We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Fred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fred Hotel
Ranked #237 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

+ the bed, the shower, no noise from outside

-the see-trought wall in the bathroom, next to the toilet with a mirror in front of it to make sure that there was nowhere in the room where you could not see what was going on in the toilet. -small room even for Parisian standards. -booked a deluxe room, not sure I've got one -the shower floded the whole bathroom - no room for luggage - location. ok there is a metrostation nearby (like every where in Paris. Still far from all sights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugues L, Propriétaire at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We try our best to enhance our hotel to satifsfy our clients.
We acknowledge there is a problem of privacy in certain bathrooms. We have currently been coping with this problem installing translucid films in order to make a visual separation between the bathroom and the rest of the room. It's in progress but not finished yet and we apologize for it.
We've got rooms with different sizes and different prices, we are proud to offer a choice to our customers and we regreat that you felt your room too small.
Concerning the area, the hotel is located in a "true" Parisian district, it means an area with bars, restaurants, various little shops and where Parisians can afford to live in. We agree with you that it's not a touristic area with museums and shopping centres. The subway allows our clients to be linked with these touristic places in Paris. Hugues L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    310
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
145
320
42
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes/France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was my first stay in that hotel and I recommend it as it is located in a nice area with a lot of restaurant around. Even if it is not a touristic place in Paris, it is typical and chaming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIERRE2NANTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Most people don't bottom line things here, so please allow us to do that for you:

1) Overall, this hotel is a pretty great deal. It's literally two blocks from two different subway stations, so getting into downtown Paris only takes 10 - 20 minutes. The hotel is very clean and well kept, the public kitchen area is very nice and cozy, the rooms are very clean and very well kept, and the staff was mostly helpful, except...

2) Most Americans like their privacy. We posted the "Do not disturb" sign on our door because when we like to be left alone and when we go out, we don't want someone in our room. If we want maid service, we'll call down for it. While we were away, they went into our room even with the DNDisturb sign posted on the door. We talked with the hotel Manager about it and he apologized and told us he'd talk to the staff, but he wouldn't give us any credit. I asked for even $20 to show good customer service and he refused. This lack of customer service is common throughout Europe, however, so fine, we pushed on. Just don't expect the kind of customer service you get in America. In Europe, they will provide you with something decent for a price, but the cost-value is not there as it is in the states and their concept of service is different than ours.

3) The hotel is actually in an alley that's kind of shotty looking, and they don't publicize that anywhere. When we first approached, we were expecting a disappointing hotel, as the area around it on the street is somewhat dirty and unfriendly. However, the hotel IS nice and clean.

4) If you're going to book, do it on-line and get one of their specials so you get a deal on the room.

5) The rooms are SMALL! Don't be fooled. They're cool, and they're cozy and they're well made, VERY quiet, etc., but they are very small.

6) Lastly, there seems to be a policy in Europe that people don't put top sheets on their beds. This is also something that was a real pain the butt, as most Americans sleep with a bottom sheet, a top sheet over them and then the comforter. They have just a bottom sheet and a comforter and that made sleeping a little hot and awkward sometimes. I recommend you travel with your own top sheet (seriously) if you're going to travel around Europe and stay in these cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Fred Hotel was just great! The room had nice modern decor, although the door to the bathroom was clear glass, but hey, you've seen one then you've seen them all! The bed was super comfy and I think the walls were soundproofed becuase there was no external noises at all which was fantastic. The staff were warm and friendly which is always nice! There was a safe in the room, and plenty of toiletries for the two of us. The hotel is located a couple minutes walk from two metro stops and so you can get to anywhere in Paris within five or ten minutes!
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but I'm sure it would have been great!
The room was perfectly clean!
We even checked out a few minutes late and they did not mind at all!
There are also plenty of bars and restaurants in the streets surrounding the hotel.
There is a temperature and air con system inside the room which was brilliant!!!
I found the hotel on booking.com as "deal of the the day" although I would happily pay their full prices!
A great stay! I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georginarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

clean and chic at a nice and convenient location
Freiendly staff. Good value in Paris

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nupuvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a wonderful short break in Paris, thanks to Fred Hotel. It is a perfect base to explore the city, located in a lively but safe neighbourhood with great little restaurants and the Sunday famers' market just around the corner. Two metro stations close by make it very easy to go about and discover Paris. The hotel staff is very friendly and will do everything to make you feel at home. Next time we will bring the rest of the family!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#122 of 1,802 in Paris
279 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#273 of 1,802 in Paris
1,543 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#418 of 1,802 in Paris
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#73 of 1,802 in Paris
772 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#114 of 1,802 in Paris
551 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#397 of 1,802 in Paris
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fred Hotel

Property: Fred Hotel
Address: 11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Paris
#121 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#163 Family Hotel in Paris
#317 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fred Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fred Hotel is a warm and intimate 3-star boutique hotel with elegant and contemporary style. Fred Hotel is located in the heart of the 14th arrondissement, a neighbourhood which has kept its lively, welcoming stores and village-like atmosphere, close to Gare Montparnasse and Porte de Versailles. The cosy feel of Fred Hotel starts at the lobby with its Jean Prouve and Charles § Ray Eames furniture, its huge contemporary fireplace and its bookshelf generously filled with works of art and novels. Our multilingual team will personally welcome you, taking utmost care to anticipate your needs and ensure you have a very pleasant stay. Public transport (metro line 13) leads you directly to the heart of Paris to visit the main tourist sites or for your business appointments. The 36 rooms, including 2 designed to accommodate guests with reduced mobility, are equipped with custom furnishings, quality materials and high-tech devices including a flat screen television, reversible air conditioning, free WIFI access and a safe with power outlet. Original lithographs give a personal and unique touch to each room! A charming terrace offers a peaceful haven to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fred Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing