We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would definitely stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Ranked #137 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lincs
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I would definitely stay there again”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really liked this hotel. Excellent position. Nicely decorated and furnished. One of the reception staff was a bit sullen, but otherwise they were all friendly, helpful and professional, in particular one guy was really very nice indeed. Very good value for money. Impressed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    933
    138
    36
    67
See reviews for
291
1,504
202
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed at the Hotel des Arts recently to celebrate the end of her exams and our 2 special birthdays. We had been recommended the hotel by a friend who'd stayed there 5 years ago. The hotel suited us perfectly; located in central Montmartre we felt both safe and at the centre of things. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Patrick who served the breakfasts. We stayed on the sixth floor in room 62, (accessed by the lift to the fifth with a short staircase upwards) which was fantastic. We had a wonderful view of the Sacre Coeur and nearby rooftops. The swifts were screeching and swooping around too! It wasn't hard to imagine a small rooftop room of some artist or writer a century ago. There wasn't air conditioning (and it was very hot outside) but being high up there was a cooling breeze. The room was compact but perfectly adequate for the two of us. Would definitely recommend - already thinking about the next trip!

Room Tip: I would advise a room higher up - it's cooler - and with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Milner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Des Arts (7 nights) last August to celebrate my 50th birthday and had a wonderful experience. So much so that I'm returning August 2013 for 3 nights to celebrate my daughter's graduation from college.

Hotel: My room was delightful with cute view of city rooftops. It was clean, comfy, a bit small, but I didn't spend much time there. Front desk staff very helpful, allowed us to store our luggage before check-in, hotel puppy was adorable and friendly, wi-fi worked, and the location was great-not too touristy. Located close to Abbesses and Blanche metro stations, Montmartre and Sacre Coeur. The neighborhood was adorable and were lined with fruit stands, quaint streets, restaurants-there was a little Italian place right up the street that was great! Great food, great people, great locals! I would definitely recommend Hotel Des Arts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuteasabutton_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desarts, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Arts - Montmartre, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your loverly review!
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Montmartre in August.
Do not hesitate to contact us if you need more information about your stay.
See you very soon then!
Kind regards from sunny and hot paris today.

A.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have lots of good things to say about Hotel des Arts. Great location in Montmartre, very helpful staff with excellent English, recently renovated rooms and bathrooms, free wifi. The only downside is the lack of air conditioning, which matters just a few months of the year. Our room was on the top (5th) floor so we had a nice breeze when we opened the windows at night. An unexpected plus was a view of the Eiffel Tower from the window!

Room Tip: Upper floors have less noise from traffic and the street, although the location on a small side stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

really nice hotel, when we arrived from the airport I decided to stop there for four days, I can say I liked most is that he had access to the Internet and television, the food was good, my room had a beautiful view of the city and the street, the bed clean and fragrant, bathroom small but charming, low price for me for no c so I'll be back one day for a long time, I recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desarts, Manager at Hotel des Arts - Montmartre, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your nice comments.
I do hope you had a safe journey back home to Berlin!
The weather is outstanding in Paris this summer,so do not hesitate to come back in August:we offer fantastic deals on our official website!
Kind regards from Montmartre.

A.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is our first time at this hotel and we would definitely stay again. The location is excellent, with plenty of cafes/restaurants a short walk away and just up the hill the the vibrant artists area with some quirky gift shops and more places to eat and drink. A bit further up the hill takes you to Sacre Coeur which is a sight in itself and also provides a fabulous panoramic view of Paris.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and happy to help with any questions about the area. The rooms are cleaned every day and nice clean towels are provided.

All in all we were really happy with this hotel, all we would say is that when we stayed it was really hot, around high 80s and the rooms would really benefit from air con or a fan or some sort to provide a bit of air circulation. Overall - really lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha_atkinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a small, cozy hotel right in the heart of upper Montemarte with its narrow twisting roads and alleys and small plazas full of street artists and musicians. The small staff was very friendly and helpful most times to us. This was my wife,s first visit to Paris and my first stay in this neighborhood and Amin who welcomes us was full of useful tips including where to eat, when to tip (hardly ever), layout of the main streets and metros, etc.Except for a sullen looking blonde girl who manned the front desk desk for a night who always seemed busy, the service and attentiveness of the staff was outstanding.The room was on the ground floor and while small by USA standards was quite adequate even with the humongous king bed filling most of the main room. Moreover it was very quiet and very little was heard from the neighboring rooms. As much as we enjoyed our stay, it could have been much better if the free WiFi provided by the hotel did not have such a limited range.It was practically useless except for in the lobby. An inexpensive repeater or a booster antenna may be all that is needed to fix this. Also, we were lucky to have brought plug adapters to recharge our US cell phones and cameras as the only ones the hotel had were UK and EU equipment. Finally, my wife mentioned that while the bath towels were clean, they had seen better days. These inconveniences aside, the friendliness of the staff and the casual charm of the neighborhood was such a delight to come home to after a tiring day exploring greater Paris.

Room Tip: The ground floor units are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OriPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Grand Hotel Francais
#107 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#43 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#58 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#49 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts - Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Property: Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Address: 5 rue Tholoze, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#105 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#154 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts - Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Arts - Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Hotel Des Arts Paris
Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing