We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean, Wonderful Staff!!!”
Review of Hotel du Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Lion
Ranked #675 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have had a wonderful experience in this hotel! Very clean rooms, the hotel is near the metro and the rer so you can go everywhere in 10 minuts :)
Adorable staff, very kind :D
good services...
PERFECT!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanuela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 456 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

In April of 2013, I reserved a room of the type described as "Les Parisiens," but when I arrived in September, I was told that no such room was available and that my room was on the 8th floor, which is the attic. No believable reason was given for the fact that the kind of room I reserved was unavailable, and no one denied that others were staying in the type of room that I had reserved back in April. As a consolation, I was told that I could have the petit dejeuner at no charge. I do not care for the petit dejeuner at this hotel and did not think much of the offer. The petit dejeuner across the street is better and cheaper. In fairness, I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past with no problem whatsoever, but in this instance I think the hotel was careless to say the least and at worst, just plain dishonest.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the 8th floor. Don't assume that the room you reserve is the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent and under rated location. Pity about the stairs. The Le Lakanal bar nearby is great. Buses from Denfert Rochereau are brilliant. Is on direct train line from CDG airport and very near anywhere on left bank.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plynroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

from the moment i began corresponding with hotel du lion and until i walked out the door i was treated like a viviting digntary. i cannot say enough about the service, my beautiful room with eiffel tower in view at night and the location. Voila!!!

Room Tip: on busy streets so noise is an issue if you want your windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights. Location was excellent - bus stops and train station right outside. A supermarket and cafes/ restaurants were also close by. Room was basic but clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ideal hotel for a Paris city break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is very well located, next to the RER B station (the train that goes to Roissy-Charles de Gaulle airport) and a metro station. In addition, a line of the Open Tour touristic bus line stops nearby.
By Parisian standards, the hotel is good enough, with a decent price. Staff is polite and rooms are clean and well isolated. Do not expect big rooms, it is still Paris, but the area is sufficient.
The breakfast (not included) costs 10 EUR. It does not include anything heavy (like eggs or jam), only croissants, milk, coffee, yogurts and orange juice. Anyway, there are plenty of places around, including "Indiana" and McDonalds.

Room Tip: I got a room on the 7th floor with two balconies overlooking Denfert-Rocherau Square. I think these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location, close to Metro, convenient to get to and from the airport and around the city. We booked an AC room which was a life saver in the hot summer in Paris. Room was tiny but nice, quiet and clean. (i saw reviews saying it's noisy in the room but it has not been the case for us) Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice neighbourhood with restaurants, cafes and market. GOod walk to the Jardin du Luxemburg for a picnic. Got a view of the Eiffel tower from our room where we enjoyed the national day fireworks! High recommend this hotel especially if you are on a budget!

Room Tip: book the AC room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Du Midi Paris Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#532 of 1,802 in Paris
143 reviews
Montparnasse
Best Western Le Nouvel Orleans Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#470 of 1,802 in Paris
722 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#519 of 1,802 in Paris
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lion

Address: 1 avenue du General Leclerc | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#391 Family Hotel in Paris
#391 Business Hotel in Paris
#498 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $90 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Lion 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is strategically located, a stone's throw from Montparnasse. within a few minutes, you can get directly to all the main tourist attractions : Eiffel Tower, the Champs Elysees, the Latin Quarter...in general, our rooms are two star, and have high quality facilities : bath or shower, hair dryer, toilet, trouser press, desk, double glazing, direct line telephone and television with satellite channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lion Paris
Du Lion Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing