We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Maine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Maine
Ranked #1,294 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in April 2014. We arrived early so the person in the reception offered us to leave our suitcases there. The room was clean and nice; small, but enough space for us. When we entered it smelled as if someone had been smoking inside, but we opened the window and the most of the smell went.
The location is great, near an underground station and in a big street. We came back past 12 one night and it didn't feel unsafe at all, people and cars moving around.
The staff was very friendly.
On monday morning it was very noisy because there must be a school or something like that very near, but closing the windows stopped the noise at once.
We were very very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria190210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    86
    63
    29
    24
See reviews for
19
68
55
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kernow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I read the other reviews which varied quite a lot from good to poor. The room was small but clean and serviced each day. The beds were fine although standard size rather than king or queen size. I stayed for 2 nights at the end of March and the room was quite warm so we had the window open but there wasn't any great noise outside - only the street cleaning in the morning - however, there isn't air conditioning and the hotter days in the summer months might be a bit uncomfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I didn't try the breakfast but it looked okay - however in the neighbourhood there are plenty of nice cafes that offer great breakfasts. It is a budget hotel and taking all into account, I think it offered value for money and I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee-dub59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel has nice friendly helpful staff. The room was basic and clean with a comfy bed, mini fridge, tv, safe deposit box etc. The bathroom was a bit dated and not a proper shower, only a hose connected to the taps. There was no space in the hotel car park but we managed to park in an adjacent street (It is only free in August). The best part about this hotel is the location, it is close to a couple of metro stations and there are plenty of nice good value restaurants, bars and cafes in the vicinity which we enjoyed in the evening after Paris sight seeing or for breakfast, Rue Daguerre is an especially nice street. All in all,it is by no means perfect but for a budget stay this is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsanmarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very small room. Literally two feet on either side of the bed. Just imagine that the bathroom door only opened about 3/4 of the way till it hit the bed. There was a plasma tv, comfy beds and extra pillow which was good. However, the hotel has no air-conditioning, which is something to consider on very hot summer days!!! Very small shower space.

Overall, simple and nothing to complain about besides size of shower and room (the latter is apparently common for Paris though). It is also near to the Metro station to get into the City Centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in Apr. It was really awful to see three used condoms under bed at the first night. The hair dryer was broken as well. Someone’s hair is left on the blanket and bed. I doubt if the room has ever been entirely cleaned. I left a notice in the room, hoping the above problems will be fixed. But the three condoms were still under bed the second night!!!! The condoms were finally away from the room on the third day but the hair dryer was broken till the last day. The best part of the hotel should be its location and nice staff only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

...and you don´t plan to spend all day in a hotel room, then this is a good choice. Small but clean room with comfy bed.My only problem was with shower as water pressure was too weak. The best thing about this place is its location, conveniently close to metro station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filmulienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

i stayed in this hotel during Easter period, the hotel was so better than some other hotels i have paid higher for, room was perfect, clean sheets, clean and private bathroom, excellent wifi and nice staff and to the metro and main rail station, you could easily get to anywhere from it, i got more than i expected. I recommend it any day and will come back again when in paris

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
#1,377 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,269 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
#1,382 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,351 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
#1,201 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Maine

Property: Hotel du Maine
Address: 16 rue Maison Dieu | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,294 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Maine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel du Maine is an exquisite hotel with new hotel standards, always booking for modernity and comfort. Located in a quiet little street, however in the heart of Paris! Very well distributed, then very closed to Montparnasse station y del metro Gaîté, the hotel du Maine can receive you for your business travels or your holidays. Most of its 31 rooms overlook a courtyard, the modernized lift, the decoration in the “air of time” and the reception 24 hours/24 are some examples of what the hotel du Maine car offer to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Maine Paris
Du Maine Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing