We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel in great location”
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #1,133 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Basic Parisien hotel. Tiny rooms and no facilities worth mentioning. However the staff are friendly and helpful plus there is free wifi. The location makes up for any shortfalls. Right next to Montparnasse metro in the Breton quarter. Very lively with loads of cafes and restaurants. I'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

Hotel is very clean, our room was just renewed. We paid 78 euros per night and it was a great deal, since we saw that regular price was as twice as higher.
Location is strategic because very close to Montparnasse underground station, which is a crossroad of several lines, ideal to reach everywhere in the city quickly. Last, but not least, this hotel is the heart of Breton neighborhood, excellent if you like crepes!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polpi_viaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Room SMALL, not so dirty, noisy from the street, needs better sound proofing.
Slighty depressing interior.
But generally ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikingOpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This place is depressing. My husband and I have been traveling for 11 months around the world and this is hands down the grossest place we have stayed. I cannot believe we are paying $170+ a night for a 1-star hotel (by US standards). Our room is on the fifth floor and it smells like mildew and sewer, the paint and wallpaper are peeling, the bathroom has scary black grout and broken tiles, and one of the pillows on the bed does not have a pillow case (after 5 nights!) and it is massively stained. The curtains have splattered blood, like a crime scene and the carpet is so dirty you cannot walk in bare feet. The TV is 12-inches and was made in 1990. Above this relic the ceiling is black with soot from some kind of electrical fire - are we going to die here? When I tried to put my diet coke in the mini fridge, the door to the fridge fell off and it took me 10 minutes to get it back on. The maid gave us dirty towels every day. The bed is so dirty we're worried about getting crabs. I've been told many times that Paris hotels are rougher than expected, but this is horrible - and it really makes you feel that Paris is a rip-off. The good parts?? The location is right near the Montparnasse/Bienvenue train station (exit #6 is Rue D'Odessa and the hotel is straight ahead) and there is free wireless internet in the lobby and in the rooms (with good signal). The neighborhood is not chic, but it's not bad either. There are a lot of cafes, bakeries and a nice supermarket within a 5 minute walk. Our room has the world's smallest balcony, which is good for letting out the sewer smell, but it is very noisy (lots of sirens!!!) on the street so you have to sleep with the window closed. I would strongly discourage anyone from staying here during the summer. The cheapest meal in Paris is located on the same block as the hotel: a lebanese restaurant where you can get a pita wrap, drink and backlava for 6 euros.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

This was our first trip to Paris...I searched for a long time to find something that wasn't completely over the top with their prices...the weekend we went to Paris most hotels were booked - i realised you really need to book in advance! This place was good value for money. The room was good, not very big but then no rooms in Paris are! Double bed was fine, bathroom was fine, power shower. We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on this. I guess the main point I wanted to make was that the location was good. Right across the road from a main tube stop which is on a couple of lines. Bicycles right outside too (highly recommend these!) - you just put your card details in, and so long as you return the bike (and you can do this at ANY bike stop anywhere in the city) it won't take money from your card. I think you need to return the bike by the end of that day. It's a fantastic way to see the city. In terms of location, you can walk to the Eiffel Tower in about 15-20 mins, lovely walk too. So it's really easy to get around Paris, much easier than I thought it would be. They had free internet downstairs (only the one computer but you can pretty much always get on it, and hey, it's free!) - People at the front desk were good - spoke English which was helpful as our french wasn't great! You are never in your hotel for long when you're in Paris, especially, if you are a first time visitor, you are out looking at what this incredible city has to offer. So if you need a cheap hotel in a good location, this is fine for that. If you are looking for a romantic get away in Paris, best to spend the money and go 5 star!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LJTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

good location for metro, and good variety of bars and restaurants on the square here, rooms slightly hostel'ish, though ours was on top floor and huge, bathroom good size and functional though decoration well out of date, an OK experience, though not a hotel you will remember over fondly, 2*

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheIrishRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Like everyone said, the rooms are indeed small. But I suspect every 3* hotel in Paris has small rooms, so theres nothing you can do.
Good things about the hotel:
Very well position indeed. 30 walking steps from the subway station. Lots of restaurants, and amusements near the hotel. The Montparnasse Tower, that is the tallest tower in Paris, and which has a magnificent view over the city, is really next to the hotel. Bathroom was very clean, and everyday the room was cleaned up.

Bad things:
Like I said, small rooms, but probably nothing you can do about it.
And don't except that they speak english properly... But that is french thing :)

Finally: it was good staying there.

Later, I'll post some photos here.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MiguelCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,112 of 1,809 in Paris
357 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#557 of 1,809 in Paris
370 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#524 of 1,809 in Paris
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,280 of 1,809 in Paris
134 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#922 of 1,809 in Paris
745 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
#866 of 1,809 in Paris
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: 2 rue d Odessa | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,133 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $98 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Berkeley 2 rue Odessa, close to the Gare Montparnasse and the Montparnasse Tower, in the 14th arrondissement of Paris. direct access to the Latin Quarter and Saint-Germain-des-Près. The Montparnasse Bienvenue metro station is just 160 meters from the hotel, providing direct access to the Rodin Museum. Luxembourg Gardens is a 10 minute walk. Located in the lively Montparnasse district, it has a 24/24 and free Wi-Fi. The rooms are simply decorated, have a minibar and a TV with Canal + channels. The private bathroom has a bathtub. Enjoy a continental breakfast each morning in the breakfast room at the hotel Berkeley effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing