We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic and great location”
Review of Hotel Oceanic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oceanic
Ranked #621 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
house
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shabby chic and great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The Ritz, it is not! Location is this hotels best point, being in the 8th arrondissement you are close to the Champs Elysse and (more importantly for us as we were only staying one night), travel from Gare du Nord is ridiculously easy. Get off Eurostar, straight down to Metro and walk to "Magenta" (it's a bit like Londons "Bank" station, you can walk to a number of different lines). One stop later and you are at St.Lazare and it's a 60 second walk from there. Hotel is a two star which for frequent Paris travellers knows doesn't get you a lot. We had a quadruple room which was perfectly adequate, two firm double beds, tv, bath and shower, fridge you can stock yourself and an absolutely massive wardrobe. The kids loved its quirkiness, huge double doors to get in the room, cornice detail, fireplace etc. a lick of paint would freshen everything up but might that also spoil it's charm? Breakfast is pretty small but at 7 euros, no complaints from me. The whole place is a little shabby but pretty average compared to similar hotels I have stayed in Paris. I thought it was a bit expensive in truth, we paid euro 200 for the night but there was a lot of Irish visitors due to the rugby so maybe that played a part. Stay because of the location, a lot "safer" than some of the areas we have stayed and close to major shopping areas if that's your thing. All public transport was free for the weekend we stayed, not sure why but a helpful way of keeping costs down.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeymagicpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    86
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
31
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff there were very nice and friendly. The hotel is in a very good location, around 5 mins away from the metro station. They offer breakfast and dinner at 7 euro per person, but i didnt have chance to try. There is a groceries store opposite the hotel if wanna drinks want.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed in Oceanic Hotel for two days with my family. The service is great. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is clean and warm. I like the decoration and atmosphere - classic and romantic. The breakfast has reasonable verity choose and food are very nice. I found it is so convenience and easy to access Metro, bus and view spots. All my family member were enjoy to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This a 2 star hotel but the rooms are large for Paris. The staff extremely friendly if spoken to in French and very helpful. My wife arrived with flowers for a friend and immediately the staff offered to put them in water. Tea tray available if requested. I note a review from Mo Smooth. At least one member of the staff was Russian so do not expect foreigners all to speak English. This is Paris France, not Texas. 2 stars are for a reason, no restaurant or room service. There is a bar and nespresso coffee is no on offer as well. The room was clean but the carpet stained and worn. Plenty of hot water and a comfortable bed. Although on a busy road it was quiet enough due to good double glazing. I would stay again. Tried to book for early October but already fully booked. The breakfast is a petit dejeuner french style but adequate enough.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor. The lift stops there. If on the 6th floor you will have a flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard187257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June. Our accommodation was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful, although their limited English made communications difficult at times. It was close to the Gare St Lazare which made getting round the city easier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolin716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Clean comfortable affordable Hotel within walking distance of most landmarks, must see's, shopping and restaurant.

We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShawnaByers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Substantial breakfast? One roll, one croissant and jam, pot of coffee and you must collect it yourself. No room service during the night at all and when my wife was ill she had to go down and demand a pot of hot water from the night porter, who grudgingly gave it to her after refusing to bring it up! Add to that the horror of having no hot water available during peak times and certainly none after 10 p.m., a consistent lack of smiles with the "service" and 9 Euros for the derisory attempt at providing a breakfast, the Oceanic is at best describable as Fawlty Towers a la Paris, at worst, the Hotel from Hell. If I were you, avoid this "Hotel" like the plague and pay a little more than 70 Euros for a place that makes the 2 Star rating appear an insult to the guide system! NEVER AGAIN is all I can tell you regarding my recommendation for this place.

  • Liked — Cheap price, nothing else!!!!
  • Disliked — Everything else!!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoSmooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
L'Ouest Hotel
#781 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Hotel Charing Cross
#1,390 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Londres et New York Hotel
Londres et New York Hotel
#880 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,026 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Hotel d'Argenson
#716 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceanic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceanic

Property: Hotel Oceanic
Address: 17 rue de la Pepiniere | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#144 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#397 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceanic 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Oceanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing