We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Memorial De La Shoah
from $42.46
More Info
from $233.25
More Info
from $136.56
More Info
Reviews (1,173)
Filter reviews
1,173 results
Traveler rating
822
274
55
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
822
274
55
14
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,173 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

In what is now a busy, modern European city, it's easy to forget the pain that Paris, indeed the whole of France, experienced during the 2nd world war. This charming, thoughtful museum brings home exactly what happened - the deportations, the mass murder - that was visited on France in those times.

the multi-lingual team are helpful and friendly, and while this is a museum to the Jewish experience, it is relevant to everyone. this is not just a Jewish experience, but an experience highlighting the consequences of extreme views, no matter who their target.

Once finished here, perhaps take the walk to the Musee D'Orsay, and remind yourself that this was the station from which many of the deportees departed, and to which only a handful ever returned.

Jamais Oubliée

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank XanderDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

What an amazing museum and memorial. The fact that it's free is crazy. The photos and stories are heart wrenching and poignant but also such a relevant part of Paris' history. I always think that I will be prepared for the emotions that places like this evoke but I never really am. This is a must do.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank maymay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

This museum, slightly off the main Rue de Rivoli is mostly well done. I say mostly because many of the photos are displayed too high to see. The descriptions are in French and English so that's a good thing for us Yanks, but it was difficult to see everything.
Admission is free. There was also a temporary exhibit on Comic Books and the Holocaust - an unlikely pairing. It was interesting to see but there were no English translations so we couldn't get the full impact or humor.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank 940loisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

I make a point of visiting holocaust memorials where ever I visit. I have seen quite a few. this one left me wanting more. Considering the history of Jews in France and how the French treated the Jews in WWII there was very little shown. The Vel' d'Hiv Roundup and mass arrest of Jews in Paris was not mentioned.
All the display cards were in French.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank stefanl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Visited from Israel.
Disappointed to realise everything is in French, with no subtitles or alternatives for others to understand the story and context.
Would have expected at least an English version of some of the things.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Boaz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews