We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Romantic Park”

Square du Vert-Galant
Ranked #207 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small park on the Île de la Cité.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,889 reviews
921 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Romantic Park”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot for a rest or a bite to eat. The park is fenced and so safe for children. You can wander down to to the edge of the Island, and get some great views toward the West, beautiful in the setting sun.

Helpful?
2 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oasis in Paris”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This little garden on the point of the Île de la Cité in Paris is an oasis. Grab some lunch (preferably bread and cheese) and go and sit and watch the world go by, you won't regret this!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyndal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Probably Great in Summer”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to this lovely park on a cold winters day, and it was empty due to the weather. I believe during summer this would be a great Park to visit.,it is in the fork of the Seine River and has great views of the Louvre and the Latin Quarter. I wouldn't bother going there on a cold day, but during Summer it would be amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Romantic Spot”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

On the western tip of the Isle de la Cite, this park is reputed to be one of the more romantic spots in Paris. We had just visited Saint-Chapelle and the Conciergerie so it was inevitable that we would find our way to the Square du Vert-Galant. With views of the Latin Quarter on the left bank and the Louvre in the distance on the right bank this was an ideal spot to view comings and goings on the Seine. This is an area where couples traditionally attach padlocks to bridges and throw keys in the river as a sign of affection. We didn't have a padlock so we exchanged a kiss at the end of the promontory and were glad we made the effort to find this delightful spot. It was mid-December, cold and overcast, but it was still well worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“oasis of calm”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

One of only three parks on the Ile de Cite this one is at the western tip. A small but delightful park in which to relax and watch the river traffic go by. With excellent views of the Latin Quarter on the left bank and the awesome Louvre on the right. A delightful spot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square du Vert-Galant also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Square du Vert-Galant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing