We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jean Cocteau ...room with a view !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Ranked #129 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Jean Cocteau ...room with a view !!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a characterful hotel... painted lift doors,Trompe l'oeuil features, paintings everywhere...all add to the wonderful atmosphere of this perfect gem in the heart of Montmatre!

Our cosy room on the sixth floor, Jean Cocteau with views over the Paris skyline to the distant Eiffel Tower was perfect, and a welcome gift of champagne & sweets for our anniversary was a total surprise for us !!!
A clean, quiet & unique hotel with the most friendly & helpful staff on reception made this a memorable visit .

Room Tip: High floors have a lovely views & you get to use the tiny decorated lift ....or you may use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1sallym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    947
    141
    36
    68
See reviews for
303
1,541
206
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great location, in the centre of Montmartre but just off the main street so not noisy, and close enough to get to all the local hot spots. A few minutes walk from the metro therefore ideal for exploring the rest of Paris. Loved the ambience, the attention to detail and above all for me the cleanliness of the bedding, linen and crockery. As I am a bit of a clean freak this ticked all the boxes. Not a huge room, but adequate. We only spent a short time in the hotel as so much to see and do and we thought the complimentary tea and coffee offered during the afternoon, was a nice touch, after coming back from a day sight-seeing. The staff were very accommodating and even rang to confirm a restaurant booking we had for that evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Completely lived up to my expectations - lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Lovely room on fifth floor Vincent Van Gogh room - with view of Paris and Sacre Coeur! Perfect! Made my 60th birthday truly memorable - will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Good view from Vincent Van Gogh Room on fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Wonderful location - close to the buzz of Montmartre or the Moulin Rouge or the Cemetiere de Montmartre, but very quiet and peaceful. The hotel combines professionalism and intimacy in its atmosphere. Lovely breakfast and very helpful and obliging staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you specifiy double (what we wanted) or twin (what we got). Room overlooking the road giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pianoman221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel des Artes for five nights in April. (Yes, April in Paris – well, it was my wife's birthday.)

You only have to read the other reviews to tell you what a nice hotel this is. Strangely enough though, very few of them mention the one thing that most appealed to us about the hotel; it is simply beautiful. Not in an expensive, designer-chic sort of way, but tastefully decorated by someone with a real artistic eye – fully living up to its name, the Hotel des Artes. (Even the lift doors have hand-painted pictures on them which were being refreshed while we were there; we nearly stepped onto one of the decorators as we exited a lift!)

We also liked the quiet calm of the place, so different from the hustle and bustle of larger, more impersonal hotels, and an oasis in the otherwise busy and noisy streets of Montmartre.

Our room was probably one of the smaller ones in the hotel, lacking any sort of view, and the bathroom was positively miniscule but hey, we'd come to see Paris, not lounge around the hotel room. It was plenty comfortable enough and immaculately clean.

We didn't have breakfast as there any many, many good eateries nearby, but being able to use the tea and coffee making facilities when we came back in the evening after a long day's sightseeing was a nice touch and much appreciated.

We found the staff to be uniformly pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. Would we recommend this hotel to our friends? Most definitely!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jongleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff was very accommodating and I was pleasantly surprised being greeted with some thoughtful gifts. The room was very small, but modern and clean. Loved the bathroom and the private view over Paris rooftops. We were expecting a view if the Eiffel Tower, but discovered we had to lean out the window to see it. Convenient location for nightlife yet nice and quiet. The bed was quite comfy too. Great little getaway.

Room Tip: Hotel website gives the best deals and is very informative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel itself is average. The staff are 'hit & miss' in terms of service levels, some knew what they were doing, others didn't.
The area, Montmartre, is definitely the best area to stay when in Paris, not touristy, sweet and quaint.
I paid for a superior room expecting a view but instead received a 'larger room' on the second floor. I should of stated that I wanted a view when paying for a superior room, after asking to be moved we were duly so up to the 5th. There is a view, but its nothing worth putting on a postcard. Overall, a reasonably priced hotel in a wonderful area which is excellent for those travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for 'superior room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desarts, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Arts - Montmartre, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks for your review and I do hope you had a safe journey back home.
I feel sorry the hotel did not match all your expectations.
But "average" is definitly not the word I would use to describe Hôtel des Arts...
As mentioned many times on TripAdvisor, the staff is doing its best to make your stay unforgettable.
Kind regards from Montmartre.

A.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#57 of 1,801 in Paris
914 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#46 of 1,801 in Paris
528 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#58 of 1,801 in Paris
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Francais
#101 of 1,801 in Paris
1,976 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,801 in Paris
621 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#47 of 1,801 in Paris
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts - Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Property: Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Address: 5 rue Tholoze, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#92 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#105 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts - Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Arts - Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Hotel Des Arts Paris
Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing