We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fun hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Ranked #122 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed here in Aug 11. Location is perfect for exploring Montmartre, and even better for just rolling down the hill after a good meal and a few bottles. Hotel was clean, comfortable and staff were very friendly. Decor is fun and unusual with the rooms named after artists. Our room itself was small but ok as we were only sleeping there. It was hot and stuffy. Our friends ground floor room backed onto a courtyard which meant that they didnt feel secure enough to open the windows. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. The dining room is barely big enough if the hotel is full, and we felt uncomfortable loitering around for a table.

We would stay here again though.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Choosing a hotel in Paris can be an overwhelming task! I chose Hotel Des Arts based on the very good reviews on Trip Advisor and am so pleased that I did! The hotel is located very close to both the Blanche and Abbesses line and is situated among wonderful cafes, cute boutique shops, and has very reasonable rates. Our room was extremely clean and well taken care of. We did not take great advantage of the hotel front desk staff or breakfast, but other guests seemed to be very happy with both. The rooms are small (to be expected) and I did find the two twin beds pushed together not to be the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in, but who goes to Paris to sleep?!

I definitely recommend staying in the Montmartre area in a smallish, local hotel over staying in a huge chain hotel near the more tourist-driven areas.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelrenee_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was our 3rd time staying at Hotel Des Arts in 3 years and the service was just a good as previous years. This hotel is a great choice for exploring Montmartre!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mybellMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We haven't stayed in many hotels in Paris, but are aware that many hotel rooms are tiny, cramped and shabby. Not here though!
Although the room was not American size, it certainly was as large as most UK hotel rooms and was beautifully clean and tidy. Bed was warm and comfortable and bathroom, though small had everything we needed with a powerful and hot shower.
We had opted for superior rooms as this was a joint birthday trip for my wife and my brother-in-law who travelled with his spouse also.
We were allowed to change our initial rooms on the ground floor to the 5th floor as we wanted views over Paris.(Word of warning ..the lift is tiny and will not accommodate four people + luggage!) We had a view of the street and the spire of the Sacre Coeur and our relatives could see the "shimmering" Eiffel Tower. Although the street could be a little noisy at night if the windows were open, once they were shut it was almost total silence.
Breakfast was certainly adequate and worth the money. Fresh croissants, pains au chocolat and brioches to die for. Boiled eggs, cheeses and fruit salad with assorted yoghurts washed down with fresh orange juice and proper coffee and tea. Set us up ideally for the challenges Paris has to offer.
The neighbourhood had everything we needed within a short walk and Montmartre at sundown is a delight!! And if you want good beer and nice food within spitting distance, climb the hill to the top and visit the bar Autour Du Moulin..- recommended especially during happy hour.
If we return to Paris in the future, Hotel des Arts will be our first choice of hotel destination.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th or 6th floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtcg_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

While staying here, I dropped my earring down the drain - totally my fault! The staff took the time to remove the sink and recovery my earring! Thank you staff!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyKatieWarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I would say that apart from the nice rooms, nice and helpful staff and lovely atmosphere, the best thing for the Hotel Des Arts is the location....tube so close and lovely restaurants in the area.....definetely recommend...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean and well finished room.

There are some great places to eat within minutes of the front door and the hotel is situated near two different metro lines so it seems to be well placed for getting around Paris.

Not really knowing much about Paris when looking, we picked the Hotel Des Arts based on strength of the reviews it had received and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a room which looked out over the court yard at the back, which was fairly quiet given the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveTheHedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#55 of 1,802 in Paris
944 reviews
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#82 of 1,802 in Paris
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#87 of 1,802 in Paris
672 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#94 of 1,802 in Paris
2,033 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#273 of 1,802 in Paris
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts - Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Address: 5 rue Tholoze, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#105 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#147 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $82 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts - Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Arts - Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Hotel Des Arts Paris
Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing