We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Maine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Maine
Ranked #1,293 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Woodridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in August of 2012. I had little difficulty with most of the aspects of my stay. I had not opted to pre-purchase breakfast on the 3 mornings that I would be there. On two mornings, I decided to eat breakfast at the hotel, and paid the desk clerks in cash. When I checked out, the clerk (a different one from the two to whom I had paid cash) stated that I had not paid for the breakfasts and insisted that I do so at check-out. I protested that I had paid cash and that there should be some record, or, at least, he could check with the other clerks, but his response was a terse "Non!" Not wanting to miss my flight, I paid for the breakfasts (again.) I later emailed the hotel about this matter, but they insisted that they could not determine that I had paid cash to the clerks and refused to refund the double payment. It would probably be actionable to suggest that the two clerks had pocketed the cash, so I will officially suppose that there was an error in record-keeping, but the hotel's willingness to lose a future customer (and perhaps others based on this review) over a refusal to believe me and an inability to simply check with the clerks leaves me with a very unfavorable impression. I would strongly recommend that you avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimWearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    85
    62
    29
    24
See reviews for
18
67
55
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

All the members of staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. They were even kind enough to keep one of my bags for two weeks while I did other travelling. The lifts and the rooms were quite small but fine for a trip that was spent mostly out of the hotel doing sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leandra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days. This hotel wasn't expensive and all of the staff was kind. I didn't want to clean my room, it was possible. I didn't ask it but I think there is system of lunch and diner in all room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citron212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Located in the Montparnesse area and less than 10 minutes walk from the Metro station and less than 15 minutes from Gare Montparnasse, this small hotel suffices. There is not a lot of room to stretch out, but when in Paris, you should be out of the hotel most of the time.

I was pleasantly surprised by the small refrigerator in the room so that I could store my food.

The room is small and the Wifi signal did not reach my room, even though I was on the ground floor. But being on the ground floor enabled me to step out and sit in the lobby quite easily and get Wifi.

The front-desk staff is friendly and helpful with getting around Paris. They have good English skills.

The hotel is near a very busy street, Ave du Maine, with lots of shops and restaurants.

Clean bed, linens, bathroom and floors. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor so that you can get Wifi easily by stepping out of the room and into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The first, second and the lust impression of this hotel I can describe with one word - "average".

The room was small, but so was the price. Everything was clean and quiet. Wi-Fi area is only in the lobby and works poorly, though it was free of charge. We did not take breakfast and prefered to eat in the city. Front-desk guys were sweet and answered our questions pretty friendly. I wouldn't say the location was suberb, but metro-station was in walking distance.

Do I regret staying there? - No, I knew what to expect.
Would I stay there again? - Probably I would look for some other place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I recommend every young couple who are going to Paris to spend a romantic weekend. Hotel met my expectations, I was extremely happy with it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurvinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Rooms are quite small, but since you are in Paris, you will need them only for sleep, so it is not much of a problem. The prices are very reasonable (about 60€ for double), but do not expect anything fancy for your money. The location is also good, 5 min to metro-station and there are lots of brassieries and bakeries nearby. Staff at the reception was really helpful and nice.

Room Tip: room 57 - best view (street side, maybe bit noisier)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholas274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
#1,374 of 1,798 in Paris
56 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,274 of 1,798 in Paris
181 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,351 of 1,798 in Paris
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
#1,382 of 1,798 in Paris
100 reviews
Patio Brancion
#1,206 of 1,798 in Paris
119 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Maine

Property: Hotel du Maine
Address: 16 rue Maison Dieu | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,293 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Maine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel du Maine is an exquisite hotel with new hotel standards, always booking for modernity and comfort. Located in a quiet little street, however in the heart of Paris! Very well distributed, then very closed to Montparnasse station y del metro Gaîté, the hotel du Maine can receive you for your business travels or your holidays. Most of its 31 rooms overlook a courtyard, the modernized lift, the decoration in the “air of time” and the reception 24 hours/24 are some examples of what the hotel du Maine car offer to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Maine Paris
Du Maine Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing