We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #1,219 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
London
Level Contributor
444 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great location and a good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

this hotel is located in a great place, near the metro and lots of nice restaurants. It's small, as most Parisian hotels of this standard are, but the rooms are nice - well decorated and clean.

We didn't have breakfast as you are spoilt for choice for local eateries, I would definitely consider staying here again.

My only negative would be that the beds (twin beds) are quite small and the pillows terrible - but you can stay in many hotels and have this problem, so don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    67
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
61
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked the Berkley hotel the night before I arrived in Paris so I wasn't able to get a good deal (200 euro per night) but previous reviews have mentioned they were able to find good deals so I would look around first!

Location is great! We got the metro in but used a taxi to get back to the airport when we left (about 70 euro). You are a few steps from Montparnasse metro stop which connects to many of the other lines! Galleries Lafayette (sister to the larger store) is across the road. In fact it was our view from the hotel window). This Lafayette may not be as large and beautiful as the main store but I loved shopping here, it was much quieter and the range was still good!

Lots of great restaurants / cafes / shops / bakeries around!

Rooms are small but to be fair I don't think it's because it's a 3 star hotel. I've stayed 4 star in Paris and it was just as small. Bathrooms are clean.

Staff were lovely, especially Hakim. However some of them do not speak very good english.

I would definitely stay at the Berkeley again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaiA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been here for 5 days. The location is so nice, 2 minutes walk to the station. You can find this in front of exit 6 of Montparnasse st. We can access anywhere Paris in 20-30 minutes by metro.
It is close to monoprix, a French supermarket chain, and 5 minutes walk to marche on Wednesday!
Breakfast was not so good, but you can find anywhere to have it around the hotel.
Hotel toiletries are enough. Smell of the shampoo was so nice.


立地がとても良く、地下鉄の駅まで徒歩2分くらいです。
M4 のモンパルナス駅6番出口を出て目の前にあります。
近くにmonoprixもあり、水曜日には徒歩5分のエドガーキネでマルシェもあります。
朝食はあまり良くありませんが、近くにカフェがたくさんあるので困りません。
部屋の内装は古いですが、バスルームも清潔で特に不自由は無かったです。
リンスなどはありませんが、シャンプーは香りも良く、よく泡立ち、髪がきしむこともありませんでした。
オススメのホテルです!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gachaping518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went to Paris last August and this hotel is worth every PENNY you pay there!
The location is awesome, the metro station "Montparnasse Bienvenue" is a central one with many train stations passing by it. It's right in front of the hotel with less than 1 minute walk. And you will not have to change many trains to reach any of the famous destinations!!
The hotel is in a location that is still live at late night. The neighborhood is safe with lots of restaurants and cafes that serve after midnight (that was very useful to us, we used to come to the hotel at 1 am exhausted from all the tours we've done, and we can still have a nice meal by the square).

The service is nice, the room is clean (but no much space if you have 2 big bags! :D). The receptions is SUPER HELPFUL. We even lost our room key one day and they did not charge us. You ask them for a nice restaurant to dine and they are more than ready to help.

The hotel is right in front of tour montparnasse, an amazing place to visit (The restaurent on top is a must-go... not expensive and the view is just breathtaking!!!!)

In a nutshell: The location is awesome, the service is great, the staff are helpful.... the price is good... what else do you need to enjoy Paris :))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merothehero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

- Perfect location 5 minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station
- Doesn't look too great from the outside (and the reception doesn't look good either!). But the receptionist (lady) is SUPER welcoming and very friendly. Makes a nice change from the moody French people in Paris! :)
- Perfect shower and TV.
- Stayed here twice now. First time the room was at the back of the hotel. This time round, I'm next to the main road (opposite the cinema) and the windows are well double glazed. Could be an idea to bring some ear plugs though for those who have SUPER sensitive hearing...
- PS. GREAT sushi restaurant (good price and really good portions / sushi!). When you come out of the hotel, turn right and it's the first sushi resto you come across.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which are next to the main road (for those who have sensitive hearing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmykWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, across the street from a major metro and suburban train hub as well as a variety of restaurants, cafes, shops and a hypermarket (Monoprix). Very easy to connect to this location from the CDG airport via the RER and a metro line. Also easy to get to all the major museums and other attractions. This proximity is what you pay for in the hotel cost. Yes the rooms are small, but mine had clearly been remodeled recently and was clean and tidy with a tv, minibar fridge and good water pressure in the shower (I was on the 4th floor). The lobby and other common areas could stand a bit of a remodel, but those areas were clean. The wifi connection in my room was very spotty. It can be a bit noisy if your window faces the main street instead of a side street. The hotel is listed as 3 stars, but I would put it closer to the 2/2.5 range. If you can get a good rate on this hotel then the location makes up for short comings. If you can book far enough ahead I think you could find better quality for the same price. However, don't worry if this is where you end up as it is clean and an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGirlAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Basic Parisien hotel. Tiny rooms and no facilities worth mentioning. However the staff are friendly and helpful plus there is free wifi. The location makes up for any shortfalls. Right next to Montparnasse metro in the Breton quarter. Very lively with loads of cafes and restaurants. I'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#593 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,144 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#770 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,193 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Montparnasse
Edgar Quinet Hotel
Edgar Quinet Hotel
#1,613 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Hotel Miramar
#1,229 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Property: Berkeley Hotel
Address: 2 rue d Odessa | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,219 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Berkeley 2 rue Odessa, close to the Gare Montparnasse and the Montparnasse Tower, in the 14th arrondissement of Paris. direct access to the Latin Quarter and Saint-Germain-des-Près. The Montparnasse Bienvenue metro station is just 160 meters from the hotel, providing direct access to the Rodin Museum. Luxembourg Gardens is a 10 minute walk. Located in the lively Montparnasse district, it has a 24/24 and free Wi-Fi. The rooms are simply decorated, have a minibar and a TV with Canal + channels. The private bathroom has a bathtub. Enjoy a continental breakfast each morning in the breakfast room at the hotel Berkeley effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing