We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service equal to its price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Maine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Maine
Ranked #1,293 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Service equal to its price”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The first, second and the lust impression of this hotel I can describe with one word - "average".

The room was small, but so was the price. Everything was clean and quiet. Wi-Fi area is only in the lobby and works poorly, though it was free of charge. We did not take breakfast and prefered to eat in the city. Front-desk guys were sweet and answered our questions pretty friendly. I wouldn't say the location was suberb, but metro-station was in walking distance.

Do I regret staying there? - No, I knew what to expect.
Would I stay there again? - Probably I would look for some other place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    86
    62
    29
    24
See reviews for
18
68
55
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I recommend every young couple who are going to Paris to spend a romantic weekend. Hotel met my expectations, I was extremely happy with it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurvinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Rooms are quite small, but since you are in Paris, you will need them only for sleep, so it is not much of a problem. The prices are very reasonable (about 60€ for double), but do not expect anything fancy for your money. The location is also good, 5 min to metro-station and there are lots of brassieries and bakeries nearby. Staff at the reception was really helpful and nice.

Room Tip: room 57 - best view (street side, maybe bit noisier)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholas274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Paris is expensive when it comes to hotels so this was a nice little budget find. Exactly what you expect from a 2* in Paris. There may be some better finds in the area but if you end up here, you'll be just fine. It wouldn't be my first choice but I would stay here again.
What we liked:
- the price
- clean
- friendly staff (rarer than you think in this city)
- elevator (also rarer than you think)
- free Wifi (with a very, very long password)
What could have been better:
- rooms were very small but had everything you'd need
- safe in the rooms was not working (or at least I couldn't get it to work) and it was never fixed despite notifying staff. However they were very nice about letting me put things in the safe in at the front desk.
- Breakfast: in a country of amazing bread, I was quite disappointed in the little croissants and other bread items provided in the buffet. I could have gotten better at a holiday inn in the state (no offense, holiday inn). There are boulangeries within 2 minutes in all directions - more effort needs to be made here.

Other than the breakfast, this hotel fully met my expectations but again, if you are looking for luxury, this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is a small, clean and friendly hotel located less than a 10 minute walk from the Montparnasse Train Station. Tucked in on a side street, it has little street noise. The only noise I heard was from a school that must have been close by when the children came out for lunch or break. The rooms and bathroom are small but clean. Suitable for a single or couple looking for a few days away. I did take the breakfast so I cannot comment on that. I stayed here in September and October 2009 and would definitely return, especially if I wanted to be close to the Montparnasse Train Station (which has bus connections to CDG airport).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillYTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Triple room booked in April for 2 adults & a teen for 4 nights. Put in a ground room with double bed and a "camp" cot. Next to breakfast & reception areas, no ventilation as the cot blocked opening the window. Cot collapsed at 2:30 AM. A segment of the metal frame bent in the middle. Scared my granddaughter so bad she screamed, blood curdling screams for minutes until we calmed her down. Despite much noise in lobby front desk area durring the night no one responded to screams. Not sure anything could be done at that hour anyway. Put mattress on floor and addressed problem in the morning with "manager" Were offered a new bed - not a cot - or a second room at no additional charge. Ended up with a second room. All was ok until Monday, as we were leaving out for the day - we had pre-booked tickets for the Eiffel Tower. We were told we had to get everything packed in the rooms because we had to change rooms. I asked for the manager, and was told he'd be there in the morning. It was the morning!! Told the gfirl behind the desk "No", she neeed to get this straight with the manager. This was not what we were told about the rooms. We left. When we got back the night clerk told us we would be charged for the rooms for 2 nights. We said no, asked for the manager, and were told he would be there in the morning. The next morning we were presented with a bill for the originally agreed upon amount for 4 nights in a triple and paid it in cash. The second room was their offer, replacing the bed would have been agreeable as well.
YESTERDAY THEY CHARGED OUR CREDIT CARD 150 Euros!!!!!!!
We will, of course, fight this through the credit card company.
In general the hotel was what was to be expected for under 100 Euro a night, old, showing wear, no frills but in an area that was quite nice and between 2 metro lines. If not for the BS we've have used them on future trips.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

It was very unfortunate that there appears to be a problem with thefts and the hotel does not seem to be interested in assisting, even though there appeared to be surveillance video. My mother told me that she heard someone trying our doorknob two nights in a row! We were located just down the hall from the front desk, so I didn't think it to be possible. The theft occurred when our luggage was left in the lobby area, (beneath the counter where breakfast was served). An unlocked carry-on was entered and my mother's scarf and some food items were stolen. I sent 2 emails to the hotel, however NO RESPONSE FROM THEM!! I loved the location of the hotel, however I can't say I'd stay there again as the cleanliness was also in question. They sprayed way too much Febreeze (or similar), to the point that we had to ask them to not do that anymore. Most of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, some not so much. They need to deal with their theft issue, it's either staff or????

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tereea59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
#1,374 of 1,798 in Paris
56 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,274 of 1,798 in Paris
181 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,351 of 1,798 in Paris
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
#1,382 of 1,798 in Paris
100 reviews
Patio Brancion
#1,206 of 1,798 in Paris
119 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Maine

Property: Hotel du Maine
Address: 16 rue Maison Dieu | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,293 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Maine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel du Maine is an exquisite hotel with new hotel standards, always booking for modernity and comfort. Located in a quiet little street, however in the heart of Paris! Very well distributed, then very closed to Montparnasse station y del metro Gaîté, the hotel du Maine can receive you for your business travels or your holidays. Most of its 31 rooms overlook a courtyard, the modernized lift, the decoration in the “air of time” and the reception 24 hours/24 are some examples of what the hotel du Maine car offer to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Maine Paris
Du Maine Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing