We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Villa Des Artistes
Ranked #416 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and Quiet”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice hotel, quiet, and very helpful desk staff. No frills, small rooms, but clean and modern. Location good near the Luxenburg Gardens and Metro stops; a little furhter walk to Notre Dame than expected, but that was okay. Breakfast not worth the bang for the Euro, 16 euro for minimal buffet. We found a cafe nearby that was very pleasant. Lots of cafes and bistros in the neighborhood and dest staff eager to give suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    248
    54
    9
    9
See reviews for
102
213
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londoner
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I loved this hotel! It was a surprise trip to Paris for my mum and she loved it. My favourite was the very stylish rooms and art on the walls; all tastefully appointed and very cleverly used, despite the space constraints. The location was fab..just a few yards from Vavin Metro and you could go just about anywhere!

The staff were also very helpful and just made it such a relaxing place to be. There were some niggly little things; intermittent wi-fi connectivity, the fact that breakfast was quite limited and at 16 Euros not cheap either. I would recommend you get rooms on the 5th floor; the lead-footed guest above us made sleeping a bit of a challenge! Would definitely visit again. Merci beaucoup!

Room Tip: Pick 5th floor - lower risk of getting nosy guest above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searcherLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Considering this is a Best Western, these are not too shabby digs for price and aesthetics.

When we arrived, contractors were madly hammering away at a barren room near the lobby. In less than 4 days, a decent sitting lounge and bar appeared. We did not get to partake in this area as we checked out a day after its completion. But it was indeed a sign that this hotel was making an effors to up the ante in appeal.

The room:
I appreciated the modern-style decor and the ode to famous artists. We landed in the Salvador Dali wing. His quirky quotes adorned our doors. Never mind the good-sized pothole in the carpet just before our entryway, which was interesting to step into every day.

The rooms are comfortably furnished. Although our king bed was really two twins pushed together. That's such a pet peeve of mine. They have some Velcro-mechanism that kept the two beds together well, but just knowing that there was a split down the middle was a bit of downer. The mattresses however, were just fine. Not too hard, not too soft.

The bathroom:
We were on the third floor and the water pressure in the shower was something to be desired. The bathtub has a very high side, so step cautiously in and out. It could be a neck breaker.

Splash sparingly because the glass wall does little to prevent water from spilling onto the floor. The shower head is one that can be hand held or adjusted in height. I swear the cleaning lady intentionally turned the shower head facing OUT so it would spray me when I started the bath! What the hell did I ever do to her?!

Toiletries and towels:
Shampoo and body wash provided, but they aren't anything special.The towels are slightly thicker than paper napkins but quite possibly just as rough.

The noise:
Who the heck is saying this place is quiet? With two restaurants along this small side street, there's plenty of noise all the way up until 2 am! And I swear the garbage truck came every other morning.

The staff:
During our stay, it seemed like the desk was staffed by a woman by day and I found them both to be very friendly and their English good. Night staff was mostly men, one of them kind of creepy.

So why the "Very Good" rating?
Having stayed here for 5 nights, overall this place met our needs just fine. The place is getting a facelift, so everything is fairly new and clean. The location, as everyone has mentioned truly is great.There's a cute little boulangerie just around the corner to get your daily caffeine fix and croissant. Across the way, there are two markets, one up till 9 pm, the other till 10 pm. Plenty of great restaurants to choose from in the area and of course, have the Vavin Metro station so close was a huge plus. Free WiFi,which is always nice. And truth be told, if I thought that little side street was noisy, I can only imagine what the noise level must be like if our hotel was on the main drag. So I pick my battles, and appreciate all that we got for the decent price point we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shiubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I really liked this hotel, the room was exactly as shown in the pictures. Being a Parisian hotel, the room is small, but I thought they had used the space very cleverly. Service was great, with nice, friendly staff (helps if you speak a little French), very efficient check-in and check-out and they use proper smart cards to control the door, so none of those annoying trips to reception when your phone wipes the card.

I didn't try breakfast, but there are plenty of places nearby to try if you want. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 101010101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd stay at this hotel. It's a minutes walk from Vivin metro and Rue de Montparnasse yet off the beaten track enough to be very quiet. Something hard to find in Paris. Only complaint is that there is only one option for breakfast at 18 Euros currently which is very expensive. Cafes and Patisseries around wil do croissants and coffee for less than half that. There are lots of restaurants, cafe's, creperies and other options around for evening meals. Rooms are a good size, clean with recently refurbished bathrooms. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garysevern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 5 days stay at Villa des artistes. Staff were very helpful, tips on sight visits, train rides, taxi strikes. Breakfast was good, the Nespresso machine serve reliable coffee every morning. Really like the location, very closets Vavin station, and a history of artists staying in the same street. Recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed 2 days, since we would be joining a river cruise. We arrived 3 hours before check in, but were able to leave our luggage at the hotel so we could start seeing Paris. We were greeted by a very pleasing desk clerk. She labeled our suitcases and they were taken into the lounge. When we returned, we were given our key and our luggage was already in the room. The room faced the courtyard. It was a very quiet room. THe room it self was a comfortable size, and it was clean. The bathroom had a bath tub, that was hard to get into to use the shower. The tub itself was very difficult to get into as I am no spring chicken, and the tub was at least 30" high. I would recommend this hotel. The breakfast buffet was adequate. It had fresh fruit, very good sweet rolls, coffee, orange juice and several dry cereals. It is in the 6th direct. It is part of the Best Western chain.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#165 of 1,802 in Paris
687 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#213 of 1,802 in Paris
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#178 of 1,802 in Paris
660 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#339 of 1,802 in Paris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Villa Des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Villa Des Artistes

Property: Best Western Villa Des Artistes
Address: 9 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#287 Family Hotel in Paris
#311 Business Hotel in Paris
#435 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Villa Des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the peaceful atmosphere at BEST WESTERN La Villa des Artistes, in the heart of the Left Bank. Take a stroll around Saint Germain des Prés or go for a relaxing walk in the Luxembourg Gardens nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Villa Des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Villa Des Artistes Hotel Paris
Best Western Des Artistes
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing