We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel for a basic price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans
Ranked #922 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is very basic (now an ibis Budget). It is just a couple of minutes walk to the nearest metro but faces right onto the highway (motorway).

Comfortable stay, but I would pay more for a more central location, particularly for a first time visitor to Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fifafan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Natassa K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Etap Hotel is just a walk away from the Porte D'Orleans metro station and tram line. The RER station is just a little further away (Cité Universitaire).

Overall stay was good. Rooms were well maintained, clean. Basic breakfast, but then you cannot expect 5 Star buffet. Still enough to get you started for day ahead.

Whenever in Paris, this will surely be our first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1eprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Prapha S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I reviewed this hotel whilst it was still using the Etap brand 18 months before my recent stay, finding it excellent value with good transport links.
That is still the case now it is an "Ibis budget" - with easy access to the Metro station, or the option to take a tram to the Cité Uninversité stop and pick up the RER direct to the centre of Paris or the Gare Du Nord. Although the hotel was full, there was never any noise issue.
My only concern was the new security mechanism - where you are give a piece of paper with both your room number and a PIN number for access - which has several issue. If you mislay that piece of paper you are giving the finder access to your room. If you pop down to reception or the restaurant you have to remember to take the code with you - and your reading glasses to read it! There was no need requirement to check out - so you might still have a concern someone could get access to your room whilst it was still allocated to you.. I'd much prefer some physical sign of security.
There is also no sign of security in reception - the reception desk is well away from the front door, so it's easy to access the lifts without being checked - and the lifts operate without any code.

Room Tip: The upper-floor rooms facing the main road have a good view of the Eiffel Tower, and the road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel in October 2013. It was similar to another Ibis budget I had used in Belgium - same décor, same cleanliness, same comfy bed, same bathroom arrangement, same strong free wifi. I was pleased with the standard arrangements as they were exactly what I had expected. The price was not bad (I paid 61 euros per night), and I was satisfied.

I had a bit of difficulty in locating the hotel at first as I didn’t know which metro exit was the closest. And there were some works going on in the metro station so things were a bit confusing to me at first. The Porte d’Orleans metro station is about five minutes’ walk from the hotel and there are eateries and bakeries around the station. The road between the metro station and the hotel seemed a bit deserted at night (lots of traffic but not many pedestrians) and I felt a bit unsafe when I returned to the hotel alone at night. But nothing bad happened.

Overall I think this is an OK choice and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyskylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is by no means the best hotel you'll ever stay in - our room was very small, even by Etap/Ibis Budget standards (we had two large bags and struggled to find space for them both without having to constantly jump over them). The bed was also two singles pushed together (with single duvets) rather than a double, which kept sliding apart in the night and waking me up as I nearly fell through the gap in the middle!
The shower is 'in' the room, with just a frosted glass panel, but as I was travelling with my partner this wasn't a problem for us (and if someone is on the bed watching TV, they can't see in). The toilet also, bizarrely, didn't have a proper door - there were large gaps at the top and bottom meaning there wasn't as much privacy as one would like from a toilet!

The location for this hotel is the saving grace, just a few minutes walk from Porte D'Orleans Metro station which links directly to the Ile-de-la-Cite for a short walk to Notre-Dame, The Louvre and up towards the Champs-Elysees, and easily to Bir-Hakeim for the Eiffel Tower. It's a quiet area with some fantastic bakeries nearby and a few restaurants, and of course, the price is excellent for what is otherwise a very expensive city.

Recommended if you're on a budget for a few nights. It's not luxury but it is cheap, clean and well located.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing onto the road have a view of the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,474 of 1,802 in Paris
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#685 of 1,802 in Paris
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans

Address: 15 boulevard Romain Rolland | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#45 Green Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $61 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Paris Porte d`Orleans Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing