We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Choiseul Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Choiseul Opera
Ranked #808 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Tierra Verde, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Hotel Choiseul is in the 2nd, close to the Opera, in fact just around the corner from Opera Avenue and close to the major department stores. It is also just around the corner from Rue Royal, perfectly located to catching the Roissey Bus from and to CDG airport.

My air conditioning worked well and they had a great towel warmer in the new bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    113
    48
    9
    7
See reviews for
61
59
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband and our 11-year-old grandson. On first sight, I was a little disappointed with the room as it seemed much smaller than I had expected from the pictures I saw on the hotels website. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and I did not care for the separate toilet and bathroom as you had to walk through the bedroom to wash your hands after using the WC. a small wash-handbasin in the toilet would by adequate. Breakfast was a delight, everything in the dining room was spotless and after mentioning the lack of tea and coffee to one of the night receptionists (male) he was only to willing to provide us with a tray with everything we needed. The location is good, close to the Opera House and not too far from the Louvre. The Metro for Marne de Vallee (disneyland Paris) was close by the Opera and it was that which made me choose this hotel. apart from the very small lift and steep and winding stairs, I liked the hotel very much and would recommend it. I would stay there again if I return to Paris. The bathroom window did not close properly and if you went in there at night, there was a lot of noise coming from outside, but once you had closed the door and returned to the bedroom, you could not hear the noise at all. A shame that the windows in the bedroom could not be opened even a little bit as it was very hot during our stay and it would have been nice to have a little fresh air coming in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovewestlife506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Arrived on a very hot day. The air conditioning was broken, the room was hot and stuffy . Window. Open, rubbish being collected noise awful. Receptionist man. Very helpful booked.us. In across the road at another hotel far better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here. The location was ideal. The room was small but probably normal for Paris. The stairwell carpeting was dirty and worn. The room itself was acceptable. By far the best thing is the location . There is a nice restaurant immediately outside the front door. Fair price for Central Paris location . Unfortunately we had several prepaid excursions planned that were cancelled at the last minute due to wildcat strikes. Although the extensive strikes are not the fault of the hotel, I don't plan on going back to Paris because of the strikers disregard for travelers . The widespread strikes will only hurt their economic situation .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzzlepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here overnight during a stop over recently. This hotel reminds me of Fawlty Towers. I found it very endearing, yes small and old but just part of the Paris experience. Great location and price. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel seems to be getting some bad reviews and I cannot understand why, yes the rooms are not huge but no hotel rooms are in Paris, and why go to Paris to spend time in your room? The hotel has a fantastic location, right beside the metro and the coach goes direct every 15 mins 5 mins walk from the hotel - thanks to hotel for pointing this out to us. The lady on reception is so friendly and funny, despite being very busy was always professional with a smile on her face, our room was so much nicer than we were expecting as very modern, yes a little noise from the piano bar one of the nights but nothing that kept us awake or ruined our stay. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Click-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Rude staff , air condition not switched on, room stifling hot, tried opening the window but noise outside terrible !! Hated it , one of the worst , over-priced and inhospitable hotels I have ever spent a night in . To be avoided at all costs !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#500 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Volney Opera Hotel
Volney Opera Hotel
#499 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
#724 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France d'Antin
Hotel France d'Antin
#791 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Ascot Opera
Hotel Ascot Opera
#934 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Louvre Marsollier Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Choiseul Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Choiseul Opera

Property: Hotel Choiseul Opera
Address: 1 rue Daunou | 2nd Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Choiseul Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Choiseul Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choiseul Opera Hotel
Choiseul Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing