We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, quiet hotel in Paris”
Review of Hotel du Printemps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Printemps
Ranked #237 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value, quiet hotel in Paris”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved this hotel near the Nation metro stop. While the room was small and the bathroom very adequate, it was a very peaceful simple appointed room. Our air conditioned room was facing the street but we heard almost no traffic and were very comfortable there. We went to a couple of local cafes for coffee and croissants and it was just nice to be in a local neighborhood. The very personable and knowledgeable owners directed us to two fine local restaurants. We would return there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Gérant at Hotel du Printemps, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment on your stay with us. We are delighted to see that you liked the two restaurants we recommended you. We have some others in stock for your next visit -:).
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    435
    73
    7
    3
See reviews for
178
397
102
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've stayed here twice now. Once in May 2012 and the second April 2013. The hotel is in a beautiful neighbourhood. Not touristy at all and the RER/metro station is no more than a 5min walk & the trip to get to main Paris attractions doesn't take long. Reception was friendly and they also let me borrow a power adapter for my phone - free of charge. The rooms are clean but tiny but i guess thats the norm here in France. I had the breakfast once on my first stay and that was nice but decided to get food from local patisseries to save on costs. One little niggle was that the second stay we booked 6 months ahead specifcally wanting two seperate beds but still ended up with 1 double bed. Free Wifi is a bonus too - good connection.
But if i'm in Paris again, would definantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try get a street facing room if you can, it's a pretty view and the windows are double glazed so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Gérant at Hotel du Printemps, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review and for your loyalty. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stays in our hotel and also liked our Parisian neighborhood. I am very sorry that we were not able to honor your request for a twin room. We do our maximum to fulfill the bed preferences of our guests but as we have a limited number of twin rooms it is unfortunately not always possible. When it is the case we always inform our clients in advance of this situation. We thank you for your understanding and would be very happy to receive you a third time soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to Paris.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes from Nation Metro station, which makes it a perfect base for exploring Paris. It is a very 'local' area, with lots of shops and restaurants full of locals.

The rooms were cosy.

Checking in / out was easy - probably the easiest I've ever experienced!!

For those with an iPhone, the hotel has a free app that you can download which gives really good info on exploring Paris, and includes a map, etc.

All in all, a really good hotel which offers excellent value for money.

Highly recommended, and I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel for future trips to Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Manager at Hotel du Printemps, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Carl and Leslay
Many thanks for your review and the 5 star rating. We are happy to see that you appreciated the services and location of the hotel du Printemps and wanted to come back next time you are in Paris. As you noticed we have now launched a new free application “Hotel du Printemps Paris” which allows our guests to better prepare their travel to Paris and once arrived to better enjoy their visit. This application is currently available for IPhone and IPad but an Android version will soon be available. We are very much looking forward to welcome you on a future occasion!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent find. Loved the area - lots of bakeries, cafes, bars and restaurants but still quiet at night. Close to Nation for the RER and metro trains making it so easy to get around Paris (we had Paris Visite unlimited passes, hassle-free). We walked into the central area once and it took about 45 mins - 1 hour.

Room was fairly small and simple but nice, with a modern bathroom. Couldn't fault it. Aircon, double glazing, great shower, free wifi and quiet at night (even with a street view room). Hotel has a nice lounge but we didn't really use it.

Tip: there are some nice bars and restaurants if you walk DOWN the street, as well as the busier ones up the street around Nation. Also, learn french menu items as a lot of the restaurants round there didn't have English menus. I think that's a good sign, it's just a shame we couldn't take advantage of the authentic french restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliceg654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Manager at Hotel du Printemps, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Alice G
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel du Printemps and for your 5 star review. I am happy to read that you also appreciated our neighborhood and the many restaurants and coffees that surround us. Following your pertinent remark we will make a basic food dictionary available at the reception in order to allow our guests to better enjoy their French meals!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent the first week of July in Paris and we booked everything far advance. We found this hotel on tripadvisor and decided to go for it due to its good ratings and reviews. I was personally slightly nervous on what the hotel would turn out to be like but I was pleasantly surprised when we eventually got there. The hotel definitely stands out on the street as it looks better than the neighbouring buildings. We got there at 8.30 PM (ish) and there was a guy at the reception who spoke good english. He just wanted the name we booked it with and that's it - we got the key. We were on the third floor (37) so had to take the elevator, which was very small! The corridors were also quite narrow and tight. The room was on the smaller side as well but very nice and clean.
The biggest minus for me was how thin the walls were - we could hear everyone walking above us and next to us (but no talking or anything else). The room also had an AC system, which was very appreciated as it was so hot there.
We didn't use the breakfast facilities, so no comment in that department, however the reception and breakfast area of the hotel did look nice!
Another downside was the number of toilet rolls, because we only got given 1 and when asked for some more, only got given another one and wasn't replaced we decided to just buy our own toilet rolls. Also, this might just be me being fussy but the cleaning standards weren't always top notch. Some trash was left at the bottom of the bin etc.
The service was always friendly and with good english. On the morning of our departure however, we were given wrong directions to Gare du Nord by the reception, which we luckily realised before it was too late.
Location was very good - Nation and Picpus metro stations were so close and everything was very accessible. Casino supermarket was very close as well as some really good food places.
We would stay there again but at the same time, would like to try new hotels as well!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Gérant at Hotel du Printemps, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Maria P
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor, following your recent stay at the Hotel du Printemps. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
I am really sorry for the tiny hiccups you experienced and I have shared them with our staff as we are very concerned by the satisfaction of our guests and the cleanliness of the hotel. I would like however to point out that even if according to our green program we try to avoid any waste we are not limiting the toilet rolls and would give more than one roll if asked by a guest.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Paris
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent 2 days in Paris and booked this hotel based on the many positive reviews and the reasonable price. The Printemps is located a bit out of the traditional touristy centre of Paris, in a more quiet neighborhood. This was actually a plus for us. After a day of walking to the more crowded spots in Paris, it is nice to come back to a more relaxed area of the city. The subway station is literally a few minutes walk and you can get to the main touristy sites within 10-20 mins.

What we noticed immediately is how clean the hotel is and how well appointed. The hotel staff is very friendly. From check-in to assisting with any questions we had, it was all with a big smile. The rooms are small but well appointed. We had a room with 2 small beds and for us that was big enough. There is a flatscreen TV, there is complimentary wifi in the room and the bathroom was large enough.

We did not make use of the breakfast which you can add for 9 EUR pp. We cannot comment on this.

All in all a very good stay and we would definitely recommend it for anybody who is traveling to Paris for a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limshang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Gérant at Hotel du Printemps, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Limshang
We truly appreciate your feed-back as a Top Contributor and are thrilled to read that you enjoy staying with us and recommend our hotel. Thank you also for your nice remarks on our staff; this will be a great motivation for them.
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel du Printemps.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose the Printemps based on other reviews and were not disappointed. Our room (42) was certainly compact in size but didn't lack anything in the way of facilities and although it overlooked the Boulevard de Picpus, the double glazing ensured that my wife & I enjoyed a good night's sleep. The location is out of the city centre but excellent public transport links, particularly from Nation meant that none of main tourist sites were more than a few minutes away. We also used bus 56 which passes the hotel and goes to Montmartre and which offers an interesting if somewhat leisurely ride across the city.

Breakfast was of the usual continental style but was more than enough to stoke us up for the day. Being located in a predominantly residential area, there are a number of restaurants nearby and the receptionist recommended two in particular, Le Picotin and Le Bouche a Oreille both of which were less than five minutes walk away. We patronised them both and weren't disappointed by either.

With a quiet and convenient location, helpful staff and comfortable if compact rooms, the Printemps offers excellent value for money and we would use it again on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Gérant at Hotel du Printemps, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Pete
Many thanks for taking the time to write on your stay with us and for your appreciation of the value of our hotel. It seems that a growing number of guests appreciate the possibility to stay a bit outside the typical tourist locations in a more Parisian district like ours which offers a lot of good restaurants and a taste of local experience.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to a new experience “à la parisienne”!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Home MODERNE
#266 of 1,802 in Paris
1,053 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,802 in Paris
603 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#161 of 1,802 in Paris
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#332 of 1,802 in Paris
270 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#271 of 1,802 in Paris
998 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#115 of 1,802 in Paris
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Printemps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Printemps

Property: Hotel du Printemps
Address: 80 boulevard de Picpus, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#89 Business Hotel in Paris
#142 Family Hotel in Paris
#315 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Printemps 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel entirely renovated and decorated with taste, the hotel du printemps will captivate you with its elegant, understated charm and its reasonable prices. You will be warmly welcomed by a staff eager to assist you and ensure you have a pleasant stay. Close to four metro lines and the RER A, it's the perfect departure point for site seeing, shopping, going to meetings or to Disneyland Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Printemps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Printemps Hotel
Du Printemps Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing