We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean (but small!) rooms”
Review of Lux Hotel Picpus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lux Hotel Picpus
Ranked #569 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, clean (but small!) rooms”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel is a little removed from the regular tourist area but is well served by the Metro at Nation and Picpus (10-15 minutes to city 'centre').
Clean and comfortable with helpful staff and good local bistros without the inflated prices.
Rooms are very small and the tiny shower cubicle resulted in me being wrapped up like a Roman Senator on his way to a toga party. We stayed on the second floor and the gentle subterranean rumble of the passing Metro trains was noticeable but not a problem. Nice breakfast with a good choice from the buffet but the dining room can get a little crowded. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good value budget room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilber4orce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    241
    31
    1
    2
See reviews for
107
152
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed 5 nights and was impressed with the excellent value for the price. Service was most helpful and friendly, all reception staff were able to speak English, and the desk is open 24 hours. Room was small but very clean, very comfortable bed, TV and spotless modern onsuite with shower . Could not ask for a better location. Metro station Picpus across the road, Nation Metro about a 10 minute walk and bus stop 50 meters away. Lots of restaurants, wine shops, cheese shops, patisseries, pub and supermarkets within short walking distance. If you'd like to see a bit of Paris streets, you can walk to Place de Bastille in about 45 minutes and may come accross interesting little shops and street markets with marvelous fresh produce, antiques, 'pre-loved' items of every kind, etc. I will certainly try to stay here again when in Paris!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Misha04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I chose this hotel based on reviews from other Trip Advisor members and the price - we were travelling on a strict budget! I must say that I was very impressed with the quality of room that you get here for the price. The bathrooms are nice and modern and appeared to have been recently renovated, the bed was very comfortable and the room was of a very good size (though this could just be my impression after spending the last month in Japan!!).

There are many boulangeries and patisseries within walking distance for breakfast so we did not opt for the breakfast available in the hotel. In response to some other reviews posted here, I did not find the shower particularly cramped and I am of a fairly large size. Honestly, at 67 Euros for a double room (without breakfast), this hotel is fantastic value. The staff and facilities here helped to make our stay in Paris excellent (so excellent in fact that we have booked to go back to the Lux Hotel 6 weeks from now.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacob_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I'll start by saying the place was very clean, quiet, had a great bed and in a great location, you could be at the Louvre in 20 minutes as it's very close to the Nation Metro station. Lots of shops and restaurants with local flavours. The room was very small and the shower even smaller, 2'x2' at the most. I'm 6 ft and 220 lbs so it was difficult to maneuver around in there. There was a leak in the bathroom the entire time I was there, they wrapped a towel around the pipe and said they would call someone, I woke to a large puddle on the floor every morning. The power went off about 5 times in my 5 days. Breakfast was okay when you could get a seat, same selection of croissants and cheeses, it was fresh and the coffee was good. I opted to eat out in the mornings mostly, it was cheaper and you can always get a great sandwich at a local bakery. I didn't find them very knowledgeable about answering general tourist questions but there were a lot of flyers in the foyer to get you what you need.
If you're on a budget, not too fussy and you're not too large of a person, this hotel will serve the purpose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PianoKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ferté-sous-Jouarre, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in Lux hotel, great location, right in the fun part of Paris and very near a central station (rer and metro nation). Very kind and helpfull staff. Rooms were not too big, but very cozy, very clean and quite fancy. The price is very reasonable for a nice hotel inside paris.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rémy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and were very surprised to see that besides its very reasonable prices for a hotel in Paris, the place had really everything we could expect to spend a nice time visiting Paris! The place was very very clean and even if the room was a bit small, we were very impressed by the very nice bathroom. The breakfast was very good and offered an impressively big choice of food. The metro station Nation (5min walks from the hôtel) has so many connections that we were close (in time) to every sites we wanted to see, we even had time to do extra tactivities we hadn't planned, like a very pleasant walk in the wood in the "bois de vincennes" that was 10min walks from the hotel (a piece of advice that were given to us by the very nice employees of the hotel!). On the whole i would just say not to hesitate to stay at this hotel because there is no way you could be disappointed for a so low price in Paris!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandy_sandy_nono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights - great location, 7 min walk from major metro station (Nation). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and in good condition and price was very reasonable. Will definitely stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanaz3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
#1,209 of 1,800 in Paris
162 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Le Petit Cosy Hotel
Le Petit Cosy Hotel
#1,291 of 1,800 in Paris
3 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
#883 of 1,800 in Paris
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#217 of 1,800 in Paris
935 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Agate Hotel
Agate Hotel
#1,342 of 1,800 in Paris
90 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Grand Hotel Dore
Grand Hotel Dore
#519 of 1,800 in Paris
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Hotel Picpus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Hotel Picpus

Property: Lux Hotel Picpus
Address: 74 boulevard de Picpus, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#367 Family Hotel in Paris
#407 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lux Hotel Picpus 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Lux Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing