower didn't work.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights in April. We had 3 rooms as there were six of us on a girls weekend. The hotel said it was 3 star when we booked but it really wasn't. The rooms were awful my room was the best out of the 3. It was in need of a good scrub, had a horrible stain on the bed and a cracked toilets seat which pinched you every time you used the room.the other 2 rooms well had broken blinds/curtains which would make it impossible to sleep, not the cleanest and one rom had a very hairy blanket. We also wanted 3 twin bed rooms, we only got one but it made no difference anyway as you could not part the beds due to the building bedside tables. The rooms were tiny.

The staff however were very helpful and nice, they sad the 2 bad rooms could be exchanged one today and one the following day. One moved an it was slightly better but not much.

Anyway it was just a base for us so we didn't get too hung up on it.

We brought our own drinks in and had them in the courtyard before going out and the hotel didn't mind they were helpful recommending bars etc.

There is also free wifi in lobby and a computer you can use.

The hotel is near a busy street were there are lots of food stalls delis and shops. Which is handy. It is also near Villiers metro station. We got a 3 day travel card and used the subway loads.

Only get taxis on a meter as they are cheap. The fixed price ones 3 times the price.

Next time I come back to france I want to stay near the Notre Dame area.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our room had 2 twin bed together, a small desk and no more room just to walk 2 people. Our save didn t work during our 4 day stay despite we told the manager manyyyy times. It is no easy to reach the hotel the first time if you are going by Metro. The neighbourdhood is very nice and has a little street market a block from the hotel. The breakfast was very simple.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustavoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed there with my wife in August of 2011. Now for the price we paid for the hotel, it exceeded my expectations. It's not the prettiest hotel in Paris, not the cleanliest, but perfect for what you need it for. There is an amazing fresh fruit and food market every morning less than a block away, with numerous bakeries and "super markets". You can easily collect breakfast and lunch from the vendors and markets for the entire day. I would stay here again. You are there to see Paris, and enjoy the city. Not just to sit around and complain about a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnrw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Royal Wagram
Royal Wagram
#877 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#389 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#973 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#820 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#611 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,213 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Villiers Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Villiers Etoile

Property: Pavillon Villiers Etoile
Address: 6 rue Lebouteux, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #847 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavillon Villiers Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavillon Villiers Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Villiers Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing