We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood”
Review of Lux Hotel Picpus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lux Hotel Picpus
Ranked #565 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Lux Hotel Picpus is situated at 5 minutes walking from Nation Metro Station which takes you to the city center in 10 minutes. I stayed in a superior double room with a bath tube. The room has been cleaned every morning and the furniture was modern. The bathroom is pretty big for a parisian hotel. I think that this buget hotel is perfect for a city break in Paris!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 431 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is very nice. Very clean, fair buffet for breakfast (for 8 EUR), friendly staff and extremely close to the metro station (Picpus).

It's true, it is away from the city centre and the touristic area (about 30 ~ 45 minutes away by metro). At the other hand, you can eat in restaurants and cafés with the locals, as it's not a tourists area (so, sometimes, the communication can be a little bit confuse). This neighborhood is quiet and safe at all.

The room as well as the bathroom are small, but don't expect anything much different in Paris. So, I would say that the size is good for Paris standards. The shower is OK. The sleep quality is average as depending on the hour you will be able to hear some noises from the metro or from the next room.

If you are looking for a nice and simple hotel and you find yourself in a budget and you don't care about the transit time of about half hour to the city main attractions, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

(stayed 5 days in July/2012)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I feel compelled to review this hotel as our recent experience was quite different than those older, very glowing ones online.
We stayed 7 days, we had 2 rooms at 62 euro each. Some days we took breakfast, this costs 8 euro per person. Breakfast consists of breads, yogurt, ham, cereals, cheeses, fruit, and a lovely big pot of fresh coffee. Its good value and was always served with a smile by the same friendly woman each day.
The room was pokey but clean and ours had great views over the street. Bed a bit saggy in the middle, linen all fine, towels changed daily, room cleaned nicely each day. Walls are thin, so anyone talking in the next room can be heard.
Location is good, shops nearby, including a small supermarket. Or you can walk to Nation and find a large supermarket. Across the road is the Metro stop Picpus. Exit the Metro and look straight across two small roads and you will see the hotel,, so very convenient. M6 Nation..light green line is the metro line to take. This line will also take you direct to Bir Hakeim stop for the effiel tower.

However...the hotel has some great aspects but it also has some serious shortcomings when it comes to the ability of the Reception staff. This man ruins what could be a fantastic hotel. A consistently sour attitude, half smile, turned up lip, arrogant strutting around the place, no eye contact, no hello, welcome, how are you, ever, to any in our party of 4. Even when we paid and checked out, no thank you and goodbye, just averted eyes and sudden busyness with nearest available distraction. I think he is an employee, but as the main person on reception, his attitude is an abomination. Definitely not the way to interact with guests.
In all the hundreds of hotels around the world we have stayed at from low to high budget, we have never encountered rude arrogance such as this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JenniferJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very clean, newly renovated, great buffet breakfast, friendly English speaking staff, close to the metro (only 1 min walk to Picpus station) = Value for money - simply more than a 2 star hotel! One pity is that it is a bit away from the center (about 30-45mins away in total by metro to the main attractions and tourist area in general), but being close to Picpus and Nation stations makes it easy to get there. The area is quiet and safe. I loved the breakfast, including fresh bread and great croissants everyday :) The young receptionist, who was there in the weekend, was very efficient and friendly. He also arranged for us a shuttle van for our way back to the hotel (ask for it upon arrival to see availability and pre-book it - it was very efficient and cheaper than a taxi). The ladies at the breakfast were very nice and friendly too. The only small other pity was that you don't have any tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which in Winter would have helped after a day out, but all the rest was great, so I would definitely recommend this hotel! Thanks :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Clean, newly renovated, friendly English speaking staff, close to the metro---amazing hotel!!!

We were very happy with this hotel and the best part is that the metro station closest (pic pus) has all of the major spots on that line (green-6)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We opted for the least expensive room - 62 euros a night. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip so we had two different rooms. We found the location quiet and convenient. Major city attractions are only a short metro ride away. Staff was very professional and the rooms were very clean. The rooms were small but adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed in Lux Hotel for 4 nights, the staff was friendly and English was spoken without any problems. Room was small or big enough but clean and quiet on the 4th floor looking out on the street. During the day you could barely hear the rumble of the metro but they stop running after 00.30 anyway. It is a bit away from the center and tourist area in general but being close to Nation it is not even worth mentioning it and also it is in a quiet and safe neighborhood, I walked from Bercy to the hotel one night from the concert after midnight and I never for the moment felt threatened in any way. I totally recommend this little place and if I go back to Paris I will surely look for available rooms there first.

Room Tip: Upper floor, 4th or up, looking out on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dejan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#241 of 1,803 in Paris
949 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
#1,199 of 1,803 in Paris
168 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
#1,466 of 1,803 in Paris
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Le Petit Cosy Hotel
Le Petit Cosy Hotel
#1,088 of 1,803 in Paris
12 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Plus 61 Paris Nation Hotel
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#402 of 1,803 in Paris
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Hotel Picpus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Hotel Picpus

Address: 74 boulevard de Picpus, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#367 Family Hotel in Paris
#407 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $71 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lux Hotel Picpus 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Lux Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing