We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want character, head elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Terrasse
Ranked #1,616 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Headed there with my boyfriend as I wanted somewhere with character- it's Paris afterall. The photos on the hotel's website suggest it does. Well it doesn't. You may as well book into the mercure or somewhere just as cheap and 2 star than here as you'll get the same thing. The lobby has a totally corporate, plain feel. The rooms are tiny which isn't a big deal and yet it is given this is supoosed to be a 4 star hotel. The decor in the room makes you feel like you're staying at some friend's Granny's house. The only thing going for it is the location and i'd definitely recommend staying near rue caulaincourt which is packed with gorgeous boutiques and brasseries where you can sit outside and watch the world go by. Pigalle is gross, but around rue cailaincourt is montmarte, a world away from pigalle. So stay around there, but not in this hotel. Super friendly staff at the reception though i must say.

Room Tip: At least ask for a room on the 5th floor/ higher and looking out at Paris, not the dingy courtyard i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked this hotel via booking.com. I thought the rate was among the lowest I could find at that time. I paid EU180 for 3 nights for 2 pax, so I think it is quite ok.

My room was on the fourth floor overlooking the busy street junction. It is a wee bit small, with an en-suite toilet which is adequate but a bit cramp and can only fit 1 person at a time. It is slightly bigger than the lavatory you find in an airplane, and with a shower. The room was well maintained and clean.

It's biggest advantage is that it is conveniently located next to a Metro, the very end of Porte de Clignancourt line. From this line, you can go just about everywhere.

For Muslims, there is a halal cafe Occo Chicken downstairs selling fried chicken and burgers so food will not be a problem.

The room does not have any kettle to boil water, but you can go to the pantry on the ground floor and help yourself there.

The staff are also helpful and the reception is always present 24/7 so there will be assistance at any time in cases you might need help.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arifeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

After reading some of the reviews we were worried about what we would find. The location is right next to a metro. Run down entrance. Shabby Walls and carpet. But the room was ok for what we needed. We booked a quadruple room which was great. Decent size. Clean towels, clean bathroom, basic toiletries supplied. Hair drier in the room. Definitely run down but for the money was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diannenewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked this hotel while driving to Paris and I wish we had done more research. WIth over 1,200 hotels in Paris you can definitely find both value and comfort. The hotel only cost us 230 euro for three nights for four people. However, next time I would definitely spend more money for a better room and location.

The room was the largest in the hotel but was stuffed with two single beds and one double. The bathroom was miniscule and so was the shower. You could not even turn around in it without brushing the shower curtain. On a positive note, the linen and bathroom were clean and changed daily. The staircase is a spiral staircase, quite narrow, without an elevator. The front desk was less of a front desk and more of a security guard. Don't even think about room service or breakfast. There was construction ongoing as well. There is free wifi and it was decently fast for cell phone browsing. There are several fast food opportunities and some cafes near the hotel but we went into Paris for real meals. The hotel is located near Port de Clignancourt, about as far north as you can get in Paris. It was located only 50m away from the subway stop which allowed us to get into Paris with minimal hassle. Still, we were not within walking distance of any of the main attractions. There was some road noise as our room faced the road but we did not hear any interior noise from other guests.

Overall, it was a suitable for sleeping on a budget but you would not want to hang around there for much else. Not a romantic Parisian hotel to take your wife or girlfriend to. Better options are out there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottieWP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This terrific hotel is conveniently situated in Monmartre, close to Blanche underground station and the 95 bus (among others) which goes directly to the Louvre. Our room was comfortable and well appointed and a treat to return to after a busy day sightseeing. The pillow menu was most welcome and attention to detail was very evident. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection to choose from. Daniele Lidon and her team looking after the concierge area have to receive special mention for their assistance, pleasantness and willingness to help at every turn. Easy internet access was very useful and constantly available. All of the staff in the hotel from the general manger down were polite, friendly and helpful and made our week in Paris a wonderful one.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet looking on to a pleasant courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret6118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

the location is very near to Underground train station. location is great, lots of coffee house and restaurant, the price was 55 EURO per room per night at that that time so it was very affordable, but the room is incredibly small.there is only bed and no space left. there is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow. this hotel is OK for budget trip with friends, but for family, i do not think so.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andes132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is directly across the road from Porte De Clignancourt, and there is a supermarket and McDonalds right across the road, however the area itself feels particularly unsafe, with a lot of pickpockets and beggars.
The hotel was in fairly shabby condition, including loose wiring everywhere (dangerous) and a very narrow staircase (with no lift). The hotel rooms were old and shabby, but mainly clean, and fine if you weren't spending much time there.

Free WiFi available in the lobby, and there is also a computer you can pay to use.

There were locking doors with card entry for our rooms and there was a small safe in our room for valuables.

I found the area to be particularly noisy at night, which made it difficult to sleep with windows open, however there was no air conditioning. There were firecrackers being let off every night, plus a lot of police sirens in the area.

I found the staff to be mainly unfriendly. One night all the lighting in our room went off. We thought a fuse may have blown and went down to reception. We were told that it was too late for anyone to do anything, and that we should just go back to our room. They didn't even check the fuse box or find out if other guests were affected. Luckily, the lighting came back on within about 10min however there were a couple more short blackouts.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again but if you just wanted a bed, and weren't fussy, it would probably be fine. My main concern is that for the same price, we stayed in two much nicer hotels in Paris, in better locations.

N.B. There is a photo on TripAdvisor of "Hotel De La Terrasse" with a man in an expensive looking lobby - THIS IS NOT THE ACTUAL HOTEL DE LA TERRASSE LOBBY.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,432 of 1,802 in Paris
179 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,559 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,379 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence International Paris
#1,312 of 1,802 in Paris
25 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,162 of 1,802 in Paris
283 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,538 of 1,802 in Paris
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Terrasse

Address: 67 rue Letort | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,616 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de la Terrasse 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de la Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Terrasse Paris
De La Terrasse Hotel
Terrasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing