We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite Rick Steves recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Tour Eiffel
Ranked #1,202 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not my favorite Rick Steves recommendation”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A Rick Steves recommended hotel, however, not my favorite of his recommendations. I didn't spend a lot of time in my room, so my basic expectations for a clean and quiet room were met. The room bedding, however, left much to be desired. The bedspread which thankfully was removed after day 1 was nothing short of an import from former communist eastern Europe. Once the bedspread was removed, you were left with only a blanket and a sheet. A little skimpy for November.

This is a budget hotel and this is mostly noted in the rationing of towels and toilet paper. I had 3 towels on day 1 and by day 3, I was down to only 1. While towels were replaced with clean towels, the quantity never replinished to day 1 levels. This may be ok for guys, but girls who need to wrap their hair in a towel will be left a towel short. Most notable was the rationing of toilet paper. There was never an extra role, just the one on the ring. I literally checked out of the hotel having used the last sheet of toilet paper.

The staff were friendly, but neglected to tell me until day 3 that every time you leave you need to leave your key at the front desk.

Overall, the hotel was ok. It had a good location close to Eiffel Tower for an evening stroll as well as Rue Cler, which had some good cafes for lunch and dinner. Despite some of the other reviews, I found the hotel to be quiet with little street noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reda b, Manager at Hotel de la Tour Eiffel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review very courteous, but I added a precision on the bedding,
for measuring HYGIENE, we protect the mattress with a waterproof cover. on toilet paper, overall use is important, sometimes at the end of stock, pending supply, there is a temporary restriction. We apologize for any inconvenience.
The hotel manager
B'regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    87
    65
    17
    22
See reviews for
77
77
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently spent two nights here while in Paris. We enjoyed the location of the hotel in the Rue Cler neighborhood because of its close proximity to the Eiffel Tower - we actually walked from the hotel to Notre Dame, St Michel, etc which wasn't bad either. The shops and restaurants around the hotel are very convenient. As far as the room goes, it was small but certainly did the job. The bathroom was a tight squeeze but again for two people it was just fine. The bed was rock hard, but clean and it had a TV. My only complain overall of this hotel is that when I booked I was not told there was a different rate for weeknight & weekend, so we paid about 40 Euro more on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HammockMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently spent ten days at this hotel. I give it five stars because it is close to absolutely everything, it is in a very safe and friendly neighborhood with wonderful restaurants, transportation, shops, cafes, boulangeries, you name it, it is there even the spectacular Eiffel Tower which we could view the top of from our room. The rooms are small, our twin beds were about 1 1/2 inches apart, the rooms are very, very clean, staff is extremely helpful, neighborhood is quiet. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: It is a quiet neighborhood, and the hotel in general was very quiet, we were on the fifth floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

OK, so if you are looking for trendy, spacious, or elegant, don't stop here. If you are looking for something that is well-located, budget friendly, and accomodating (with a great boulangerie and coffee shop just a few steps down the street), then this is the place. The staff were helpful with everything we requested, and our room that faced the back courtyard was quiet. With only five rooms per floor, there wasn't the bustle through the night that you might find in a larger hotel. Near Rue Clere, the tower, an Orange store (helpful when trying to get more minutes on your cell), and a metro stop. The room and bathroom were compact, but it was what we expected for the price and location. After all, we are just looking for a place to sleep after busy days in the city!

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the courtyard in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murph07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had been to Hotel de la Tour Eiffel during my visit to Paris. It is at a walking distance to Eiffel Tower so you can go to Eiffel tower and enjoy river Seine cruise in the morning or afternoon.Many good restaurants are there near this hotel. Metro and bus service is also available so it is easy to visit any place in Paris. Take metro ticket or bus ticket for a day and you can visit a number of times.A bus is available from Eiffel tower to take you to important tourist places in Paris.Enjoy this tour of the city and get down near the hotel.it is central place in Paris.

Room Tip: It is a nice experience. Take rooms facing the main road to see outside view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcpaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were well prepared for our cultural challenges as an American in Paris for the first time and will definitely revisit this hotel. Yes, rooms are small but we were not there to stay in our room! Close to great cafés, shops and metro/bus stops, front desk were very pleasant. Try the Petite Trouquet Cafe across street for superb meals.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed just one night at this hotel on a recent trip to Paris. The location was great, in a small and narrow little street within a short walk to the Eiffel Tower. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, but when I went upstairs and opened the door to the room I was stunned at how tiny the room and bathroom were. Luckily, we really only put down our belongings, locked the door and spend the rest of the day and evening exploring Paris, only returning to the room to shower and go to bed. I paid approximately €150 for a twin room with bathroom and I know that it is central Paris, but still, the size of the room was just ridiculous. The beds were not comfortable at all and the pillows were a joke, one pillow on each bed, no spares and the thickness of a piece of toast. I had to double my pillow over just to sleep. The doors were the kind on hinges that invariably slammed when you tried to close them and I heard plenty of doors opening and slamming throughout the night and early morning as guests came and went. I am not at all familiar with Paris and I plucked this hotel from the Internet after a very quick search, I am sure that there must be better places than this in the same price range?! One thing I will add is that right around the corner on Rue Saint Dominque, there are a couple of amazing patisseries that sell a huge variety of pastries, cakes, croissants, etc. Skip breakfast at the hotel, buy a couple of pain au chocolats and head down to the Eiffel Tower and eat your breakfast on a bench overlooking one of the most beautiful and famous monuments in the world.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room that is not facing the street as although it is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylesMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,265 of 1,800 in Paris
509 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
#826 of 1,800 in Paris
217 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Kensington
Hotel Kensington
#1,512 of 1,800 in Paris
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Alma
Hotel de l'Alma
#1,210 of 1,800 in Paris
380 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#348 of 1,800 in Paris
2,143 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#33 of 1,800 in Paris
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Tour Eiffel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Tour Eiffel

Property: Hotel de la Tour Eiffel
Address: 17 rue de l Exposition, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,202 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Tour Eiffel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de la Tour Eiffel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Tour Eiffel Hotel
Hotel Tour Eiffel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing