We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Petit Moulin
Ranked #323 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice quirky hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had a nice room, with good decor (bright pink) - not five star standard, but fine. The staff were friendly. The wi-fi had a strong signal, and was free (perhaps the management have taken account of previous reviews on this website complaining about charges).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australianlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    114
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
30
264
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Paris hotel rooms are tiny. With that in mind we booked an executive room.
We had room 403 on the topfloor. It was really spacious, comfortabel and light.
Our room was not one of the more 'outrages' ones, which was fines by me 'cause my boyfriend does not necesserily wants to sleep in a purple & pink room...
If you do, be sure to state so in your booking.

Our bed was great.
Some rooms are at streetside. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

The location is wonderful! This nortern part of the Marais is packed with boutiques, cafes, galeries etc, but much less crowded then near the (also wonderful) Place des Vosges.
Close to the hotel are 2 Velib' stations, where you can grab a bike and get anywhere in a heartbeat.

We absolutely LOVED our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CERAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I already gave my opinion on that hotel few years ago. But it is rare that when you go back, everybody remembers you and that the new visit is even better if possible that the previous ones. 17 rooms, all different, all changing over time, everything looks new all the time... Thank you Christian Lacroix for designing this most lovely place - and thanks in particular for the beautiful bar. So small, so nice, so secret... the coffee is delicious, breakfast with fresh fruits, and if you want champagne... mandatory in Paris in August isn't it.
And the very best best best in the hotel ? THE PEOPLE at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara187870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

loved this hotel and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. the room was not huge, but so artfully decorated and centrally located. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Each room had a unique design with interesting combinations of wallpaper, contemporary lighting and unique furniture. The common areas were beautifully designed with polka dot carpet in the stairwells, full wall murals in the dining room and elevator and colourful and well thought out accessories. The bathroom was very modern with large towels and heated towel rack. There was only a bath with a hand-held shower, which could not be suspended above head height which made showers and particularly washing hair very difficult. There also wasn't a shower screen so the entire bathroom/toilet/sink got saturated. Not sure if this was the same in every room (we had the cheapest room).

The staff always had a smile, were friendly and gave good advice.

Although there was wi-fi internet, you had to log into it every time you used it and it was quite painfully slow.

The location was excellent. The Marais is probably one of the coolest suburbs in Paris, being home to both the Jewish and gay communities. We could explore the more touristy streets with shopping, cafes and bakeries or chill just a few streets away with the locals. We were within walking distance of many main tourist attractions and restaurants but for anything further afield there was a train station two blocks away.

The breakfast the hotel offered was lovely. There was fruit salad, cereal, orange juice, coffee, hot chocolate, croissants, breads, jams and yogurt, all served in a really cute dining room. Unfortunately we didn't realise breakfast wasn't included and got a bit of a surprise when we paid for the room and had additional 15 euro daily charges. Not the end of the world. It was tasty!

We would definitely recommend Hotel du Petit Moulin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouncylipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at Hotel du petit moulin in june 2011. We had a superior room, but was toghether with to friends who stayed in comfort rooms and all were equally nice. The staff was very accomorating and helping us with all questions we might have. The location is superb. Especially if you like the Marais district, with all the little boutiques and restaurants! I was a bit curious about the breakfast before we got there, because I feared a simple continental breakfast. I was relieved, even though the breakfast is continental, there is fruit salad, yoghurt, sweet and plain bread, cheese, jams and whatever coffee you'd like. I especially enjoyed the fact that the hotel was small! It made us feel like a valued guest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seri_over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Olivier = 5 stars [hotel staff is outstanding].
The hotel I'd give 3 1/2. I really wanted to like this hotel given the great reviews.
The bed was fairly comfortable. The star and a half deduction can be mostly attributed to the tired and CB2'ish decor - yes, funky but closer inspection is by no means 5 stars. The bathroom itself is roomy [in the executive] but the tub only had a handheld shower head meaning you have to crouch and/or 'take a bath' shower. The Very slow drain = bath time. Warming towel rack adds a nice touch.
Location is ideal in the Marais and the wireless did not work well in our room on our visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raisingkaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#45 of 1,802 in Paris
186 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#34 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jules & Jim
Hotel Jules & Jim
#164 of 1,802 in Paris
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#83 of 1,802 in Paris
183 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#389 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
#643 of 1,802 in Paris
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Moulin

Property: Hotel du Petit Moulin
Address: 29 rue de Poitou, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#236 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Moulin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Petit Moulin is an authentic residence, decorated throughout by Christian Lacroix. With its location in the Haut Marais district, guests will discover a host of treasures. This renowned 4-star boutique hotel gives guests the chance to discover each luxury room and suite's unique charm and character, each one more surprising than the last. The Hotel du Petit Moulin has 16 rooms and one Junior Suite The rooms and suites at the Hotel du Petit Moulin in Paris, each one decorated in different style, all have their own particular colour scheme and character. They are all decorated in a stylish, modern, bold, yet harmonious, style, where every tiny detail corresponds exactly to each room's unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Petit Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Moulin Paris
Du Petit Moulin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing