We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, great staff,great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Ranked #131 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, great staff,great location”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After spending 220 Euros a night to stay at the Novotel (near Centrale station) we were very happy to have found room 17 at the Hotel Des Arts for exactly half the price. Paris is a very expensive city for accomodation, so we were very pleased with our find.

Charming hotel....

We loved the French retro design of the room,the lobby and the hotel in general which gave you that feel that you were truly in Paris. Although rooms are rather small, they are certainly adequate with a nice comfortable bed,a storage closet and a nice clean bathroom.For those of you travellers who don't want to spend your time hanging around the hotel all day, this place will more than adequatley meet your needs without destroying your bank account.The breakfast is continental with cold cereal, breads,coffee,yogurt, cheese and juice for a very reasonable 10 Euros.Furthermore, the hotel and surrounding area have a "very safe" feel as you are in a great environment.

Great staff......

The staff is superb. The are very friendly, helpful and kind to answer all your questions regarding tourism. The will let you come early and store your bags safely before your 2PM checkin, which is just perfect because there is a lot to see nearby.If the owner is reading this, you have hired a great staff and bonuses should be forthcoming...LOL! Thankyou everybody!

Great location....

We used the nearby(5 minutes) Blanch station as our main arrival/ departure area as it is well located to other nearby tranfer possibilities. The main international Gard De Nord train station is a mere 3 stops and 5-10 minutes away from Blanch and made travel to other European destinations quick and easy.The Blanch station in itself is right beside the very famous "Moulon Rouge" which is a must have photograph while visiting Paris.Night time photos of it are particuliarily impressive.

The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is on one of those older cobblestone streets with many cute shops nearby giving it that real French cultural feel that tourists want to experience.A short 10 inute walk away (up a steep hill) is this beautiful church and tourist area complete with shops, restaurants and bars. This is the perfect place to visit while awaiting check in and also at night as it lights up for some fantastic photo opportunities.

In closing....

The owner of the hotel has done a fantastic job regarding decoration, staff, pricing and this hotel definitley deserves it's lofty status in the Trip Advisor ratings for hotels in Paris.As budget travelers, we were pleased with our find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevandJho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    946
    139
    36
    68
See reviews for
302
1,539
206
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We enjoyed 2 nights (not long enough) at Hotel Des Arts - location was great but the hotel facilities, staff and room made it absolutely wonderful. And that is without giving due credit to the patisseries and cafes nearby. I had visited Paris before, and been immune to its charms but staying in Montmartre has changed that! Can't wait to return - and we'll be staying at Hotel Des Arts!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a room on the top floor with windows opening over the beautifully Paris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We booked this hotel based on reviews posted on Trip Advisor.Our stay was in early May for 4 nights. We took the night train from Venice to Paris (not my most enjoyable travel time), arriving at the Gare de Lyon. After reading as much as I could absorb about getting around we had decided to take the Metro to a stop close to our Hotel(very easy city to get around on by Metro). As we had arrived in Paris by 10:00 am and check-in was 2:00 pm no room was available. The person on the desk allowed us to store our baggage (appreciated) and off we went. After exploring our new neighbourhood and finding a great abundance of stores, bars and places to dine we returned and checked in. Our room was a good size with a well appointed bathroom, patio doors overlooking some form of courtyard, nice. This was one of the more comfortable beds we had for some time and we both slept well. In the morning the breakfast offered a nice selection of fruits, breads, jams etc everything one needed to start your day off on the right note. This location offers one the choice of walking up the street to Montemare where views of Paris at night are a real delight not to mention one can see the Eiffel Tower in it's splendor during the hourly night show. This hill top offers places to eat, live street entertainment and just plain fun. Most of the sights in Paris are only 10 minutes away by metro and one can walk to the Gare de Nord station. For us the hotel was ideal in location, price, and amenities I would choose this hotel again just based on the memories we have added to our dreams, enjoyed enjoyed and still smile just doing this review.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KCFTRA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We (my husband and I) stayed at Hotel des Artes 4 nights in the middle of April 2012. Since we provided a code from Tripadvisor, we were given a superior room for the same price as an ordinary room. The room was quite small, but with a nice view over the city - the Eiffel tower etc. It was very central, close to a metro station and Sacre Coeur. Very charming neighborhood with a lot of restaurants. The breakfast at the hotel was good, only one morning we had breakfast outside the hotel. The staff at the counter were very serviceminded, and we can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a view over the city, ask for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BergenTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent two nights here, getting two rooms for our family of four. As in many Paris hotels the rooms were small but they were clean and well thought out in their use of the available space. The kids were thrilled with the views from the 6th floor (accessible via a typically miniscule elevator and one flight of stairs). The hotel provides information on the neighborhood, which is full of cafes and restaurants, and the front desk clerk was helpful in answering questions about local transportation. Although it is not in the center of Paris it is conveniently located with numerous Metro and bus options within a short walk. We were able to get to the Gare du Nord quite easily by bus on the morning of our departure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara_in_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was not impressed with this hotel after going on the recommendations of Tripadvisors reviews. We went for my wifes Birthday of which they were prewarned six months earlier and yet on arrival was given room No.1 in the reception area, be warned do not accept this "cell". to be fair they did upgrade our room the next day. We both thought that the rooms were small and poorly equipt e.g. No kettle, cups etc. No drawers for your clothes? The hotel was clean, breakfast ok. We also found the rooms a little noisy. On the whole not to bad and we enjoyed our stay, but would not go back in a hurry unless improvements are forthcomming.

Room Tip: Choose a high room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desarts, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Arts - Montmartre, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guests,
I would like to post my comments regarding this last review that is unfair to me.
June is one of the busiest month in Paris(French Tennis Open) - all the hotels are fully booked and the rates are very high(same thing in september and october)
When you book a standard room at a very attractive price through a tour operator over this period ,it is very difficult for us to upgrade you in one of our top room even if we always try to make everybody happy.
I am really sorry you did not have the experience you expected but I am also surprised you did not mention anything verbally on check out.
Also,room 1 is not a cell and we did our best to move you the next day.
Reminder:the best rooms and the best prices are on our official website!
Regards from Montmartre!
A.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel des Arts last week (Tuesday - Saturday) for our honeymoon and thought it was a delightful hotel. It was so close to Blanche metro stop ( just a short walk up Rue Lepic) and you're there.

The reception by Christophe was warm and friendly and Caramel the resident chocolate brown labrador was sleeping in the reception!

We has a superior room with a view of the Eiffel Tower which was lovely, however the room was quiet small, however it had all we needed including an iPod dock!

We had breakfast there a couple of times and thought it quiet expensive for what it was at 10 euros each so went out locally the other mornings but it was hard to find it much cheaper anywhere else.

Nothing was too much trouble when asking questions at the front desk and it was great to have free wi-fi.

I would really recommend this lovely hotel in Monmatre to anyone wanting to stay somewhere really nice, clean, friendly and isn't going to break the bank.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,801 in Paris
913 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#47 of 1,801 in Paris
526 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#58 of 1,801 in Paris
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Francais
#100 of 1,801 in Paris
1,976 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#95 of 1,801 in Paris
618 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#48 of 1,801 in Paris
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts - Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Property: Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Address: 5 rue Tholoze, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#105 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#140 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts - Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Arts - Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Hotel Des Arts Paris
Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing